Customer Review

31 of 143 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing, 31 July 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who -- The Complete Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
After sitting through most of the gap year, being told that this series would be the best yet - I knew that the only thing it could do, was fail to live upto that.

And sure enough - it completely failed

Started ok enough with Eleventh Doctor, but the rest were poor.
Beast Below - average
Victory of the Daleks - the Doctor had MORE than enough time to stop the Daleks as well
Angels two parter - ruined the Angels
then made sure we knew that there would be 6 pointless episodes before the finale
Vampires in venice - average, but hey at least it's building on the Amy/Rory relationship - which will probably start the crack (as seen in the angels story)
Amy's Choice - average, but hey at least it's building on the Amy/Rory relationship - which will probably start the crack (as seen in the angels story)
Silurians two parter -nope there going to kill Rory making the last two episodes pointless.
Vincent and the Doctor - doesn't mention the crack at all
the lodger - nearly the same thing - except for a few short seconds at the end
Finale - Steven Moffat apparently gets away with pretending two companions have died - gets away with a DEM (think about the doctor and he'll come back) gets away with several cop outs
- if RTD had done this, there would have been an uproar!

So yes - poor season overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 21 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 7 Aug 2010 16:59:53 BDT
N. Blake says:
It seemed like you let your anticipation for a story involving the "crack" spoil your enjoyment of some absolutely wonderful episodes, which is a shame.

Your criticism would be similar to slagging off the middle six episodes of the Eccleston series because they only featured references to "Bad Wolf".

Posted on 8 Aug 2010 11:43:21 BDT
M. Dale says:
"being told that this series would be the best yet"

Shame about the hyperbole, but almost every single film and TV show has the same kind of marketing nonsense. Surely you can't be disappointed by everything that says its the "best (insert genre here) ever"?

In reply to an earlier post on 8 Aug 2010 15:04:42 BDT
Not really - cause here we found out when the crack was coming in episode 5.

No such revelation occurred in World War three

Posted on 10 Aug 2010 12:57:48 BDT
dylan says:
The finale was amazing. THEY HAD A LOW BUDGET THIS YEAR!! so you shouldn't of expected just CGI and special effects every 2 minuets, as RTD did. That probably what you call entertainment where as steven moffat has made the show entertaining without the need for alot of special effects. And the storyline for the finale was amazing, not just some deux de machina, some evil villan trying to take over the universe with some simple plot. As in all the other previous finales, the only good one was the parting of the ways which was awesome!

Posted on 10 Aug 2010 21:41:57 BDT
D. Starck says:
You do realise that this is supposed to be a PRODUCT review; ie what you thought of the BluRay that you haven't bought? If I wanted an opinion on the series, I'd go to the IMDB or the Amazon DVD release. BluRay reviews generally give a brief coverage of the subject and concentrate on the substance and quality of the product. Your one star rating is valid for the show (even if I disagree and would give it five, which I would); it's your opinion and you are absolutely entitled to it. It isn't valid for the BluRay however, which may be outstanding, in both audio and visually, which would render a one star review as meaningless and contradictory.

Posted on 11 Aug 2010 13:28:33 BDT
Agree with you Stuart. I don't really have an opinion on Matt Smith, but I was expecting much much better of Stephen Moffatt - where were the episodes with the quality of "Blink" and "Silence in the Library". Or even "The Doctor Dances"?

There weren't any - the plots this series have been abysmal. And the shrillness of the comments here only convinces me that people are trying to defend the indefensible. Unless Moffat raises his game, the next series could be the last.

Posted on 13 Aug 2010 09:41:51 BDT
Steven says:
Just to comment that these stories were actually imaginative unlike the RTD-written stories.

And here is a first - the series did not culminate in bringing back an old enemy from the classic series. Steven Moffat did something different, and did not play it safe. For that, we have to thank him. Doctor Who was getting too predictable.

I loved the storyline from 'The Eleventh Hour' to 'The Big Bang'. That being said, I didn't enjoy the Dalek episode or the Vampires. They were still good, but not as good. Same with Silurians. But if you are calling this series bad because it has some weak parts, then surely the same criticism can be applied to the RTD series?

In reply to an earlier post on 13 Aug 2010 09:45:24 BDT
Steven says:
And to respond to you - surely you cannot pretend that Series 1 can compare to the others? Some of the plots were uninteresting. After that series, it did get better. The same shall happen under Steven Moffat. Probably.

Posted on 13 Aug 2010 12:59:16 BDT
Last edited by the author on 13 Aug 2010 13:00:57 BDT
ask57 says:
Could not agree with you more Stuart. As a long time fan of the series, I found the writing sophomoric to say the least, a wannabe horror show that isn't. I do not have any problems with the new lead. It is the writers and the producers that need to be fired ASAP.

In reply to an earlier post on 13 Aug 2010 13:26:49 BDT
N. Griffiths says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]
‹ Previous 1 2 3 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.3 out of 5 stars (300 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (195)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
69.99 13.50
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 4,856,546