Customer Review

63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent concept, let down by poor detail design., 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Railway Atlas Then & Now (Hardcover)
This really is an inspired idea - why didn't I think of it first? The book does precisely what it sets out to do, presenting on each left-hand page a picture of a section of the British railway system on 1 January 1923 - the day on which almost all the remaining independent railways were assimilated into the `Big Four' - the Great Western, Southern, London Midland & Scottish and London and North Eastern Railways. On the opposite right-hand page, the same area is shown as at 1 January 2012.

Great Britain is covered by 38 pairs of pages at a scale of 8 miles to the inch; several of these incorporate inserts showing major rail centres at a larger scale. At the end of this main section, a further seven paired maps at larger scales depict Greater London (East and West). Derby & Nottingham, West Yorkshire, South Wales, Glasgow and Liverpool & Manchester.

The 1923 maps identify the national network, separately identifying freight only lines. Also identified are narrow gauge and miniature passenger-carrying lines and significant standard gauge lines closed to all traffic before 1923. Slightly anachronistically, railway works and motive power depots are shown as at 1 January 1948, together with steam depots opened by BR after that date.

The 2012 maps show all of the above lines, together with lines opened subsequently. The current national network is identified, and the remainder of the lines are colour-coded to show what is happening on the trackbed today. Apart from lines closed to all traffic, the maps identify lines absorbed by London Underground or by other light rail, metro or tramway services, lines currently mothballed, preserved lines, former standard gauge lines re-laid as narrow gauge or miniature railways and other commercial or preserved railways of non-standard gauge. There's quite a bit more detail, including identification of trackbed officially designated as bridleways, cycleways or footpaths, and even sections of trackbed now absorbed into the road network.

So, with so much useful information presented in an accessible and comparative form, what's the downside? Well, in essence, it's the basic design. No doubt the maps were created at a significantly larger size than the versions ultimately printed, and it seems that little thought has been given to how the finished product would appear at the interface with the reader. It may well be that the fault lies with the publisher rather than the compilers; in recent times the Ian Allan group has acquired something of a reputation for poor design and production, though in this case the production standard (print clarity, paper quality, binding, etc) is pretty good.

Essentially, we humans, even if blessed with 20/20 vision, are imperfect scanners. Most of us have no problem in distinguishing colour if we see it in blocks - even fairly small blocks - but as the shape tends towards an almost one-dimensional line it becomes more and more difficult to distinguish colour accurately. The darker the colour, the harder the identification becomes - to many people, thin lines of black, dark maroon, dark blue and dark green are virtually identical. So, to simplify a complex principle, if colour coding is to work successfully the lines need to be thick enough, the colours chosen should contrast as much as possible and in general lighter shades are to be preferred. In addition, the ultimate print colours need to be very carefully matched to the original graphics.

This problem is most serious in relation to the 2012 maps, because they utilise so many colours. One reviewer observes that his main interest in the book would be to compare the national networks then and now. Both maps show these lines in black, but there are so many other dark colours on the later map that the network fails to stand out. If the other colours covered a wider range - bright orange, turquoise and chestnut brown spring to mind as colours not used - and were lighter in tone, this problem would be solved, especially if the line thickness were increased by at least 50%.

The red shades are a particular cause of confusion. The line from Sheringham to Holt, in Norfolk, is a heritage line. For about a mile-and-a-half beyond Holt Station, the trackbed was used to construct the Holt by-pass (A148). On the relevant 2012 map (18A) it is to all intents and purposes impossible to distinguish between the colours used to represent these different uses. The same map is also used for the lower half of the front cover, and again the colours are indistinguishable - though they are significantly different from the colours inside the book! Another example of confusion is in the key to the maps. The 2012 key has separate entries for national network stations, seasonal/workmen's/restricted access stations and stations with no service as at 1 January 2012, but even with the aid of a magnifying glass I'm unable to discern any difference between them.

On a different topic, another reviewer mentions the small print size. I agree, though I accept that a larger size, or a less condensed typeface, would inevitably cause difficulties in congested areas of mapping. Anyone with 20/20 vision will be able to read station names, etc, without any real difficulty - but then, many of those likely to wish to buy a book of this kind may not enjoy perfect vision. Increasing the basic scale from 8 to 7 miles per inch would add (if my arithmetic is correct!) about an extra 12 paired pages, and would thus raise the recommended retail price by two or three pounds, but the increase would result in a much more easily legible product. Certainly there is room for different opinions, but my personal view is that the added clarity would be worth the extra cost.

Finally, this is a first edition, and as such inevitably contains its share of errors. So far as I can see, most - perhaps all - of these are procedural rather than technical. For example, the `legend' (key) to Map 28 runs from item D to item L, whereas the map itself shows items A to I. Presumably this results from a late change to the precise area covered by the map; the items in both cases are in the same order, so the only residual error is in mis-spelling `Seaton' as `Sneaton' in the reference to the Seaton Snook freight only branch. The inhabitants of Wyke Regis in Dorset, just above the throat of the Isle of Portland, will no doubt be concerned to find that their hometown was apparently overwhelmed by the sea between 1923 and 2012 but this, too, is merely a procedural error. Such mistakes, especially in a book of this kind, are unavoidable. There is probably no field of human endeavour in which Murphy's Law holds true more consistently than in the task of editing! If you buy the book and find other errors, please drop a line to the publisher so that corrections can be made in future editions.

And future editions there will surely be, because this book has huge potential among railway enthusiasts, and updates will be demanded as the picture changes. The compilers certainly deserve five stars for their efforts, but the final product is seriously impaired by the weaknesses in production to which I have referred and for which I have tried to suggest possible solutions. Even so, the book as produced will fill a gap in more than a few railway libraries - buy it, check it, contribute your corrections and opinions and let's all look forward to a superb second edition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-5 of 5 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 12 Dec 2012 17:56:07 GMT
C Garnet says:
This has always been the problem with just about all railway map books.No publisher has had the courage to print one at A3 size.I would be willing to pay double for one of these map books if done in the correct size.They are all flawed as they are all to small.Every time a new one comes out I pick it up to have a look and come to the same conclusion as the reviewer.TO SMALL AGAIN!

Posted on 26 Dec 2012 17:30:03 GMT
Last edited by the author on 26 Dec 2012 17:31:20 GMT
Stanwegian says:
In response to C Garnet (12 Dec 2012):

I agree in principle with all that you say, but it seems that publishers (and, for that matter, booksellers) are less than enthusiastic about using the A3 format (594 x 420mm) for anything other than art books and world atlases. There is however a range of intermediate sizes; a lot of what might be described as 'semi-coffee table books' aare published in formats between - say - 360 x 280mm and 320 x 250mm. I have a GB atlas at 1:250,000 which falls within this range, so it would clearly be possible to accommodate a detailed rail atlas at twice the scale of the current offering. At a guess, this might push the price up to 30.00 or so, but as most purchasers of books of this sort have a serious interest in the subject matter I think it would still appeal to a signigficant market.

I can't claim much inside knowledge of the publishing trade, but I do know that it doesn't commission very much independent market research - a business about which I do know a fair amount. That, perhaps, explains why it sometimes feels as though publishers provide what they think we ought to want rather than what we'd really like to have!

Posted on 29 Mar 2013 11:02:44 GMT
Thanks for the helpful review. My eyesight is not what it once was and I'm also a bit colour blind so I won't be buying this book.

Perhaps Ian Allan should look at what is being produced for the German market Eisenbahnatlas Deutschland 2011/2012? Unfortunately Schweers + Wall don't yet do an atlas covering the UK....

Posted on 29 Mar 2013 17:47:42 GMT
Stanwegian says:
In response to Stephen Rogers (29 Mar 2013):

Thanks fot your comment; I'm sorry that you've decided against buying the book, but I have to agree that it seems to have been designed for those with perfect vision and colour sensitivity - and even for readers falling within that fortunate group the quality of colour reproduction leaves much to be desired.

I agree that the quality of the Schweers+Wall output is far superior - and of course that's reflected in the price, but in my view the extra cost is fully justifiable. The problem in the UK is that Ian Allan Publishing has largely had the rail atlas market to itself, and the lack of competition is reflected in the quality of the output. A Schweers+Wall UK atlas would be excellent, but I'd be even happier to see one of the better-quality UK transport publishers - Capital Transport springs to mind - produce an atlas of comparable quality.

Posted on 30 May 2014 14:44:26 BDT
Teri Bus says:
I have to agree about the comments regarding small print. The maps on the front cover are quite readable - and this is what attracted me to the book, but inside the square size has gone down from a good readable 3.9 cm by 3.9 cm to a disappointing 2.9 cm by 2.9 cm which causes considerable eye-strain. A real shame.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.4 out of 5 stars (47 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
19.99 15.99
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Tyneside, England

Top Reviewer Ranking: 1,168