Customer Review

19 of 91 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars City of London: The History, 10 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City of London: The History (Hardcover)
A a real cockney, I was misled into thinking this would be a history of the City of London: the guilds, the churches, the schools, the hospitals etc. Instead it was just about the Stock Exchange, the banks and finance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 17 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 11 Dec 2011 11:26:45 GMT
then why didn't you read a product description?

Posted on 16 Dec 2011 17:08:41 GMT
Or why didn´t you buy a book about the guilds, the churches, the schools and the hospitals?

Posted on 20 Dec 2011 14:37:05 GMT
I imagine you'd buy "Gone With the Wind" thinking it's about wind farms. Or Winston Churchill's "Gathering Storm" thinking it was about weather forecasting.
Why don't you take down your silly and irrelevant comment?

Posted on 22 Dec 2011 16:17:19 GMT
Last edited by the author on 22 Dec 2011 16:18:03 GMT
I would think most people would realise it's about the City as a financial centre, not the City itself! You've given a book, (which is actually considered to be excellent) a bad review simply because you didn't bother to check what it's about - that has nothing to do with the content of the book, just the fact that it's not what you thought it was.

I agree - you should remove your rating.

Posted on 29 Dec 2011 19:31:56 GMT
DF says:
If only we could give your review 1 star! If you bought a Ferrari would you rate it badly because it can't hold your weekly grocery shopping and you can't fit the whole family in it?

Posted on 4 Jan 2012 20:12:03 GMT
I. Younus says:
I don't think it's author's fault that you can't read.

Posted on 5 Jan 2012 07:10:15 GMT
steamkitty says:
Ewww... I thought Yanks were harsh on their reviews of mis-guided reviewers. I stand corrected. (Although, I do agree with you all that the reviewer should have been more diligent in checking out the actual content of the book before purchase.) But, some of your comments were kind of mean.

Posted on 19 Jan 2012 15:56:01 GMT
K. Page says:
What a strange review. If it wasn't what you expected that's your fault. And in that case why not send it back (or did you). You have said nothing about the book at all. Your review should be removed.

Posted on 9 Feb 2012 15:30:55 GMT
This book is indeed excellent and has received very positive reviews of respected publications like The Economist. Too bad "depox" didn't understand that "City of London" is used as metonyms for the United Kingdom's financial services industry.

In reply to an earlier post on 11 Feb 2012 09:04:10 GMT
vastariner says:
Is there any way this review can be removed? There must be people misled into thinking this book is rubbish based on a one star rating from someone who turns out to be so illiterate that they can't read the blurb.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.5 out of 5 stars (6 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
£30.00 £23.88
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 5,449,659