Customer Review

71 of 137 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So so dissapointing!, 31 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quantum Universe: Everything that can happen does happen (Hardcover)
Not sure which book the reviewer "Homer Q Einstein" read but this book is anything but an easy read.

I am already familiar with many of the principles behind Quantum mechanics and was excited to see this book promising an explanation that "everyone can understand". Not only is the book written with an assumption of knowledge in advanced mathematics it also entirely fails to convey any of the wonder and thrill of this incredible area of science. Perhaps Brian Cox should stick to looking pretty on a windswept cliff edges? If only Richard Dawkins had studied physics instead of a biology we might have had an a truly accessible and well-crafted book on Quantum Science.

If you are not already a physicist this book won't help you to understand the subject any better than you do now. If you are a physicist you probably won't be buying this book.

I've got a half a mind to file a complaint to the Advertising Standards Authority for the publisher's misleading dustcover claims!

Do not waste your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 11 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 1 Nov 2011 16:09:26 GMT
Last edited by the author on 1 Nov 2011 16:10:23 GMT
Zak Ventis says:
I preordered this book in the expectation that I would join the ranks of 'everyone' and increase my understanding of quantum mechanics and, like you, I also thought I had a sufficient understanding of maths to deal with whatever the book could throw at me.

Not So! As you point out, it requires a knowledge of advanced mathematics; I was left feeling cheated and let down.

It is now back with Amazon; returned as "Different from website description" together with a few choice sentences about misleading claims!

Posted on 2 Nov 2011 20:25:21 GMT
Johnny7 says:
Well the good new is Stephen Hawkins is bringing a book out on the same subject Dreams That Stuff Is Made Of: The Most Astounding Papers of Quantum Physics and How They Shook the Scientific World After your advice I shall wait for this one. I will not be waiting Richard Dawkins version though.

Posted on 2 Nov 2011 22:46:35 GMT
MarkP says:
Not sure if we're reading the same book. Just admitting the poor state of your education doesn't really count as a review. Shame really.

In reply to an earlier post on 11 Nov 2011 16:05:19 GMT
His name is Hawking. Had a look inside that one after seeing your link and it looks like there's a lot of math in that one too

Posted on 17 Nov 2011 07:45:06 GMT
Jim Sheldon says:
The level of mathematics required is only GCSE level.

Posted on 17 Nov 2011 08:18:31 GMT
Mooshiney says:
Its a very good book and like MarkP I don't think it must be the one you read?? How can you understand quantum physics already and then say the maths was beyond you?? The two are not mutually exclusive. This looks more like a bit of trolling!! And disappointing has one 's' .....

Posted on 17 Nov 2011 08:48:10 GMT
Agent Orange says:
Having read this book and found it easy to follow - I'm not a physicist and only have a secondary school education - I find your comments to be very inaccurate indeed.
It does make me wonder if you actually read the book, perhaps you just enjoy Trolling?

Posted on 19 Nov 2011 14:03:46 GMT
Yellow Duck says:
There is some arithmetic and algebra in the book. There's no real maths. We unfortunately live in a world where BBC programs like "Countdown" persist in telling us that mental arithmetic is 'maths'.
Arithmetic is to maths as paintbrushes are to a Turner sunset.

In reply to an earlier post on 8 Dec 2011 10:27:37 GMT
I've now glanced through this book and the only maths is simple algebra any young high school kid could cope with - except on page 41 they present the Schrodinger equation which I expect is second year university stuff - particularly as he has given the Hamiltonian form. I have read a really good account of this equation from a popular perspective including some brief history as to how he came up with it and why it works. I think it was Tony Hey and Patrick Walters "The New Quantum Universe", Cambridge University Press. It has 7 5 star ratings and 1 three (which is a completely useless review basically saying that the new version doesn't have sufficient changes from the previous). But Cox/Forshaw book on review here looks really interesting and I think the review here is rather harsh.

In reply to an earlier post on 8 Apr 2012 12:32:07 BDT
[Deleted by the author on 8 Apr 2012 12:32:37 BDT]
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: London

Top Reviewer Ranking: 276,900