Customer Review

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good collection, 24 April 2013
This review is from: The Scene Club: Ham Yard, London 1963-1966 (Audio CD)
I agree with most of the other review. Well done, Charly indeed.
My only complaint concerns the cover picture of a bunch of mods dancing. Now, I'm sure that's not the Scene Club! If anyone's got a copy of 'Mods!' by Richard Barnes they'll be able to prove me right or wrong. Unfortunately I loaned my copy to one of my daughter's teenage friends so will probably never see it again, but that same photo is in that book and it will tell you in the back where it was taken. I'm sure it's not the Scene though! Answers on a plain postcard, please!
I think a far better photo would have been that one of Mikey Tenner, one of the top faces of the era, looking like he's whizzing off his t**s, dancing with Sandy Sargent (who married Ian Maclagan of the Small Faces)in the Scene Club.
Hair splitting perhaps, but mod is all about attention to detail, n'est ce pas?
Otherwise, good collection, and along with that 'Looking Good' double LP of a few years ago, one of the best mod compilations around.
2/5/13 Ignore my complaint. It IS the Scene Club! (tThanks Dogrobber!)
20/08/13 It's NOT the Scene Club, it's a pub in London! (thanks Barry!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-4 of 4 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 29 Apr 2013 21:03:46 BDT
According to the credits in Mods! the photo is from The Scene club november 1963.I now feel like a sad internet troll but at least your query is answered.

In reply to an earlier post on 2 May 2013 17:07:45 BDT
pete melvets says:
No offence taken at all!
Thanks very much.
I MUST get that book back off that kid!

In reply to an earlier post on 29 May 2013 21:31:20 BDT
Last edited by the author on 29 May 2013 21:34:08 BDT
Sorry gents , but this is NOT the Scene club . its a room above a pub in London .There are a few pictures wrongly accredited as being the Scene club in the 'Mods' book .Mickey Tenner and various other faces of that era have confirmed it as not being the Scene club . Thought i'd help with your query ! :)

In reply to an earlier post on 7 Jun 2013 10:39:20 BDT
pete melvets says:
Thanks, Barry, I didn't think it was the Scene. Not that I would know as I was only about 2 when it closed down. I just remember an older bloke in a pub, who'd been an original London mod, getting quite worked up over that picture when me and my mates (this is about 30 years ago) were showing him the book. He was emphatic that lots of the pics were wrong. the book was fairly new out then and our bible!
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.2 out of 5 stars (9 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: cornwall

Top Reviewer Ranking: 69,750