Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's
Customer Review

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Like A Bolt Out From The Blue...I Remember That..." - From Langley Park To Memphis by PREFAB SPROUT (2009 Japan CD Remaster), 29 Nov. 2009
This review is from: From Langley Park To Memphis (Audio CD)
*** THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE JAPAN-ONLY 2009 REMASTERED VERSION ***

"From Langley Park To Memphis" was first issued March 1988 on Kitchenware Records in the UK and on Epic Records in the USA. It felt like a more commercial version of its brilliant predecessor "Steve McQueen" from 1985 - and building on that incredible groundwork - it was eagerly awaited - and so raced to Number 5 in the UK charts.

It was released on LP/MC and CD at the time in fairly good sound - but a remaster has been long overdue. Some of its hit singles have been remastered for "Best Of" compilations, but this is the first time the entire album has been sonically upgraded - and it's an absolute wow - even it is only available as a limited edition import from Japan...

PACKAGING:
This 26 August 2009 Japan-only CD is on Epic EICP 1245 (Sony Music Japan) and is part of 6 albums reissued there - all in remastered form (45:32 minutes). It's one of those mini LP replica sleeves in an Obi and resealable outer plastic (picture provided above), which also reproduces the original inner sleeve. The inner sleeve's nice to look at, but of course because of its 5-inch size, virtually illegible - hence the need for the separate lyric booklet. There's also another insert advertising further Eighties CD titles, but it's entirely in Japanese...

SOUND:
CD sites in Japan have claimed that each has 2009 remastering, and although I can't actually find this in writing anywhere on the disc or packaging (that I can understand), I don't need to see it in writing because I can hear it. The sound quality is simply GLORIOUS.

Highlights include the beautiful melody of "I Remember That" (lyrics above) and an incredible punch out of "Knock On Wood" and an absolutely HUGE feel to "The Golden Calf". A lot of the time, you're just in awe of Paddy McAloon's superb songwriting and how well so much of it has held up - the arrangements, the clever lyrics, the melodies that grow and grow on each hearing - 20 years plus and they still move me...

It is of course a shame that the many unreleased tracks off the singles "The King Of Rock & Roll", "Cars & Girls" and "Hey Manhattan" are not on here, but this release doesn't pretend to be anything other than a straightforward transfer of the album.

With no sign of British or US remastered versions on the horizon, fans of this superb British band and their brilliant albums will need to own this.

Recommended wholeheartedly.

PS: the other albums reissued in this Japanese Limited Edition series are:
1. "Swoon" (1983) on Epic EICP 1276 (21 October 2009 release)
2. "Steve McQueen" (1985) on Epic EICP 1244 (26 August 2009 release)
3. "Protest Songs" (1985 Recordings Released in 1989) on Epic EICP 1277 (21 October 2009 release)
4. "Jordan: The Comeback" (1990) on Epic EICP 1278 (21 October 2009 release)
5. "Andromeda Heights" (1997) on Epic EICP 1279 (21 October 2009 release)

PPS: see also my review for "Jordan: The Comeback" from the same series - and thanks to TIM SQUIER of Revival Records for a lend of the 2 CDs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-3 of 3 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 8 Feb 2016 13:48:26 GMT
Alan McGuire says:
Hello Mark,

Only recently read your review of the japan import edition - better late than never - and managed to purchase a copy this week

More commercial then Steve , we know , but the sound quality is AMAZING rendering this consideration irrelevant , I can live with synths like this for ever!!!

Regards,

Alan

In reply to an earlier post on 8 Feb 2016 19:16:42 GMT
Mark Barry says:
Glad you liked it Alan.

Check the date I posted this review - Nov 2009 - yet there's only 4 positives against it. I often wonder if music lovers are listening? But Sprout were always like this as a band - endless praise from critics, press, reviewers, fans - but joe public in general just didn't pick up on them in the manner they deserved.

I acquired a new set of speakers yesterday - Tannoy V4s - and I was re-listening to a whole shed load of stuff - I played many Japanese CD Remasters and maybe it's just me - but they always sound better and more detailed than any other issues. I've a Platinum SHM-CD of "Aja" by Steely dan - one of my all time faves and it is awesome to behold - power and clarity. By the way - if you haven't got the 2CD deluxe edition of Prefab Sprout's "Steve McQueen" - you 'need' those Paddy McAloon reinterpretations on Disc 2 - wow!

Anyway - thanks for the note...Mark

PS: If you enjoyed the Sprouts - try the J.J. Cale 2013 Japan-Only SHM-CD Remaster of "5" from 1979 - gorgeous to the nth degree (use Barcode No 4988005771629 in the Amazon search bar to get the right issue). Take care...

In reply to an earlier post on 3 Mar 2016 14:02:07 GMT
Alan McGuire says:
Mark,

Thanks again , I am also generally a big fan of the japan editions will check out JJC - have nothing on CD by him and have lost my original vinyl of the first two LPs
Would recommend all the Ry Cooder japan editions up to Jazz , amazing quality again

Of course I play the 2nd CD of Steve a lot , without Thomas Dolby (if I my say so) these songs are really totally timeless

Thanks again, Alan
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details