Customer Review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great content. Awful Blu-ray transfer, 24 Mar. 2010
This review is from: The Tudors - Series 3 [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Although I enjoyed season 3 of The Tudors, I have to say that this is the worst quality Blu-ray transfer I have ever seen. It borders on defective. There is so much shimmer in almost every indoor scene as to render the entire disk barely watchable. It is only slightly better on disk two than disk one, but still a serious problem. I have confirmed that this is not a case of my having defective disks because the complaints are echoed on other blu-ray forums. I can not believe that any company would actually try and sell such a low quality transfer at blu-ray prices. You are much better off getting the standard dvd version and watching with up-conversion. What a hideous disappointment, especially in comparison to the stunning blu-ray transfers for season 1 & 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-9 of 9 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 20 Aug 2010 18:53:47 BDT
Nothing wrong with my copy, no shimmering at all.

The dark scenes can be a bit grainy but outside well lit shots are excellent PQ

In reply to an earlier post on 24 Aug 2010 23:54:58 BDT
Daniel Z. says:
me on the other hand have encountered the same problem, not only during the dark scenes (where flickering and LINES appear way beoynd what should be normal for dark light settings), but on almost every scene, even the outdoor ones. For some of the scenes have no flickering or any other disturbance I can only asume that it is a manufacturing or transfer defect.

In reply to an earlier post on 25 Aug 2010 00:13:25 BDT
Very strange that some have the problem while others dont, I got mine recently, maybe its been corrected as mine plays fine. I have a sony Blu ray player.

In reply to an earlier post on 6 Sep 2010 21:50:05 BDT
Daniel Z. says:
i got a replacement from amazon with the same problem all over again... having bought blurays for over two years now it has been the first time i encountered such a bad picture. Not even bad transfers of older films are as bad as this set.

In reply to an earlier post on 6 Sep 2010 22:34:07 BDT
Last edited by the author on 6 Sep 2010 22:35:38 BDT
Very strange that some are fine while others are not.
My season 3 is identical picture quality to season 1 and 2, some parts are stunning while others are just average but no problems like some here have reported.

Posted on 21 Sep 2010 02:45:36 BDT
Last edited by the author on 21 Sep 2010 02:46:07 BDT
T. Wei says:
It'd be more helpful if reviewers include what player and display they use and also some relevant settings. And if similar complaints were made at other sites give us some links to read for ourselves. The one thread I can find on Blu-ray Forum when searching Google is entitled "PS3 won't play Tudors 3 DVD" (http://forum.blu-ray.com/blu-ray-players-recorders/128028-ps3-wont-play-tudors-3-dvd.html) but it's the DVD version.

Based on the following reviews I am buying it now that the price has dropped.

http://www.blu-raydefinition.com/reviews/the-tudors-complete-third-season-uk-release-blu-ray-review.html - PQ 4/5:

"Recorded in high definition on a Panavision-modified Sony HDW-F900 at 1080p/24, The Tudors retains a rather film-like quality and Season Three may be the best looking yet on Blu-ray. There are still some inconsistencies, such as some obvious spottiness from video noise in darker scenes, but for the most part, noise looks organic and not un-filmlike. Detail is strong in bright, up-close shots and the lavish sets are well served."

http://www.avforums.com/movies/index.php?showmediareview=9959
Picture score: 8

"The video in this production is nothing less than we would expect from a series shot on high definition Panavision cameras, the same cameras which were used on the recent Battlestar Galactica. There seems to be some slight induced grain which gives a film like look and feel to the venture. This 'grain' is not excessive by any stretch of the imagination."

In reply to an earlier post on 22 Sep 2010 23:35:22 BDT
Daniel Z. says:
I know something about picture quality, and the grain on this set is not there intentionally. It's just plain bad work done. Plus the grain on this set is not consistent... you see it in one scene on and off each time they vary the camera angle. An then there's the awful flickering...

In reply to an earlier post on 23 Sep 2010 00:58:14 BDT
Last edited by the author on 23 Sep 2010 01:00:58 BDT
I just dont understand the flickering, dont have none of it, it must be the blu ray player people have, thats all I can suggust. The quality is identical as seaason 1 and season 2, great on the whole, some parts are stunning and some grain on dark shots.

In reply to an earlier post on 5 Dec 2013 22:14:45 GMT
I have the same issues as others.
Flickering picture in darker scenes.
None of the other seasons do this.
Also on disk 1 even though the blu ray is perfect, it hangs on episode 2 in the same place.
I have tried it on 3 different blu ray players, but it does the same thing on all of them.
Awful transfer, and really poor disk quality.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.6 out of 5 stars (129 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
£39.99 £13.21
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: SF, CA USA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 5,850,066