Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now
Customer Review

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miniature carpets for dolls' house enthusiasts, 13 Oct. 2002
This review is from: Making Miniature Chinese Rugs and Carpets (Paperback)
Dolls' house enthusiasts will be pleased to find a new area into which to extend their skills with the publication of 'Making miniature Chinese rugs and carpets'. A book very much in the vein of Meik McNaughton & Ian McNaughton's 'Making Miniature Oriental Rugs and Carpets' and its follow-up book. Instructions are clear and precise for pillar rugs, saddle rugs and prayer rugs. There are also informative explanations of the significance of design motifs, e.g homophones (use of an image which is phonetically similar to something which is being wished for).
'Chinese' rugs will provide an opportunity for miniaturists to provide that finishing touch to an 18th century chinoiserie room, a romantic bedroom setting, dining room or a study for an occupant who has travelled the old Silk Route.
The designs would also look lovely produced as miniature versions of their larger cousins, displayed in frames on your walls.
All designs are worked on easy to find 22 count canvas, mostly with Anchor stranded cotton, several with Appletons Crewel, and some with Kreinik Silk Mori (100% pure silk). There are conversion charts for alternative threads.
Since persian carpets are already provided for at present, I can only hope that the author does another book based on on Mexican/ South American design motifs, for which I see there is a gap in the market.
(Written on behalf of my wife, Maggie)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Be the first person to comment on this review.

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]


Review Details

Item

5.0 out of 5 stars (5 customer reviews)

4 star
0

3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

£3.16
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: YORK, EAST YORKSHIRE United Kingdom

Top Reviewer Ranking: 8,921,690