ARRAY(0xa718e4e0)
 
Customer Review

135 of 147 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SAVE YOURSELF!!!, 3 Sep 2011
This review is from: Blake's 7, Complete Collection (DVD)
THIS IS A HONEY TRAP! I have one complaint about ordering these, and that is until close inspection they are not clearly sign posted as Dutch. The item name (Blake's 7 complete collection) is misleading and should be re-labeled (Blake's Zeven- complete collection- DUTCH)

I love Blake's 7- and so when I saw this and realised it was cheaper than getting each series individually I jumped on the opportunity and ordered....... without making absolutely sure what I was buying were the English DVDs- so when they arrived I was a bit surprised to see they were Dutch subtitled imports. Needless to say I then checked the reviews and the product information more closely and realised I had made a dreadful mistake. If you want to just watch the episodes- subtitle free and without the assured quality of the real boxsets then this is for you- if not- spend a bit more money and don't fall into this honey trap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 6 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 14 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 5 Sep 2011 17:04:35 BDT
Ticked Off says:
So, basically, you were dumb enough not to read the product information properly before buying and thus missed what was clearly labelled. How is this anyone's fault but your own? It's hardly a honey trap as no one tried to confuse or con you. The information you need to make an informed purchase was all there.

In reply to an earlier post on 22 Sep 2011 12:45:28 BDT
Katherine says:
I have been caught by the same lack of information (see the current product page pasted below). Can anyone quickly tell me (before I send them back) whether the subtitles are printed on the main picture or whether they can be switched on or off? I can (just about) live with Dutch labelling.

The product information is pasted here from the current page - where does it say "Dutch"?:
"Blake's 7 - Complete Collection [16 DVD]
Format: DVD 3.4 out of 5 stars See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
7 Reviews
5 star: (3)
4 star: (1)
3 star: (1)
2 star: (0)
1 star: (2)
See all 7 customer reviews...
Like 1316691459 false -1 5 5 4 (5)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Price: 48.50 & this item Delivered FREE in the UK with Super Saver Delivery. See details and conditions
In stock.
Sold by Nr1mediaFBA and Fulfilled by Amazon.
Fulfilment by Amazon (FBA) is a service Amazon offers sellers that lets them store their products in Amazon's warehouses, and Amazon directly does the picking, packing, shipping and customer service on these items. Something Amazon hopes you'll especially enjoy: FBA items are eligible for FREE Super Saver Delivery and for just as if they were Amazon items.

If you're a seller, you can increase your sales significantly by using Fulfilment by Amazon. We invite you to learn more about this programme.
Want guaranteed delivery by 1pm Friday, September 23? Order it in the next 6 hours and 21 minutes, and choose Express Delivery at checkout. See Details
4 new from 39.99"

Posted on 10 Oct 2011 07:39:52 BDT
Eric Hair says:
It is listed right in the beginning of the section "Reviews":

Reviews
Netherlands Release: English Audio Blake's 7 Series 1 13 Orac 12 Deliverance 11 Bounty 10 Breakdown 9 Project Avalon 8 Duel 7 Mission to destination 6 Seek, locate, destroy 5 The web 4 Time squad 3 Cygnus Alpha 2 Space fall 1 The way back ============== Blake's 7 Series 2 3 Star One 12 The Keeper 11 Gambit 10 Voice from the Past 9 Countdown 8 Hostage 7 Killer 6 Trial 5 Pressure Point 4 Horizon 3 Weapon 2 Shadow 1 Redemption --------------------------- Blake's 7 series 3 1 Aftermath 2 Powerplay 3 Volcano 4 Dawn of the Gods 5 The Harvest of Kairos 6 City at the Edge of the World 7 Children of Auron 8 Rumours of Death 9 Sarcophagus 10 Ultraworld 11 Moloch 12 Death-Watch 13 Terminal ------------------------ Blake's 7 Series 4 13 Blake 12 Warlord 11 Orbit 10 Gold 9 Sand 8 Games 7 Assassin 6 Headhunter 5 Animals 4 Stardrive 3 Traitor 2 Power 1 Rescue

It says right at the start "Netherlands Release".

Also, you can turn the subtitles off.

Posted on 10 Oct 2011 08:25:01 BDT
R. Murray says:
Thank you - you have saved me from an expensive mistake!

In reply to an earlier post on 10 Oct 2011 21:24:54 BDT
Last edited by the author on 10 Oct 2011 21:25:53 BDT
Katherine says:
Thanks, Eric! I've seen it now. But I had to use my browser's Find function to spot this in the Reviews section, which is well down the page and is mostly a badly-formatted contents list. The "Reviews" section perhaps should be renamed "The Small Print".

Posted on 26 Oct 2011 22:27:05 BDT
Phil Smith says:
I was lucky enough to buy the Amazon boxed set of the series and although I have yet to get around to watching it (I had the VHS versions for years and watched them many times whilst other DVD series I have bought have never been seen yet) but I did buy a German copy of (much sought after guilty pleasure DVD) Elvira's Haunted Hills and the subtitle problem exists on that despite the seller giving instructions on how to deactivate them (which sadly didn't work). It is understandably distressing that such issues are existent but it does pay to read all the blurb on the page as this can save any unpleasantness. I know that multi region players are available to buy but I am also quite sad that great series (such as The Last Detective) can only be bought on import not Region 2 releases made in the UK. I find it hard to believe that The Last Detective was more successful in Region 1 countries than over here so why did the Complete Collection not get a Region 2 release? I keep hoping that eventually the DVD set will be available, it was a delight to find that A Very Peculiar Practice finally saw a Complete Series release after years of only the first (of two series and a special) being released. Having bought the first series alone I had to buy it again as part of the Complete Collection just to get series 2 and the special. A ploy that has also occurred with The Saint and Return Of The Saint series releases. I bought each season of The Dukes Of Hazzard as they were released and then Season 7 (the last) didn't follow the others. I bought the Dutch version as there didn't seem to be any likelihood of the 7th Season on Region 2 UK release. By the time I was ready to watch Season 7 it HAD come out on UK release and they then released a 7 season box set for a fraction of the price of all the individual seasons. The problem is always: If you want to own a series/film on DVD you are often faced with the dilemma of how to fulfil that ambition when the series/film might not ever be released in the version you want. I bought the 2nd Year of Space: 1999 for around 55 and it is now worth 180 on Marketplace due to the failure of the copyright owners to re-release it despite the re-release and Blu-Ray release of Year 1.

The worst part of DVD release issues is the cheek of the "Pirates are killing the business" type messages. The copyright owners do that themselves by not using any common sense to ensure people don't need to seek pirate versions to complete their series/film collections.

Anyone agree?

In reply to an earlier post on 9 Jan 2012 16:55:15 GMT
The problem is copyright owners are reluctant to commit themselves to releasing material for which there will not be a huge demand, ie cult series. This means grey market VHS dupes are often the only way of obtaining certain programmes, ie, Doomwatch. Warners US have come up with an excellent solution - the Archive Collection. Recorded on DVD-Rs on demand, these absolutely official discs have superb quality and make this type of series available to those who want them without incurring massive production costs. Examples are Man From Atlantis, Shaft (TV Move Collection) and the forthcoming Logan's Run spin off series. Movies include Moon Zero Two and various Gene Roddenberry TV pilots.

Lets hope it catches on.

Posted on 18 May 2012 01:22:57 BDT
[Deleted by Amazon on 11 Dec 2013 07:07:33 GMT]

Posted on 22 Aug 2012 20:03:33 BDT
Luskentyre says:
The original review is correct - it does not state anywhere in the product DESCRIPTION that this is of Dutch origin. The reviews might mention it, but if you're a fan and looking to buy it, you won't necessarily read the review. It should say it's an import in the title.

As for "Fadius Gadget", you're just showing your own ignorance by posting petty insults.

Posted on 13 Dec 2012 09:07:43 GMT
Martin Hunt says:
I too purchased these dutch dvds without realising and are currently watching them.The picture quality is poor in places very blurry and grainey almost as if they are recorded off the tv.Im considering getting the proper english ones seperately
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.0 out of 5 stars (47 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
39.98
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 465,116