Customer Review

258 of 308 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 5 Nov 2007
This review is from: Sunshine [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
A lot of people have given this negative reviews on here. I've read their reviews and the main criticisms seem to be:

1. It's boring. That's true, if you're the kind of person who can't sit through any film that doesn't have gunfire and explosions through 90% of the movie.

2. It's not a good Sci-Fi movie like Armageddon. Well, the fact that these people think Armageddon is great tells us something about their taste.

3. It's scientifically inaccurate. I find it hilarious that these critics think they know more about physics than Dr Cox, the scientific advisor who provides a commentary on the DVD. Of course there is artistic licence, but there's nothing wrong with that.

4. The end doesn't make sense. No, the end is confusing - there's a big difference.

5. The characters are paper thin. Again, not true. There is so much depth to the characters, but you need to actually think about it. Like any good script, this shows us the depth to the characters, rather than telling us. Look especially at Chris Evans' character.

This is an amazing film, and is easily the best of 2007 (so far). There are plenty of films for the people who didn't like this, but there are only a few movies with the perfect mix of style and substance that Sunshine achieves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 30 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 7 Nov 2007 21:07:39 GMT
Harry Ferris says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on 25 Nov 2007 16:59:31 GMT
S. Turnbull says:
Confusing and doesn't make sense don't mean the same thing actually, perhaps you should learn a bit of English

Posted on 26 Nov 2007 17:40:41 GMT
Rosy Egg says:
I agree with David. This was a fantastic film, very strange, good to see a multi-cultural cast (not just a lot of white Americans and the token black woman), also the music was brilliant. Very spooky and the ending was not confusing at all. Obviously, this film is for the intelligent viewer!!!!!

In reply to an earlier post on 26 Nov 2007 23:02:01 GMT
Sun King says:
Actually, it isn't confusing at all. Very simple ending: Cillian Murphy sends the bomb into the sun and saves the day, dying in the process. The end. Brilliant. What's confusing about that?

Posted on 5 Dec 2007 02:20:48 GMT
Last edited by the author on 5 Dec 2007 02:23:21 GMT
J. A. Eyon says:
While "confusing" and "doesn't make sense" aren't synonyms, they're both equally bad for most viewers. In fact, I would apply both to this movie in equal measure.

I kinda have to wonder about the one asserts that the ending people are calling confusing or nonsensical is where "Cillian Murphy sends the bomb into the sun and saves the day". That's like saying the ending of 2001 is "the astronaut gets old and becomes a humungous fetus".

Posted on 17 Dec 2007 11:47:57 GMT
I completely agree with you.
It's a good film, but if you prefer Armageddon, well, keep your mouth shut and don't embarrass yourself in front of everyone, please.
About the ending, it was SUPPOSED to be confusing, didn't you pay attention to the story??

Posted on 29 Dec 2007 00:20:48 GMT
Are you Danny Boyle's lovechild or something? There's really no need to get so uppity. Just because people don't agree with you, it's not nice to insult their intelligence! I've never seen (nor wanted to see) Armageddon, and considering that Tarkovsky's 'Solaris' is one of my favourite films I'm hardly the sort of meat-head who crumbles after 5 minutes without a nice fat explosion or a burst of gunfire. But I still thought 'Sunshine' really sucked towards the end. It wasn't so much confusing as just plain stupid. And the characters may well have had depth, but I couldn't have cared less about them. Not even Chris Evans. Sorry!

Posted on 23 Jan 2008 02:31:12 GMT
Tom Hulme says:
I agree with most of your points, though I didn't find the ending confusing. Sunshine is a superbly cast sci-fi which unashamedly stands on the shoulders of giants (2001, Alien and others). I wasn't fortunate enough to see it at the cinema but when I saw it on DVD I watched it three times, back to back with the two commentaries. I enjoyed every minute and each time more details were revealed. Sunshine won't appeal to everyone, nor should it, but that doesn't make it a bad film.

Posted on 30 Jan 2008 10:17:45 GMT
Last edited by the author on 30 Jan 2008 10:19:17 GMT
A. BADDELEY says:
Fantastic review and I couldn't agree more entirely!!! It was a brilliant film with a unique flair. Dark, brooding, claustrophobic and intelligent! Some will get it, some won't. Must confess I was gobsmacked when I saw the average rating given to this film. One of the finest of the year, if not the decade. As far as its ranking with the sci-fi genre itself, it's up there with the best ever made. 'Nuff said!

Posted on 30 Jan 2008 12:30:08 GMT
Last edited by the author on 30 Jan 2008 18:07:54 GMT
G. Thomas says:
Thank you Mr Morrison. It's about time Sunshine got more positive reviews like this. I liked it and my review got nuked :)
As much as the "mouth-breathers" protest, they will proabably never understand that popular opinion and quality seldom go hand-in-hand
‹ Previous 1 2 3 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.4 out of 5 stars (329 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (118)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (45)
2 star:
 (51)
1 star:
 (57)
 
 
 
£19.99 £2.99
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Scotland

Top Reviewer Ranking: 4,618,784