Customer Review

42 of 54 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good book, poor edition, 10 Mar 2011
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Paperback)
This is a fascinating book, but this edition is a hard copy of an e-book edition from Digireads.com, and like many ebooks it's full of typing errors. Some are so bad you can't even guess what the word is even meant to be, and the frequency of errors starts to grate after the first couple of chapters. I have decided to throw it away and buy a good, honest, old-school proper book, which I wish I had done in the first place. But based on what I have read so far, I would recommend this book in another edition (after all, I am buying it twice!). An incredible story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-6 of 6 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 16 Apr 2013 02:51:45 BDT
This review from Richard75 cannot possibly apply to the BPC publication of this title. BPC does not use OCR or photocopy to produce books. Note that Amazon has chosen to display this particular review from Richard75 on every book that carries this title. Badgley Publishing does not produce poor quality books.

Posted on 5 Jan 2014 15:46:49 GMT
Qwerty says:
Richard75 is absolutely correct. I cannot believe that a publisher of HarperPerennial Classics' international standing would allow this book to go out with out adequate proof reading. I have asked Amazon for a refund and for them to bring this to the attention of the publisher.

Posted on 8 Jan 2014 13:25:54 GMT
Gabrielle says:
Does the Start LLC publication have typos? I cannot abide typos so will wait for someone's feedback.

Posted on 2 Aug 2014 18:14:54 BDT
[Deleted by the author on 2 Aug 2014 18:17:59 BDT]

Posted on 2 Aug 2014 18:17:06 BDT
T. Canavan says:
Must BLUE CHOCOLATE by TR KIDD. I hadnt enjoyed 12 Years a Slave and another reader suggested i might like this book instead. Well what a recommendation! The book starts and at first i thought it a bit irksome and didn't want to continue the story regarding the main evil character but i stuck with it and glad i did. It is an unusual story, covering many centuries but keeping you interested rather than bogged down with history. As it progresses you become totally hooked and cant wait to finish. Not a book i would normally read but so glad i did. Exciting, gripping, unusual and an excellent read!I hadnt enjoyed 12 Years a Slave and another reader suggested i might like this book instead. Well what a recommendation! The book starts and at first i thought it a bit irksome and didn't want to continue the story regarding the main evil character but i stuck with it and glad i did. It is an unusual story, covering many centuries but keeping you interested rather than bogged down with history. As it progresses you become totally hooked and cant wait to finish. Not a book i would normally read but so glad i did. Exciting, gripping, unusual and an excellent read!

Posted on 2 Aug 2014 18:17:26 BDT
T. Canavan says:
Must BLUE CHOCOLATE by TR KIDD. I hadnt enjoyed 12 Years a Slave and another reader suggested i might like this book instead. Well what a recommendation! The book starts and at first i thought it a bit irksome and didn't want to continue the story regarding the main evil character but i stuck with it and glad i did. It is an unusual story, covering many centuries but keeping you interested rather than bogged down with history. As it progresses you become totally hooked and cant wait to finish. Not a book i would normally read but so glad i did. Exciting, gripping, unusual and an excellent read!I hadnt enjoyed 12 Years a Slave and another reader suggested i might like this book instead. Well what a recommendation! The book starts and at first i thought it a bit irksome and didn't want to continue the story regarding the main evil character but i stuck with it and glad i did. It is an unusual story, covering many centuries but keeping you interested rather than bogged down with history. As it progresses you become totally hooked and cant wait to finish. Not a book i would normally read but so glad i did. Exciting, gripping, unusual and an excellent read!
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.3 out of 5 stars (318 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (189)
4 star:
 (84)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
5.99
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 544,757