Customer Review

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOMEWHERE: THE TRIO EXCELLENCE OF JARRETT, PEACOCK, AND DEJOHNETTE, 28 May 2013
This review is from: Somewhere (Audio CD)
Five VIRTUOSIC Stars. Jazz Trio Excellence! "The Standards Trio" of piano icon Keith Jarrett, inventive bassist Gary Peacock, and drum master Jack DeJohnette is in outstanding form in this 2009 concert recorded live in Lucerne Switzerland. It's been over 30 years since this most highly-influential trio began playing together as a unit in live and recorded 'summit meetings' to critical and popular acclaim. Each performance is wonderful but the 'best of the best' begins with the beautiful 'solo piano to trio' reading of "Deep Space/Solar" with marvelous solos from Jarrett and Peacock over DeJohnette's percussive commentary. "Stars Fell on Alabama" and "I Thought About You" get the mellow, inventive ballad treatment. "Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea" and "Tonight" are swinging, off-kilter performances. And perhaps best of all the amazing bolero-like vamps surrounding the 19 minute convergence of "Somewhere/Everywhere", which gets a roaring ovation. These are 'killer' performances with great trio interaction and solos, recorded on the pristine ECM soundscape in front of an enthusiastic audience, by one of the greatest jazz trios in history which seems to get better with each new offering. My Highest Recommendation! Five LYRICAL Stars. (6 tracks; Time: 65 minutes: 33 seconds )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-6 of 6 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 28 May 2013 23:21:50 BDT
Last edited by the author on 31 May 2013 10:47:15 BDT
Zenkoji says:
It is far too soon to judge the relative standing of this release in relation to the trio's output. Standards 1 &2, and Changes are all unparalleled masterpieces.

Prior to this release, the most 'recent' trio release was 'Yesterdays', which was recorded in April 2001. Before that came My Foolish Heart, which was actually recorded in July of the same year; then The Out-of-Towners, also curiously July 2001; and before that Up For It, which was actually recorded live in July 2002.

And what was happening between 2002 and 2009 (when 'Somewhere' was recorded)? Answers, as they say, on a postcard, preferably from ECM hq in Munich. I suspect that Jarrett is exercising too fastidiously controlling a hand. I for one would value a 5 or 6 cd set documenting these missing years. It would make the label some money. It won't match the Blue Note box in quality, but perhaps no piano/bass/drums trio ever will.

In reply to an earlier post on 29 May 2013 14:38:12 BDT
Last edited by the author on 16 Jun 2013 20:46:51 BDT
RBSProds says:
I stand by my review, which is an informed-listening 'opinion' not a 'fact', as is your review. My reviews are always based on my intensive, initial-listening impressions of purchased recordings, not the sample tracks, while giving some background on the artists. Kindly make a track-by-track comparison with my words and you should see I am 'spot on' with my 'flowery' adjectives (in 2006, when I reviewed Keith Jarrett's classical rendering of the Bach: Goldberg Variations at Amazon.com USA, I noted Jarrett's "blazing technique is wonderful as he articulates each of the variations with aplomb, bordering on sangfroid"). It's very interesting to read statements such the one above (before it was heavily edited to be in its present 'non-judgemental' 'non-negative' form) from someone who has never met me or knows my listening habits or range of knowledge in the music world. I am a classical pianist by training and have been enjoying jazz, classical, rock, folk, country, world music, and Brazilan MBP since 1955. My initial jazz experience began with Dave Brubeck, Miles Davis, Ahmad Jamal, Horace Silver, and Andre Previn. My specific experience with Jarrett and DeJohnette goes back to 1966 when they powered the rhythm section (with Cecil McBee) of the Charles Lloyd quartet on the original 1966 LP copy of "Forest Flower: Charles Lloyd at Monterey" (which I still own) and all 3 are well-represented individually and collectively in my over-the-years collections of LPs, reel-to-reel tapes, 8 tracks, cassettes, CDs, DVDs, and MP3s. Peruse the recent Jarrett recordings (minus "Rio") and many have my reviews in the lead or in the mix on Amazon USA (Jasmine, Sleeper, Yesterdays, Goldberg Variations, etc..), so 45+ years I'm still enjoying Jarrett in all of his incarnations of solo, duo, trio, and quartet in both jazz and his classical records. And I saw him live at the Village Vanguard in the 1970s (where he was brilliant on piano and soprano sax, though he complained to the audience about the out of tune piano). So please don't make remarks about someone you have not met, and I will not return an 'unhelpful' vote because I respect your opinion. Have a good day.

In reply to an earlier post on 30 May 2013 09:36:57 BDT
[Deleted by the author on 20 Nov 2013 20:51:20 GMT]

In reply to an earlier post on 30 May 2013 21:07:26 BDT
Last edited by the author on 30 May 2013 22:23:22 BDT
Zenkoji says:
No, I don't actually, so this pot is calling your kettle black. Only one of those adjectives relates to the album; the others refer to the musicians concerned, and to wishful thinking about being at the event itself, which brought together three great masters of jazz. Where reviews of Somewhere will be springing up like mushrooms seeking 'helpful' votes and Top 1000 reviewer status, you will also find that even at this date, there are only two reviews of that Corea/Gomez/Motian album, which I particularly wanted at the time to note in connection with the death of the great Paul Motian.

By the way, I agree with your own assessment of Still Live elsewhere. That is definitely in the top ten, around number 5 or 6. At that time, the trio was excited by itself as a purely musical venture, and that comes through in nearly every bar.

In reply to an earlier post on 30 May 2013 21:11:27 BDT
Last edited by the author on 30 May 2013 22:24:17 BDT
Zenkoji says:
And, 'rbs', I was at the two Royal Festival Hall concerts which the trio performed in July of 2000. As the Miles Davis track has it, So What? On first hearing, Somewhere might conceivably make it into the lower half of my top ten trio recordings. But, honestly, it's just too soon to say.

In reply to an earlier post on 1 Jun 2013 04:09:38 BDT
[Deleted by the author on 3 Jun 2013 21:02:55 BDT]
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Deep in the heart of Texas

Top Reviewer Ranking: 518