Customer Review

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than last year's but still a little disappointing, 8 Jun 2012
This review is from: Hed Kandi: Beach House (Audio CD)
Oh dear, it's been a poor start to summer 2012 in the Hed Kandi camp - Serve Chilled was a rather unspectacular affair featuring some very uninspiring electro, most of which was too up-tempo to be truly chilled; and it doesn't get much better with Beach House unfortunately. Firstly, they decided to mix all three CDs this year, so the box release (which I'd prefer) was a no-go for me, as I imagine it will be for a lot of people. Why not just give us the full tracks like previous years? If it ain't broke.....

Secondly - and like a lot of Hed Kandi compilations lately - there's just too much electro here, and nowhere near enough Spanish/Latin-tinged stuff, like there used to be. Half of this collection could well be Serve Chilled: Electronic summer 2012 part II, as there isn't a great deal to separate it from its spring-release sibling.

Still, it's better than last year's 'Disco Heaven' effort, although I can't help but feel there's still too much of that genre present on this year's collection. There are, however, a few tracks that make it feel like summer (even if the weather isn't playing ball!); tracks that remind me of how exceptional this annual release used to be. The deep house disc which we first saw last year makes a return, but I honestly can't really relate many of the tracks to sitting by a pool bar at sunset.

I hope next year Hed Kandi take this compilation back to its roots and produce something amazing. Those released in the mid-noughties (2005/6/7) were by far the best, so let's hope they take a history lesson before May 2013!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-3 of 3 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 12 Jun 2012 04:34:33 BDT
jkenne01 says:
Nice review...do you know if Jason Brooks is still doing the artwork for Hed Kandi. The covers for the last 4 releases (Miami, Deep House,Serve Chilled & Beach House) don't look like they have his usual standard?

In reply to an earlier post on 13 Jun 2012 23:32:57 BDT
Last edited by the author on 13 Jun 2012 23:36:03 BDT
GoldenGirl says:
Jason Brooks has left he confirmed it on his FB with the Winter Chill 2012 being his last cover..Jason Brook's illustrations were an integral part of Hed Kandi.. As the quality of music slumped across the compilations the stunning artwork was still present that is until now.

I too was very disappointed with this years Beach House. In my opinion 2009 was the last decent beach house album for consistent great tracks. If your having withdrawal symptoms of quality summer house music I would recommend Beach Angel by Fierce Angel compiled by Mark Doyle I especially rate Beach Angel IV.

Posted on 13 Jun 2012 23:33:37 BDT
[Deleted by the author on 13 Jun 2012 23:35:41 BDT]
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.5 out of 5 stars (8 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 290,952