Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now
Customer Review

1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost ok, 14 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tramp (Audio CD)
1 x great song, 2 x good songs , rest are below average/boring even.
She has some real potential I think , but is to self indulgent for my liking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-7 of 7 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 4 Dec 2012 00:33:16 GMT
Last edited by the author on 4 Dec 2012 00:34:29 GMT
David Fuller says:
I noticed that you gave a five-star review to some printer ink because it was cheap and it worked...

And yet a young musician who 'has some real potential' is awarded two stars in a context which could have a not-insignificant effect on the album's overall score and therefore on her sales and progress.

Give her a flippin' chance in the world.

In reply to an earlier post on 4 Dec 2012 09:25:53 GMT
J. C. Mayes says:
The ink done the job 100% that I expected it to do.
I agree the artist has much potential I expect that is why I was a bit disappointed, and a bit tighter with my stars than was perhaps fair.

Posted on 4 Dec 2012 14:39:36 GMT
David Fuller says:
Given that most art appeals to fairly specific audiences and no art ever can or should appeal to everybody...

I struggle to understand why anyone, on hearing music by an unestablished artist, would go to all the effort of writing a damning review of it, rather than simply choosing to ignore it and moving on to something that suits them better.

In reply to an earlier post on 4 Dec 2012 20:35:31 GMT
Last edited by the author on 4 Dec 2012 20:35:51 GMT
J. C. Mayes says:
If art should never appeal to everyone , than why bother reviewing anything.
Because helping people not to waste money is worth while.

Posted on 5 Dec 2012 01:05:31 GMT
Last edited by the author on 5 Dec 2012 02:03:35 GMT
David Fuller says:
Different music appeals to different people.

And any review is meaningless without context - and it's not enough to know, after a few clicks, that you were reasonably happy with your printer ink, garden furniture, etc.

I'm sure that some people think David Sylvian is self-indulgent and boring, but that fact on its own doesn't help anyone. It may even harm David himself if it were published more prominently.

Personally I don't like the work of Justin Bieber or Rhianna but I wouldn't bother writing an unhelpful review of their work any more than I'd bother reviewing women's underwear. Instead I'd quickly realise it's not for me and move on, rather than try to scupper the young career of someone who may go on to do great things for an audience who happen to like that sort of thing.

Your idea that you are 'helping people not to waste money' arrogantly presumes that everyone reading your review will have your taste in music.

In reply to an earlier post on 5 Dec 2012 11:17:49 GMT
Last edited by the author on 5 Dec 2012 14:52:56 GMT
J. C. Mayes says:
I think you are getting a little silly now.
The album was not up to scratch even for a new artist, that is my opinion.
Because it does not match your opinion does not make it wrong or indeed right.
If the girl knows not everyone thinks it is brilliant then maybe her next album will be much better.
I don't agree that I should lie or keep my mouth shut , just to please you or even her happy.
By the way I am beginning to wonder if you have a vested interest

In reply to an earlier post on 6 Dec 2012 14:27:47 GMT
David Fuller says:
No vested interest.

I just think decent people deserve a chance to make their way in the world, without being actively discouraged.

You know, live and let live?

I certainly hope that will be the case for anyone I remotely care about.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: uk

Top Reviewer Ranking: 98,971