ARRAY(0xa896e930)
 
Customer Review

169 of 177 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mixed, 9 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Telegraph (Kindle Edition)
I'm a bit confused by all the negativity here. For 10 per month, you get a copy of a decent paper delivered every morning, including Saturdays & Sundays, which was a nice suprise. So thats a lot cheaper and more portable than the paper version, and even better when you're by the pool on holiday.

From a quick scan there are over 100 articles on the daily edition and 200+ on the weekend, so it feels pretty comprehensive, and with a paper like the Telegraph you know the content is going to be well written and of a somewhat right of centre political outlook.

So for me, this is great. Good content everyday for a reasonable price and minimal hassle.

Negatives - doesnt have pictures, but so far I'm not really missing them. I want the actual news! doesnt have tables, thats really annoying for things like the football, but I can get that thorugh other means. Fix the pictures/tables in a way that keeps a nice user experience, and it'd be a 5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-9 of 9 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 22 Sep 2010 00:18:45 BDT
Last edited by the author on 22 Sep 2010 00:19:25 BDT
S. Bryce says:
But aren't you annoyed by the clear lack of care which has gone into this version? While the price is now better (and would probably deserve an extra star on my review), I find it really annoying when an article has text from the wrong place stuck in the middle of the body of the article. I also find it annoying that there is little use of bold or headings to help clarify lists, etc. in an article.

Also, the newspaper may be laid out so that a number of related stories appear next to each other on the page - not so in the Kindle version. Often a related story appears several stories after the main story, which I find annoying.

My original 2 star rating is probably more like 3 stars now that the price has been reduced to 10 per month.

To get a 4 star rating, I just want somebody to actually read through the Kindle edition, correcting formatting etc., ensuring that no text is appearing in the wrong place and making sure that the related stories run on from one to the next. It should not be acceptable to the publishers to put out something which is so badly presented.

To get a 5 star rating, I want everything above along with pictures and tables.

In reply to an earlier post on 26 Sep 2010 08:43:45 BDT
Yeah, the order of the articles is pretty variable. It seemed to be getting better but then went to pot again, and more random text seems to be appearing mid story.

Also, I went on holiday to Portugal last week. The paper would download over wifi but not 3g. This is definitley not what I expected given the 3g coverage map of most of Europe. Is probably a Kindle thing rather than Telegraph, but still spoils the experience.

Adding the above 2 annoyances together would probably drop the review down to a 3* now, but its a good & generally happy 3*

In reply to an earlier post on 4 Oct 2010 12:47:39 BDT
To be honest i think i would only use this on holiday(save the trek around to find a newstand selling English papers)so could i just take out a sub for one month and then cancel or would that be difficult/cheating, do you think?

In reply to an earlier post on 4 Oct 2010 19:27:54 BDT
Subscribing & cancelling is dead easy. You even get the first 14 days free.
Cheating - who cares? You get your paper & The Telegraph / Amazon gets some extra cash & you might just subscribe longer. Only thing to make sure of is WiFi coverage as 3g didnt work for me abroad

Posted on 6 Feb 2011 13:14:47 GMT
Our grown up children wanted to buy a kindle for their father (my husbamd) who suffers fom Parkinsons, turning the pages of the Telegraph causes him some problems. However on reading the many comments on lack of continuity, pictures & tables we are holding back. How could we enjoy the property page with its beautiful houses missing, the gardening section with its plants & offers, the list of omissions is endless.

With a 2nd home in Spain & the weekend Telegraph costing 5 euros 20 centimos out there it would have been a Godsend but now readers' comments state that the 3G version doesn't work.

In reply to an earlier post on 6 Feb 2011 20:02:36 GMT
The 3g bit seems to depend on where you are. Didnt work in the Algarve for me, but worked fine out in the sticks in France.

Agree the rest harms the experience a lot, but for the cash it'll do for me - but then I dont buy the paper for the pictures in the first place! Have you looked at the telegraph / times websites / ipad versions? Am told they are good & have pictures.

Other alternative - check on Amazon.com - does thier version of the kindle ship pictures to the papers? Seem to recall it did at some point

Posted on 27 Feb 2011 11:33:01 GMT
Bill John says:
Can Newspapers be delivered to a Kindle whilst on a Cruise?

Specifically, P&O Aurora from Southampton to Carribean and return. I would not want to use the onboard wifi - too expensive!!

In reply to an earlier post on 19 May 2011 09:09:53 BDT
Interesting - my wife uses a Kindle and gets the Daily Mail overseas on 3G so it may be a Telegraph issue. I was going to get a Kindle for the Telegraph (can't take my laptop to the pool!) but will wait.
All other issues - in the various posts - typos, articles not together, lack of tables, text format etc. are common to the Daily Mail as well.

In reply to an earlier post on 17 Dec 2011 14:48:08 GMT
K LAMB says:
Bill John asks the very same question I have - as we are going away on a world cruise early next year a newspaper lionk to Kindle would be great.....but thge cost of wi fi on board is astronomical. Any feedback anywhere please?!
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.3 out of 5 stars (200 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (46)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
9.99
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Brum, UK

Top Reviewer Ranking: 20,710