Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now
Customer Review

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Teacher's Tales of Terror, 28 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Teacher's Tales of Terror (Kindle Edition)
This is a review of the Kindle edition of "The Teacher's Tales of Terror" which only includes Chris Priestley's stories. It was originally published for World Book Day with Philip Reeve's "Traction City".

This short collection begins with an account of a mysterious supply teacher entertaining (and scaring) his class by telling them spooky stories for World Book Day. This story acts as a framing device for three others, as well as having a clever twist and providing the book's chilling final line.

Priestley is well versed in horror conventions and these are knowing tales in the tradition of Poe and M. R. James, best read by a roaring fire whilst the wind whips up a storm outside. Although written for children I thoroughly enjoyed them, and as a horror-loving child I would have adored them.

Readers familiar with Priestley will know what to expect: not very nice Victorian children becoming involved in sinister, ghostly, and sometimes horrific events. New readers who enjoy this taster have a treat in store as Priestley has published three other collections of tales: Uncle Montague's Tales of Terror, Tales of Terror from the Tunnel's Mouth, and Tales of Terror from the Black Ship. These come with the added bonus of David Roberts's beautiful Goreyesque illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-1 of 1 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 24 Oct 2011 12:40:13 BDT
KayUK says:
Excellent books for children, mild enough to avoid nightmares, but still with that M.R.James chill factor.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer

Eleanor
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   

Location: Oxford, England

Top Reviewer Ranking: 828