Customer Review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Autobiographical footy nostalgia, 2 July 2011
This review is from: 32 Programmes (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you think 'normal life is sitting on your bed reading football programmes until three a.m.', then welcome to heaven. Using a programme collection to chart life's milestones is a brilliant idea to the footy mad amongst us.

Particularly in the early part of this book, the author splendidly weaves in anecdotes and the minutiae of a fan's life from 1964 to 2008. Even if you were a non-fan growing up in this period, you will have many laughs and cringe-making reminiscences; who else owned the fashion nightmare 'Budgie' jacket?

The premise began to fade as the story moved into the 1980's. The balance seemed to switch and there were more 'shots tipped over the bar by Crudgington' than autobiographical detail. I got the impression that I was reading match reports fom Mr Robert's 'Filofax'. This will still appeal to fans of Manchester United and Plymouth Argyle as the two most featured teams.

This was doubly frustrating as major events were taking place in the author's life which are condensed into mere passing paragraphs. However, Mr Roberts is not re-writing 'Fever Pitch'; he is an obsessive fan and this is about his obsession. A very enjoyable 'dip-in' read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Be the first person to comment on this review.

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 


Review Details

Item

4.4 out of 5 stars (52 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
£12.99
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Zummerzet

Top Reviewer Ranking: 4,793