Customer Review

94 of 99 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You don't get much ink for your money in these!!, 6 Oct. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought a printer via amazon in June 2011 and the "demo" inks lasted until October 2011. At this point, I was doing a reasonable amount of printing and was really very impressed with the free cartridges and believed that any new cartridges I purchased would last a good deal longer. Inserted the new replacements in mid October (and the printer confirmed they were genuine HP), however, I've hardly done any printing using these cartridges (at most, perhaps 20-30 A4 sheets using black and 10 (as an absolute maximum and most probably less) A4 sheets using colour ... I've checked my documents folder to confirm this!) and they've run out already! I haven't done any copying or re-printing of pages, so I am now very disappointed with this product. How can "demo" cartridges last longer than what's supposed to be the real deal!

Am not too sure to be honest about purchasing cartridges via the internet now and will probably pay the premium to purchase them from a high street stationery supplier. As a person that purchases almost everything over the internet, I'm quite disappointed to find myself typing such a thing ... I love shopping on the internet and this is the first time I feel like I've been had!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-7 of 7 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 8 Mar 2012 08:18:11 GMT
I purchasing cartridges via the shop and payed the premium to purchase them from a high street stationery supplier. And they never lasted a crack, Is it the ink or is it the printer that makes all that noise and uses a lot of ink to do some printing. I wish i had not bought this printer never mind the price of the ink,
Cheers

Posted on 27 Mar 2012 18:40:52 BDT
Cake says:
I'm glad I read this review because I agree with what has been said. I was also disappointed the last time I bought these inks. For the same reason. The ink did not seem to last very long! This does cast some suspicion over the internet purchasing. My 'starter' inks also lasted a fair time in comparison. Mmmmm - do I buy again, or do I foot the bill for what I know to be genuine HP ink cartridges? Maybe I'll try e bay.

In reply to an earlier post on 28 Mar 2012 10:49:00 BDT
Wendy says:
Hi Cake
Thank you for your comment. After reading so many positive reviews, I had started to believe that Gremlins had been using the ink in my printer overnight without my knowledge!! I ended up buying my cartridges from the HP store on line and have to say that they're still going strong several months later and I've been printing loads recently as have been very busy. To me, this confirms that either the inks were "starter" inks, or only partially filled re-fills. Will stick to the originals in future, it's a lot less hassle!!

Posted on 11 Aug 2012 20:11:06 BDT
Last edited by the author on 11 Aug 2012 20:20:10 BDT
Jo says:
I can confirm that this also happened to me, although I bought my HP inks from a highstreet store.They have only lasted about one month and I do not print much, the original cartridges that came free lasted for 11months!. Jo

Posted on 18 Sep 2012 00:14:30 BDT
Last edited by the author on 18 Sep 2012 00:15:31 BDT
Lewis says:
GREAT BIT OF ADVICE COPIED FROM HP 364 BLACK REVIEW!!

25 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BUY THESE CARTRIDGE (HP 364'S) ONLY STARTER CARTRIDGES GO FOR THE XL'S, 27 July 2012
By Gwwilym - See all my reviews

Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP Original 364 Black Ink Cartridge (Office Product)

When Hp sell you a new printer they supply Hp 364 cartridges. Well these cartridges only hold 4mls black & 3mls colour ink in them which is written in really really small writing on the backs of the cartridge boxes. For higher yield cartridges what you really need is the HP 364XL black which holds 7mls of ink and for the colour you should be using the Hp 364XL c/m/y cartridges which holds 6mls of ink per colour cartridge. There is a company that I have also found (advantage online) which stock the Hp 364XL originals and a British premium compatible 364XL version which holds 18.6mls in the black and 14.6mls of ink in each of the three colour cartridges and work just the same. Hp make there money out of selling you a very good printer (Photosmart premium) but then sell you cartridges that have hardly any ink in them (364 starter). Don't fall into the Hp ink con trap!!!

Posted on 14 Oct 2012 13:43:08 BDT
Sue says:
Read your interesting review. To be honest I am also very disappointed in the life span of replacement HP 364 combo pack cartridges. Am now reduced to having to watch what I print because the cartridges do not last two minutes - at £20 minimum a time for replacements the HP Photosmart works out the most expensive printer I have ever had. Spending £60 pa on replacement cartridges is ridiculous. Thank goodness I do not print photographs.

In reply to an earlier post on 6 Nov 2013 10:18:23 GMT
[Deleted by Amazon on 11 Feb 2015 14:40:28 GMT]
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item not available
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 7,983