Customer Review

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luscious but not louche, dishy pies and tarts for all ages., 7 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Book of Old Tarts (Hardcover)
Luscious but not louche, this would make a great Christmas present and conversation starter. It's a book by a cook who sounds as if she has been around the kitchen a few times: in the tradition of Claudia Roden, Hodder not only talks you through the recipe but provides scholarly excursions into its history and glimpses of her own philosophy of cooking. She writes with an engaging conviviality and none of the irritatingly contrived sensuality of la Grande Nigella. Her rich repertoire of recipes reminds us of how barren our traditonal culinary landscape has become, with native ingredients like elderflowers, gooseberries and walnuts supplanted by supermarket exotica.Try "Mucky Mouth Tart" or "Folkestone Pudding Pie". And for those who have always wanted to know the difference between a pie and a tart....tarts have bottoms. I should have guessed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Be the first person to comment on this review.

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 


Review Details

Item

5.0 out of 5 stars (6 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist
A Customer