Customer Review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Complex, Powerful and Unbelievably Clever, 15 Aug. 2013
This review is from: All Our Yesterdays (Kindle Edition)
Often I say I've read a book in one sitting when what I actually mean is that I read it in one day... With this book though, I genuinely read the whole thing in one go without stopping - it was just SO addictive! Being the huge Doctor Who fanatic I am, I'm usually quite fussy about my time travel/sci-fi novels (as you can see from my bad experience with Tempest by Julia Cross), but this time around I fell in love with Cristin Terrill's complex, powerful and unbelievably clever tale! I really, really recommend it!

I am a sucker for this kind of novel... assassination attempts, the prospect of a hellish future, an apparently dangerous time travel machine? What more can you ask for from a sci-fi?! Other than a brilliant cast of characters and an addictive writing style... oh woops, this novel had that too! Yep, as you can tell, this book completely and utterly blew my mind. It's difficult to believe that All Our Yesterdays is the author's debut, but far more exciting to think of what else the author has planned for us... but back to the book in question - where should I begin?

Told through two different narratives from two different timelines, both Em and Marina are engaging and likable. I usually have issues with multiple narrators, but Cristin Terrill pulled this off masterly leaving me at complete ease whilst reading the tale. At points it did get a tad too complex, particularly when the characters from the present/future were having conversations with their past selves, but other than that, the terminology and time travel concept was fairly easy to get a grip of. Basically, this book is perfect for all sci-fi geeks! It does have a bit for everyone though, with a small romance as a sub-plot and action scenes scattered throughout... it's ideal for fans of The Hunger Games!

This review is getting extremely ramble-y (sorry!) but there is just so much to cram into these four or so paragraphs. All Our Yesterdays is certainly a novel that packs a punch & the climax was a perfect blend of tension and action! If my jaw wasn't permanently dropped whilst reading this, I may have been able to exclaim some of the many thoughts rushing through my mind... the author tantalises the reader to the point of frustration, but oh how I loved it! The sense of urgency created throughout just makes this novel utterly devourable.

Overall, as you can tell, this is definitely a novel I recommend. It's a must-buy for all sci-fi nerds and even if you don't like time travel then I still recommend borrowing it from someone who does! Some passages were difficult to stomach, in terms of not everything being entirely clear, but I recommend this book nevertheless. Sorry for this dreadful ramble, but my thoughts are all over the place! Any chance of a spin-off novella Cristin Terrill?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Be the first person to comment on this review.

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 


Review Details

Item

4.4 out of 5 stars (71 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
£4.68
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 230,693