Customer Review

5 of 57 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is not my Batman!, 3 Nov 2009
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham Asylum (PS3) (Video Game)
How good is this game?
Based on the reviews here it is outstanding, possibly matching the GTA series. It also captures the essence of Batman. These are wrong on both counts. The game is plodding and predictable. Fights are a matter of pressing the buttons and watching Batman beat them all up. Nothing in the game is challenging. Additionally I have been collecting and reading Batman comics (not graphic novels) for 25 years and no game or film can ever hope to come close to capturing the character in his true light. You all need to grow up and get to the comic shop and learn about the real Batman from comics not films and games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-9 of 9 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 10 Nov 2009 11:14:30 GMT
Dr Evil says:
You think people need to 'grow up' and head down to the comic book store?
The game was fun which is why a lot of people liked it.

Posted on 10 Nov 2009 15:14:49 GMT
Trigger says:
What a moronic review. There are tons of different interpretations of Batman, and while the story here is hardly going to have the character or depth of some of the comics or graphic novels, what do you really expect from an action video game?! It's not intended to be an in-depth analysis of The Dark Knight's psyche; it's about giving Batman cause for beating up hordes of goons and villains.

"Fights are a matter of pressing the buttons and watching Batman beat them all up. Nothing in the game is challenging."

Then I suggest you put it on a higher difficulty, where you need to use all of Batman's moves and abilities to get through the fights. Button bashing won't get you very far at all on Hard.

"You all need to grow up and get to the comic shop and learn about the real Batman from comics not films and games."

As Dr Evil says, I think you need to take the stick out of your arse and realise people like this game because it's got great level design, excellent combat and stealth and it's just a lot of fun.

Posted on 15 Nov 2009 20:48:07 GMT
Lilly says:
Is it possible you're not playing PS3 Games very often? Batman Arkham Asylum is for sure one of the best Games of the year. If you want more character development in the story, stay with your comics. And for your better understanding: This is an action game. Consider the word ACTION. Your review is just ridiculous.

Posted on 18 Nov 2009 12:05:58 GMT
"You all need to grow up and get to the comic shop"
lol i have to say i never thought i'd hear someone say that. And tbh i dont really care if it captures the essence of Batman, i just want a good game.

Posted on 19 Nov 2009 22:28:46 GMT
Hornet says:
why do you guys bother replying this dude?

Posted on 25 Nov 2009 11:20:14 GMT
HAH HAH OMG!! Grow up and head down the comic book store! I know that has been pointed out several times above but it is proper classic. Possibly the worst, hilariously moronic review ever committed to Amazon. Great job, Ms Doherty. Please keep at it!

Posted on 5 Dec 2009 13:59:49 GMT
C.B. says:
I never thought the phrases "Grow up" and "go to the comic book store" would ever be in the same sentence
turns out i was wrong

Posted on 3 Feb 2010 19:53:20 GMT
Susanjones says:
Agreement. This is not classic batman. He doesn't go round punching everyone. It is very easy.

In reply to an earlier post on 22 Jun 2010 11:36:21 BDT
Why is it that people feel the need to personally attack other reviewers? Everyone is entitled to their opinion and when it comes down to it, this is a review of a game. A GAME people! Surely there are more important things to worry about!
As for this not being classic batman, I agree, he's not supposed to go around beating the crap out of people but as I mentioned before, this is a GAME. They make to be as entertaining as possible and if that means taking a few liberties with the source material then fine. I for one think they did a damn good job.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.7 out of 5 stars (140 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
29.99 13.69
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 4,779,110