Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now
Customer Review

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the best tradition of Connelly and Sjowall and Wahloo, 8 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Off Minor: (Resnick 4) (Mass Market Paperback)
Charlie Resnick is inspector in Nottingham, where the 6 year old girl Gloria disappears. After a few months her body is found by a young couple making love in an abandoned warehouse. A few months later another 6 year old girl, Emily, disappears. At first sight the disappearances look very similar and there are quite a few possible suspects. It is up to Resnick and his team to sort out who was involved in what. In the end both crimes are solved, but it takes until the last page before it becomes clear to the reader what happened exactly.

Charlie Resnick is an inspector in the tradition of Michael Connelly's Harry Bosch including his love for jazz music. We also follow Resnick's colleagues, who are not all equally likeable, but that only makes the characters more realistic. There is also quite a lot of criticism on society in the tradition of Sjowall and Wahloo. All in all this book is a very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-1 of 1 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 12 Aug 2011 18:28:52 BDT
Kirstiemac says:
Both great writers. However the first Resnick book was out in 1989 - Connelly's first Bosch novel out in 1992. Resnick cannot be 'in the tradition' of Connelly's Bosch when the character of Resnick appeared in print several years before Bosch. Nit picking I know, but Harvey's Resnick novels in particular are abiding favourites of mine. I read them again every couple of years - sheer pleasure. Much as I like Ian Rankin and Michael Connelly, I think Harvey is the better writer. I have a real soft spot for John Sandford's Lucas Davenport novels as well - Tight plotting, great characters and humour which has me spluttering with mirth. Try listening to Richard Ferrone reading the books - very funny.;)
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Amsterdam Netherlands

Top Reviewer Ranking: 1,688,093