Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now
Customer Review

127 of 134 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eye-witness account, 4 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dracula (Blu-ray + DVD) [1958] (Blu-ray)
I'm truly astounded to read reviews of a Blu-ray written BEFORE the film has even been released - especially the one which damns the film based purely on misleading screen-grabs and pre-emptive complaints from people with an obvious axe to grind posted on the net.

Of the reviewers here, with the exception of Matt and myself, I believe that no one else has actually watched the Blu-ray - so how they feel entitled to post a review is beyond me.

I was the person who found the extra footage in Japan and so, like Matt, I was sent a review copy which I have watched several times.

My verdict? Magnificent.
Well done Hammer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 11-17 of 17 posts in this discussion
Posted on 29 Mar 2013 23:44:28 GMT
Last edited by the author on 30 Mar 2013 00:24:18 GMT
BobRambo says:
Hello all,
I feel I must add a comment here regarding this great British horror film, Dracula aka Horror of Dracula. I first saw this film in South East Asia when I was in my early teens, and afterwards I could not sleep for 2 weeks! The horror image of Christopher Lee kept haunting me and to this day after a span of over 40 years I still remember vividly the full details of the film including the 2 extra footages that includes the disintegration of the arch vampire's face in the closing stages of the film (at that time I was sure that the disintegration of CL's face was included) but yes, I think there is ONE MORE SCENE that has not been mentioned. I have subsequently, over the years watched many versions of Dracula but could not see this scene. This is the scene that kept me having nightmares for 2 weeks! Listen to me closely because I am not conjuring things up and to the best of my knowledge it is true and you know that a kid never lies. Remember when Johnathan Harker eventually went down to the crypt to stake CL. He looked at him lying in the coffin however he did not put the stake through his heart but went over the other corpse, Valerie Gaunt, the female vampire to dispose of here first. This was his fatal mistake. As the stake was hammered into the heart we heard her scream and then suddenly we saw the face of an hiedous ugly old hag lying dead in the coffin. What I saw in the film to be precise was that when the stake was hammered into the body, the female vampire twisted, twitched and screamed and her face slowly changed horribly and graphically in stages before eventually she expired. My friends, can you tell me if such a scene exists in this current restored blu ray version which I have not seen. If not, then in my humble opinion the film may or may not have been the complete version based on the inplanted image on a kid some 40 years ago. Perhaps my memory now is somewhat blurred over these years but I think this is quite unlikely.

In reply to an earlier post on 30 Mar 2013 00:26:34 GMT
MovieDuck says:
BobRambo,

No, that scene is not in the present version. Yes, Harker stakes the bride, but the next image is of the old hag's face. Now, you may be right in your recollection, but it seems to me that the director and special effects people would have given the game away far to early if the scene you describe was present. Keeping the big decaying scene (so revolutionary at the time) for the final reel seems far more likely. And the expense is a factor too - two time-consuming effects scenes in one low budget film? You may be right, but in my viewing experience, memory is an unreliable resource when it comes to the motion picture images from one's childhood.

In reply to an earlier post on 3 Apr 2013 15:42:52 BDT
Last edited by the author on 3 Apr 2013 15:47:16 BDT
BobRambo says:
On reflection I maintain what I previously said. If the sence as descriped by me is included in this new Blu-ray version I would have bought it even if it costs twice the current price. The film, Dracula aka Horror of Dracula would then be (in my opinion) absolutely 'complete'. Perhaps Magnus care to comment.

Posted on 23 Jun 2013 13:22:24 BDT
Some people have dismissed this release because of the exclusion of Dracula weeping during his demise! I spoke to Tim Lucas about the reasons for this & the explanation from hammer to him was that there was no audio track match to place it back into the film, reasonable if you know anything about putting missing footage back! These all or nothing type armchair "experts" would also not buy The Wicker Man 1973 or King Kong 1933 because of footage that is not possible to replace. Everyone is entitled to an opinion but to discourage others from purchasing a film when all possible effort has been made to make it as complete as it can be is just idiotic in my opinion!

In reply to an earlier post on 16 Nov 2013 15:07:23 GMT
J Bern says:
The audio is all there on the Japanese reels, where they took the image from. Hammer's excuse ( like all their other excuses for the mistakes made on several of these releases ) does not hold water.

Posted on 5 Jan 2014 00:06:06 GMT
Mr. Ms Kerby says:
Dracula 1958 is the best Hammer Horror movie ever made and the Blu Ray is a "MUST" buy for true fans. Just got it myself and the Special Features are worth the cost of the movie alone. Don't think!!!! Buyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

In reply to an earlier post on 14 Jul 2016 21:47:11 BDT
Take just this silly voting, amazon has sunk to kindergarten level! Voting on any turd, mixing reviews that would not even pass in kindergarten, not to mention all the used dvds that are sold these days by third party sellers as new. It gives the impression that amazon make enough money now and simply don't give a rats behind about those people who made them what they are - their customers!
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Tokyo, Japan

Top Reviewer Ranking: 1,293,487