Customer Review

13 of 295 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Full of contradictions and apprehensions-complete waste of time, 11 April 2012
This review is from: In The Shadow Of The Sword: The Battle for Global Empire and the End of the Ancient World (Kindle Edition)
Firstly, the title is misleading and does not represent the book or it's storyline.

As the author attempts to take a clinical view of authenticity of documentation and records of Sunnah and Ahadiths, it's start by spelling 'Sahih al-Bukhari' INCORRECTLY. I found the written has taken on a task to bitterly gone to the limits of his ability to turn the picture extremely dark and full of contradictions. There are plenty of evidences and places to be visited personally to clear one's head from such doubts. The author somehow tries to implement his grasp of the history and material but completely failed once was was through first 50 pages!!

I would not recommend it to any one as its misleading and can easily put you on wrong ideology.

My first and last read from this author. Hardly find any good references for the author- DONOT KNOW WHY TIME PUT IT AS MUST READ!

MISLEADING AND FULL OF CONTRADICTIONS & APPREHENSIONS- may be author needs to clear his head up before writing or try to find work that's within his grasp.

Regret buying it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 5 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 27 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 11 Apr 2012 23:46:30 BDT
Last edited by the author on 12 Apr 2012 19:34:48 BDT
Book fan says:
Hello

Have read some reviews and just got started on this book - basically, I've got through some of the pages the author of this review found objectionable. I enjoyed them and am going to press on, anticipating that I'll find the book stimulating and informative. I've read some of Tom Holland's other histories and although he's not an historian of the first rank he is a talented summariser and populariser.

This is a history book and not a religious work and I'd guess that anyone who's not reconciled to the idea that religious movements have historical roots and that religions are cultural artefacts will not find this a comfortable read. I gather the book is even handed and takes a similar approach to the three major monotheistic faiths so the author may have cut himself out a tidy parcel of grief!

I'd suggest this isn't a book for anyone who doesn't like being unsettled. Read something else instead?

I'll post again with my review when I've finished the book.

Posted on 11 Apr 2012 23:49:56 BDT
[Deleted by the author on 11 Apr 2012 23:50:10 BDT]

Posted on 12 Apr 2012 11:52:41 BDT
This, quite frankly, is an appalling review. I appreciate that the writer's first language may not be English (which begs the question 'why not review the book on a site that uses your first language?'), but it doesn't actually tell me why the book is apparently so poor. It's apparently misleading and full of contradictions, but we're never told why, or offered any examples of this.

The whole review seems calculated to inflict damage on the book and drive the rating down - and I can make a few guesses as to the reasons why someone would do that ('to defend their religion' being the most likely).

As Book fan says above, Holland has probably cut himself out a tidy parcel of grief by concentrating on this subject in particular, and sadly this review seems to illustrate that.

Posted on 12 Apr 2012 11:55:04 BDT
As English does not appear to be your first language (no offence intended), you did well to read a tome of five hundred pages so quickly given that the book was only published in the last few days. Forgive me, but have you actually read it all, or indeed at all? And what exactly do you mean by 'wrong ideology'? Do you mean that the author's ideology conflicts with your ideology - and if so what would that be?

Posted on 12 Apr 2012 19:12:18 BDT
Rational says:
Sounds like the reviewer read or was told something about this book they didn't like.

Posted on 13 Apr 2012 07:22:23 BDT
Tim Randall says:
You are a touchy Muslim...and I claim my 20.00. Oh, and learn how to write properly if you are going to review books.

Posted on 13 Apr 2012 12:12:52 BDT
King Lear says:
It seems a bit rich to complain about a spelling mistake in a review that is itself full of grammatical errors!

Posted on 13 Apr 2012 12:45:47 BDT
[Deleted by the author on 13 Apr 2012 12:47:04 BDT]

Posted on 13 Apr 2012 12:54:31 BDT
This illiterate review betrays a total lack of objective. A comprehension of the English language and syntax might help this reviewer to better understand critical objectivity rather than the nonsense published here.

Posted on 13 Apr 2012 13:50:54 BDT
Sgt Pinback says:
Expect many other pitiful reviews like this - fundamentalists, of any religion, don't like it when facts demolish their disgusting world view. If Holland is making people like 'Casual Cool' angry, he is certainly doing something right.
‹ Previous 1 2 3 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 4,849,013