Customer Review

326 of 372 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Critical dilemma, 28 Oct. 2013
This review is from: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey - Extended Edition [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
How can there be 1,357 reviews of the Blu-ray extended version of this marvellous film before it has been issued on 13 November 2013?

Really Amazon, we don't need all the reviews from all the other versions of the same title! We need to know by how long the film itself has been extended and the quality of the technical improvements on the original DVD.

I have given this 5-stars only because I don't wish to harm the reputation of a great film but wish to air a weakness in the salesmanship system of this particular company who have the money and the expertise to do far better for the customer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 6 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 20 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 3 Nov 2013 10:47:51 GMT
Mr. R Baylis says:
Totally agree with this comment. Mixing all the reviews from other versions of a title film is totally confusing and unhelpful to the customer. With only a few comments it is hard enough to pick out the relevant ones but when there are thousands it is totally impractical. And the distribution of the star scoring becomes meaningless.

Come on Amazon - you can do better than this! Each variation has a unique entry in your database and you surely tag the comment against the entry to which it was posted. It surely takes more effort to combine all the comments by cross referencing all the entries for similar titles anyway, so why not just give us the comments that were posted against the specific version we are looking at?

In reply to an earlier post on 5 Nov 2013 16:35:40 GMT
Laura F. says:
Well said!!! Totally agree with both of you!!! I want to read reviews about the specific version, not any version, because I want to be able to evaluate the differences with other versions and decide which one I want to buy. It's useless and confusing having to read tons of reviews not related to the specific version.

Posted on 7 Nov 2013 11:20:06 GMT
HadToLogin says:
Fully agree also.... How much extra footage is there (in comparison to LOTR EE)? How many additional 'behind the scenes' documentaries etc....? What exactly is 'extra' in this version than the theatrical release bluray? Please take note Amazon, all the reviews for this product are written for a different product. I'm sure most people would say it's obviously going to be better than the normal version, but then again, some people may have negative views and believe that an already long film is now just too long (not me)

Posted on 8 Nov 2013 13:12:50 GMT
In case you don't know yet - the extended edition is only 13 minutes longer, so a lot less has been added in comparison to the LOTR trilogy, but the hobbit felt quite flabby in it's theatrical form so perhaps for the best. Source is this months Empire magazine.

In reply to an earlier post on 8 Nov 2013 13:14:13 GMT
See my reply to OP below - this edition is 13 minutes longer. Hope that helps!

In reply to an earlier post on 8 Nov 2013 14:52:01 GMT
K. Harvey says:
Thank you for that Mr Gorton. Now we can decide whether or not it's worth the extra as I have limited interest in the filmmaking process which is the main content of the "additional material".

Posted on 9 Nov 2013 08:28:04 GMT
Been saying this for ages about the reviews,soon as a film hits the cinema reviews are posted, just look at the latest films Ender's Game and Thor.If you want to upgrade a dvd to blu ray it doesn't help at all reading all dvd reviews forv a BR version.

Posted on 12 Nov 2013 09:47:41 GMT
Numinous Ugo says:
This is a long standing problem with Amazon reviews. It is so annoying as it is crucial that potential buyers need a review of the particular edition of a book, DVD or CD so as to judge it on its merits. Glowing praise in a review may well apply to a different edition than the one I am considering just as damning condemnation might also put me off a perfectly good edition. It is high time that Amazon got this sorted

In reply to an earlier post on 12 Nov 2013 11:26:25 GMT
Prometheus77 says:
Yes. This is hightly annoying. And the solution would be so easy. Since Amazon is listing on every review for what it is for anyway, why not simply make a button, so you can choose whether you want to see all reviews or just the review for a certain release or format?!

In reply to an earlier post on 12 Nov 2013 12:02:26 GMT
Last edited by the author on 12 Nov 2013 12:20:03 GMT
Mr. R Baylis says:
It would appear from the comments made, if you scale the response up, there are a LOT of customers who would like this to happen. So how do we make Amazon take note?

I, for one, will be phoning Customer Service up to point them towards this thread and ask exactly when they have plans to stop aggregating all the reviews for different versions and allow us to see just the comments for the specific product we have clicked on.

But with respect to the suggestion by Prometheus77, an 'all versions' review is exactly what we have now and is just plain confusing and unhelpful. Better to add a quick way to hop to the reviews for a different version / format. If I'm interested in a title I'm unlikely to want to read what someone thought of the VHS release of it!

** Update - I've just spoken to Amazon Customer Service and they were very understanding of the issue and the lady I spoke to said she was going to put it forward to the relevant technical team as a suggestion for improvement in the handling of reviews. It won't happen overnight of course, but maybe a few more similar comments from those that also think the same way will get this considered seriously and pushed up the priority list. **
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Dorset UK

Top Reviewer Ranking: 1,465