Customer Review

97 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film ruined my childhood!, 21 July 2006
This review is from: Woman in Black [DVD] [1989] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Im a fully grown adult male for petes sake!

It matters not! Even now at 28 years old, I only have to think back to the Christmas of 1989, then aged 11, where I sat and watched "The Woman in Black" with no adults present, to send myself into a state of fear and panick.

After that, every incident of cowering under the sheets in bed at night was due to this film, I spent every year until the arrival of the internet asking pretty much everyone I met if they had seen the film that Christmas. No one had, and I almost

started to think that I had seen it in a nightmare at one point.

When I finally got a copy, just weeks ago, it brought the fear back in seconds.

I would go as far as to say that this is THE most chilling supernatural horror every produced.

Seriously, dont watch it if you are easily scared, or have children around you.

You could ruin their childhoods too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 5 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 28 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 11 Nov 2008 16:19:46 GMT
L. S. Evans says:
I too watched this film that christmas of 89. It certainly did scare the living daylights out of me (and my husband). We crept to bed afterwards petrified, having checked every window and door in the house. Haven't been able to get a copy, but would love to.

Posted on 4 Dec 2008 13:22:40 GMT
Last edited by the author on 4 Dec 2008 13:23:18 GMT
OMG I am with you Jc King on all that you said - I was a little older than you at 13 but it still scared me to death and I would be terrified if I ever got chance to see it again - great! I have trawled the net and asked loads of people and no-one ever has, until now! I would still love to see it but hear you can only get pirate copies, shame.

Alison

In reply to an earlier post on 20 Jan 2009 12:46:07 GMT
Every light in my house stayed on during the night of Xmas Eve 1989. And I was in my late twenties!

Posted on 19 Jun 2009 14:25:39 BDT
Dr Evil says:
I just saw the play of this at the theatre and it was possibly the most unnerving and frightening experience i've ever had in any form of media!

In reply to an earlier post on 22 Jan 2010 01:03:11 GMT
i also saw this in the west end with my school back in year 8 (now in year 12) and even the teachers swore several times throughout the performance

would recomend the show though, very good

at one point i did find the entire film uploaded on youtube, dont know whether its still there or not but might be worth a look

Posted on 30 Oct 2010 14:34:04 BDT
Emma Hart says:
Couldn't agree more the scariest film I have ever seen. Why on earth isn't it more available or shown on the TV more often? I watched it as an adult luckily during the day and still remember it vividly even though it was all those years ago. Excellent film, but never watch it alone .......

Posted on 3 Nov 2010 20:01:44 GMT
Bex Fearon says:
I just laughed reading your review, as i also watched this film in 1989 (then aged 13), by myself & scared myself to death!! At one scary part near the end i jumped up & switched it off, so i never actually got to see the end & i have never seen this on tv since! x I seem to think it would still scare me to death even now! ha ha !

In reply to an earlier post on 29 Nov 2010 18:00:38 GMT
I remember Christmas Eve 1989 very well; i watched it with my son then 6 years old!
We didn't realise there would be such creeping menace in it. Years later my son had a nightmare; so petrified was he of the Woman in Black. Now he makes short horror films with his Girlfriend and has asked me to find a copy of The Woman in Black.
I guess i ruined his childhood by letting him see it that Christmas.

Beverley

In reply to an earlier post on 5 Jan 2011 14:37:52 GMT
Last edited by the author on 19 Dec 2011 09:38:48 GMT
I saw this on TV, possibly in 1989 and recorded it on VHS..I still have that copy, not watched very often.
I'd like to get an official copy but it's very rare and any copies I do find are very expensive.
A truly scary film, certainly the scariest I have ever seen.

Update.
I have now got an official copy on VHS, gave the other one to my brother..I haven't watched it for a while...maybe this Christmas.........

Posted on 29 Jan 2011 01:34:02 GMT
Annie says:
Ha ha ha! Yes I totally agree. Hoping to see this available again to coincide with the remake of this film. I was a grown adult the first time it was on, but still terrified me. Growing up on the Thames Estuary only made that East Anglian landscape all the more evocative and sinister. Very witty review by the way, made me laugh. Have a nice day now - and watch out for the tide coming in.....LOL.
‹ Previous 1 2 3 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.6 out of 5 stars (87 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
Used & New from: £19.99
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 5,255,444