Customer Review

89 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noooooooo tweaking on this Blu-ray!, 11 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indiana Jones: The Complete Adventures [Blu-ray] [1981] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
If ever there was a must have Blu-ray box set this is it. With the exception of Star Wars , this box set is quite possibly the most sort after Blu-rays out there and I wasted absolutely no time at all when this dropped through my letter box and was in my Blu-ray player in under a minute!
Can never decide which is my favourite Spielberg movie , Raiders or Jaws , but just glad that I now finally own them both on Blu-ray.

Picture transfer is once again just breathtaking. Crisp , clear although the first thing that I noticed on Raiders was that the whole film seemed to have what can only be described as a "gold filter" over the camera lens , which has a noticeable effect with the colour compared to the VHS and DVD releases.
This is by no means a bad thing , but I have read numerous (although somewhat exaggerated) complaints about it , but for me , it just makes the film feel more like the old action serials that it intended to be like , and the colours warm and more pleasing to the eye...For me anyway.
Only have the one minor gripe about the transfer which is , ever since the introduction of Hi-Def images , particularly on older films , they do tend to show up flaws in camera work. Notably in Raiders , the scene where the tarantula runs across Alfred Molina's chest appears to be completely out of focus , and the scene where Indy is hiding behind some wooden crates before he steals the undersized uniform is really quite grainy (or speckling effect) , but these are the only flaws I've noticed with the first three films and if you blinked , you'd miss them , so will quite happily let it go.
Truth be told , my real apprehension of this transfer was with Mr Lucas's itchy fingers attached to the films.
Have to say , I was a little nervous about buying this box set before reading any reviews about it , but his involvement in the restoration is not apparent.
Absolutely "Nooooooo" tweaking here , apart from the deleted reflection on the glass from Indy's encounter with the cobra that was done a few years ago , which I think is universally agreed is a good use of CGI tinkering and can't possibly believe anyone , not even a hardline purist , would complain about it.

The sound is presented in 5.1 DTS master audio and sounds fantastic. John Williams , with yet another iconic score , just sounds staggering and the gunfight in Marion's bar sounds like Indy's firing a cannon with every gunshot.
The almost cartoon-like "THWACK" with every punch , which was always purposely exaggerated , sounds even more so with the new sound and is definitely more satisfying to hear.
Although I do find a little too much use of the subwoofer with this transfer which seems to be used on everything , which is more unusual rather than a complaint , but hey! Thats the neighbours problem !

The extras are excellent and most die hard fans would have already seen the majority of the 7 hours worth , most of which have been transferred straight from the VHS and DVD releases , which again is not a bad thing as I like to have them all in one place rather than having to keep older formats just for a particular feature.
The only new addition to the features that I've noticed is the "On set with Raiders of the Lost Ark" documentary with some rarely seen gag reels , deleted and alternative scenes which was an absolute joy to watch , and even though I consider myself a die hard fan of these films , I must have missed these over the years as I'd never seen them before.
If , like me , you ever wondered how Indy survived the long journey atop of a submarine without drowning , then one of the deleted scenes gives you the answer... Kind of.

I could waffle on about the other movies but will just say , ALL of them are beautifully transferred , and Temple of Doom is fully uncut for the first time on UK shores with a minute or so of extra gore and violence... And swinging through trees with monkeys aside , I like all the films.

Not quite as good a transfer as Jaws or the Alien Anthology box set , which has set the bar very high indeed for quality in older movies on Blu-ray , but I really am talking about minuscule differences here and its very difficult to select the best quality out of those three.
Its a shame that Paramount hadn't stuck to their guns as they had announced that all their films released on Blu-ray would be in 7.1 sound , and to be fair , every film from them that I've bought has been... this being the only exception so far , although this is probably down to Mr Lucas's bizarre reluctance to use 7.1.
Still , in my humble view its perfectly fine and definitely deserves a very worthy 5 star rating for an outstanding transfer to Blu-ray , and think you'll be very impressed with this box set nonetheless , and for me , this is a definite purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 5 Apr 2013 13:59:07 BDT
Glen Watkins says:
Thanks for the review. Raiders is one of my favourite movies so I guess I'll be pulling the trigger on this set shortly. As a recent convert to the wonders of blu ray I've been doing a bit of research to ascertain which titles have been given transfers that would justify replacing DVD copies. Looks like this set ticks all the boxes.
Perhaps you'd be good enough to offer me some advice concerning my investing in a decent sound system as it would appear that you're au fait with the subject. At the moment I'm using a Sony BDP S490 Blu ray player which seems pretty good and a Sony KDL 46HX853B tv which produces a truly fantastic picture. The sound quality however isn't in the same league, which is to be expected I guess. Whilst not looking for state of the art equipment, I wouldn't be interested in cheap and cheerful either as this is invariably a false economy as I'm sure you'd agree.
Any suggestions would be gratefully received and I thank you for your time.
Regards. RB

In reply to an earlier post on 6 Apr 2013 15:45:24 BDT
Last edited by the author on 11 Jan 2015 19:49:45 GMT
Julian says:
Blimey ! Think you may regret asking, as I will waffle on a bit.
I will give you a "Pros and Cons" list of both an all-in-one system and an AV Receiver.

ALL-IN-ONE SYSTEM:
PROS... They are quick and easy to setup and give a pleasing enough sound and are relatively cheap to buy.

ALL-IN-ONE SYSTEM:
CONS... They really don't last 5 minutes before something going wrong with them and really is a case of "you get what you pay for", which is why you usually get them free when buying a TV.
If a new format comes along you'll have to replace the whole system.
If you player breaks, then your whole surround system goes with it!
The speaker cables that you get with it (especially the rears) are never long enough unless your front room is the size of a matchbox.
The majority of them are 5.1 sound, which if you're buying Blu-ray, the majority of which are in 7.1, this is not utilising what Blu-ray can give you, but you can find a couple out there that are in 7.1, but these are so expensive for what they are, you'd be better off buying an AV receiver.
You can't really connect any other devices to them (games consoles, Skybox, PC etc etc) with the exception of a USB port... There are a set of input ports in the back but when I connect my games console, it just gave me 2.0 stereo sound.
Owning an All-in-one System is a bit like having a Big Mac... Yes its tasty and will fill a need, but ultimately, its cheap junk.

AV RECEIVER:
PROS... These things are built to last, my last AV Receiver lasted me 15 years through 3 different formats (VHS, Laserdisc, DVD) and the only reason I had to upgrade that was because of the introduction of HDMI cables for Blu-ray and games consoles, so a new receiver should easily last a few new formats to come.
If anything does break, you need only to replace that part rather than the whole setup like you would have too with an All-in-one player.
The sound will wipe the floor of any All-in-one system.
You can quite literally connect any electronic device to an AV Receiver as there are ports and connections for at least 10 other devices.
You can select any sound setup you desire from 2.0 all the way up to 7.1, so how you want it to be is up to you. You're pretty much stuck with an All-in-one System.
It will transfer 5.1 sound into 7.1...Now I know you're not actually getting anymore sound with the receiver doing this , but honestly , you'd have to be a professional sound engineer to be able to tell the difference between the 2 formats , the transfer really is that good!

AV RECEIVER:
CONS...They can be a bit of a faff when setting one up, especially if you've never own one before, but its not like you have to have a degree in mechanical engineering or anything like that and the end result is worth all the effort.
You will have to buy your own speakers which can be expensive, my whole setup for example cost around £1,200 which is an average cost for a half decent setup, but this will LAST! By the time I need to replace anything, you would have bought 4 All-in-one systems at the rate they last.

Hope this helps, and if you do decide to go for an all-in-one system, just try to get a respectable brand (Sony/Panasonic) which might last a bit longer than others.
And remember... NEVER! NEVER EVER BUY ONE OF THOSE AWFUL SOUNDBARS they truly are rubbish!

P.S A 7.1 setup really is the way to go!

In reply to an earlier post on 6 Apr 2013 17:34:13 BDT
[Deleted by the author on 11 Jan 2015 15:49:33 GMT]

In reply to an earlier post on 6 Apr 2013 19:20:09 BDT
Glen Watkins says:
Thanks for the response(s) Julian and much appreciated. Looks like 7.1 it is then and a trip to Richer Sounds next week. Guess the plastic's gonna take a caning but ultimately if you want decent kit you have to shell out. The dreaded sound bar is in essence what my tv sits on and was part of the package but in comparison with the picture just doesn't cut the mustard.
I've only been buying Blu-ray Discs for a few weeks but some that have impressed mightily in terms of picture quality are as follows:
Alien, for a relatively old movie the picture is incredibly good.
2001; Avatar - not a particularly great film but looks amazing;
Blade Runner; Gladiator; Leon; No Country for Old Men; North by Northwest; Pulp Fiction and the Shining.
The Bond 50 set came as a freebie with the tv and the restoration job done on those, particularly the old Connery titles is incredible.
Thanks once again for your advice and hopefully they'll be sounding as good as they look in the not too distant future.

In reply to an earlier post on 7 Apr 2013 15:26:29 BDT
Last edited by the author on 11 Jan 2015 15:57:33 GMT
Julian says:
The best old movies (anything pre 2006) for picture quality that I own are:
Jaws; Absolutely the best cleanup/restoration and 7.1 sound.
Star Wars; as good as Jaws if not better cleanup/restoration, but duff sound format (6.1) and further tinkering.
Predator Ultimate Edition; Although some have complained about the restoration, but in my view its much, much better than the DVD version.
Casino Royale Deluxe version; Superb all rounder with the quality (deluxe version only).
Serenity; Another superb all rounder.
The Terminator; Incredible quality from something made so cheaply.
Alien Anthology; Quite possibly the best Blu-ray box set ever produced!
And of course Indiana Jones...Which is not to say that other Blu-rays I have are bad, but these really do standout from the crowd, and are eye wateringly crisp and clear.

Ones to avoid (and this is completely to do with the sound format and nothing else) are Blade, Terminator 2 and The Lord of the Rings trilogy... Which is a shame as these are some of my favourite movies, but these are presented in the GOD AWFUL 6.1 format and I just cant bring myself to buy them after the disappointing sound from Star Wars.

Glad you've decided to go the whole hog and treat yourself, but just remember, you don't need to spend more than £250/300 on an AV receiver, anything more than that is just money down the drain, as they will all be equally good in quality and a £500 receiver wouldn't give you anything more than one at £250.
The same applies to HDMI cables. You only need something in the £20 range but salesmen will insist on selling you one in the £50 range saying "You must! You must!", but trust me, it will make absolutely NO DIFFERENCE, and knowing what a Sony fan you are, they do arrange of HDMI in the £20 bracket...They will be more than fine.

An AV receiver will save you money in the long run!
Make sure you get half decent speaker package and you can always start with 5.1 and get the extra two speakers another time (usually small satellite speakers for your side speakers) but please do look around before handing your credit card over, as I nearly bought my AV receiver from Richer Sounds, but managed to get it a lot cheaper elsewhere.
Good luck and hope it turns out alright (I'm sure it will) and enjoy the wonders of 7.1

In reply to an earlier post on 7 Apr 2013 18:14:04 BDT
[Deleted by the author on 11 Jan 2015 15:49:42 GMT]

Posted on 26 Jul 2013 08:41:42 BDT
Last edited by the author on 26 Jul 2013 08:56:32 BDT
Daniel says:
The digital colour correction on "Raiders" looks quite bad to me (Indy's new orange face), and is not the film as it has been seen for thirty years. It seems to flatten the picture out, with foreground and background being equally colourful, like most modern movies which are subject to digital colour correction.

For example, the scene where Indy is hidng after the submarine docks. It looks as though Indy's skin tone has been boosted seperately from the background (via a power window), making his sweat glisten in such an exaggerated way that at first I thought it was digital noise. Meanwhile the background has been pumped up with extra blue.

The problem with colour correcting individual parts of an image seperately is you end up with an incoherent whole. Things further away are naturally less colourful because of diffusion. This unnatural look can also been seen widely in modern photography -- browse on Flicker and a lot of photographs actually look more like airbrushed fantasy artwork.

Posted on 16 Jun 2014 15:55:20 BDT
wolfers says:
It has to be Jaws for me every time.
Cheers to swimmin with bow legged women!!!!
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Stamford

Top Reviewer Ranking: 7,204