Customer Review

331 of 342 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The results are easy to see!, 22 Nov 2008
This review is from: De'Longhi DEM10 Compact Dehumidifier (Kitchen & Home)
This is the type of product I'd never have considered buying until happening upon it by chance on Amazon. It was our first winter in our modern two bed house last year and we suffered condensation on windows badly, leading to the frames suffering a type of fungal growth which wasn't pleasant and risked rotting the wooden frames. After reading about the DEM10 I was keen to try and have now been using one for the last 3 months. It makes a huge difference and the proof it is working is visible from the water that collects in the tank, and the lack of condensation on the windows. The unit is relatively compact and sits on our landing in order to have a central place in the house. The water reservoir is easy to remove and replace, and can have it changed in 20 secs. Normally it's on for about 6 hours a day and requires the water to be emptied every other day. The unit is quiet with only a small hummmm eminating, I don't thing you'd want it on in a bedroom while sleepng but the landing is fine for us. I'd be interested to know the energy consumption of this unit but suspect it isn't huge having seen my last energy bill was less than expected. Overall very happy with this product and would highly recommend it.

Update Oct 2010: Still going strong. Recently got an Owl electricity monitor and it tells me this uses ~0.35kwh which seems pretty reasonable to me

Update Nov 2011: Still working as well as it did day 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 3 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-6 of 6 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 8 Oct 2011 18:29:27 BDT
J. J. Gill says:
Thanks a lot West London you've helped make up my mind!!

In reply to an earlier post on 4 Jan 2012 13:02:06 GMT
Thanks very much .... Metro Area ....!

I absolutely need one to dry all my washing ... and I had absoltely no idea where to start with the plethora of dehumidifiers available. Excellent review!

Best wishes

Posted on 4 Nov 2012 14:25:16 GMT
Thank you, very helpful and the final link in helping me decide to buy this one.

Posted on 24 Nov 2012 21:07:06 GMT
Do you mean 0.35 Kwh per day?

In reply to an earlier post on 17 Nov 2013 21:03:16 GMT
Last edited by the author on 17 Nov 2013 21:12:02 GMT
Whitefeather says:
Kwh means 'kilo watt per hour'.
0.35 Kwh therefore indicates a consumption of 350 watts per hour.

In reply to an earlier post on 31 Dec 2013 00:24:00 GMT
Last edited by the author on 31 Dec 2013 00:26:17 GMT
Tim says:
No, kWh means kilowatt hours and it's a measure of energy. 0.35 kWh is about 5 pence worth, on my tariff. This is not much help unless you know what time period it is measured over. The OWL monitor can measure daily, weekly or monthly consumption. My guess is the reviewer meant that it uses 0.35 kWh/day. This would imply that the dehumidifier was active for around 2 hours per day (at 180 Watts). If your room is more humid than the reviewers, it could use a lot more energy than this per day.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.9 out of 5 stars (956 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (458)
4 star:
 (245)
3 star:
 (92)
2 star:
 (64)
1 star:
 (97)
 
 
 
159.99 111.81
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: West London

Top Reviewer Ranking: 716