Customer Review

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film but watch out for the edition you buy..., 14 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Commitments [1991] [DVD] (DVD)
Not really a review more of a caveat emptor ....

Please note the the single disc edition of this film is only a 4:3 print.

If you want a 16:9 version you need to either get the two disc special edition or the dual pack with The Van (which is 1 more).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 11 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 17 Jul 2011 15:19:13 BDT
katimushu says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on 13 Aug 2011 17:22:28 BDT
MarkH says:
Actually having just purchased the dual pack with 'The Van' I was disappointed to find that is also 4:3...

In reply to an earlier post on 15 Nov 2011 16:45:15 GMT
Tudor says:
No, it's a review of the overall product. If you just want film reviews go to Rotten Tomatoes or imdb.com.

Posted on 13 Sep 2012 16:30:42 BDT
P. A. Clarke says:
When buying a DVD of a film, then the DVD presentation is as important as the film (my remark to katimishu here...). A great film can be spoiled by poor DVD presentation - as I think is the case here. This is a wonderful film, but I was dismayed, like others here, to find that the edition with the B/W cover is indeed in 4:3 - unforgiveable in this age of 16:9 TVs, and extraordinary that Alan Parker hasn't (as far as I know) made a great fuss about it, since his original film is beautifully photographed in a widescreen format. So.... I am now going to buy the brown/colour-fronted 2-disc edition, hoping that I'm going to get the complete picture!!! After which, the inferior copy will go to a boot sale....!! Or Oxfam...

Posted on 15 Aug 2013 22:45:41 BDT
Last edited by the author on 15 Aug 2013 22:46:12 BDT
Evnissyen says:
Thank you for mentioning that. I have now ordered the two disc edition now.

In reply to an earlier post on 17 Dec 2013 20:44:30 GMT
KL Macdonald says:
My understanding, is that it is a review of the entire purchase process, including anything that it is helpful to be aware of prior to purchase.
Whilst a precis of the film IS helpful, it's not essential, as reviews of such a famous film can be found quite readily elsewhere.
It is VERY helpful to know in advance, if the product is compatible with the buyer's media set-up. I'd venture to say, informing potential buyers on the variables/restrictions/advantages, is more important than providing another film review.
A review of a this particular edition of this DVD from this vendor, via Amazon, can ONLY be found here.
Feedback is therefore incredibly worthwhile and I'm glad very grateful to "CyBerman" who pointed out the format restrictions.

In reply to an earlier post on 17 Dec 2013 21:49:04 GMT
Cy Berman says:
And it's on BBC radio iplayer at the moment. Xmas 2013

In reply to an earlier post on 17 Dec 2013 22:11:29 GMT
Last edited by the author on 17 Dec 2013 22:18:27 GMT
P. A. Clarke says:
Yes, KL.... totally agree - as you'll see from my comment above. Was VERY upset to find my first copy proved to be 4:3 format - and, as I said then, cannot believe any company would palm off such a product now - after all these years of 16:9. I maddeningly found a similar thing in a recently-bought Robert Redford Collection: "The Sting," which was my prime reason for buying, was in 4:3 - while the other three films were in 16:9! Where's the sense in that? Maddening.... EVERY film should be available in the format in which it was meant to be seen. Nothing else will do....!!! ["Cabaret" has only been available in 4:3 too. Had to record a pukka version when transmitted by the BBC. How ludicrous is that? And my copy of "Sweet Charity" (yes, I revere Bob Fosse..) stupidly only goes wide for the big numbers. That's infuriating, too....] Where are the brains of these people - with the responsibility of recording some of the world's best films? Clearly not film buffs - or even film lovers!! Indeed, do they even care...????

In reply to an earlier post on 17 Dec 2013 22:21:02 GMT
Last edited by the author on 17 Dec 2013 22:22:56 GMT
P. A. Clarke says:
Er, no Katimushu.... it can quite validly be a review of the DVD/BluRay of the film. Because THAT'S what we are reviewing and considering buying here.... Not the film as made - but the best possible watchable copy of it. OK....????

In reply to an earlier post on 19 Dec 2013 02:34:25 GMT
Last edited by the author on 19 Dec 2013 02:46:04 GMT
KL Macdonald says:
@CyBerman: re "it's on BBC radio iplayer at the moment"

I've never read/seen/heard The Snapper or The Van, and I really enjoyed the Commitments, so I'm looking fwd to the radio adaptations. I need to catch up on a couple of ep's of The Snapper.
The i-Player is a God send as I used to regularly miss programmes.
Thanks again for the 'heads up' re the DVD format. Kat.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.2 out of 5 stars (131 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
22.98
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 92,179