Customer Review

167 of 186 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for serious budding pianists, 6 Dec 2011
This review is from: Yamaha YPT220 Portable Keyboard (Electronics)
If you're looking for a beginners keyboard I would seriously recommend your local music store for proper advice. This keyboard is not touch-responsive (you can get a touch responsive keyboard from your local music shop for a little over £100). The sounds are actually not bad for this price range but even beginners will soon find that the lack of touch responsive (velocity sensitive) keys is a major set back. It is important to note that touch-responsive keys is very differnt from weighted keys - weighted keys will cost you a lot more and provide a heavy feel much more like a proper piano where as touch responsive keys allow for greater expression and are a must for anyone wanting to play anything more than "chopsticks".

Over all the build quality isn't bad for the price but you will find better in the £100 price range. It's definitely worth spending a bit more especially if this is a gift for a loved one who wants to learn to play because they will appreciate it in the long run - the lack of touch responsive keys will soon become a major problem to anyone learning to play.

My advice would be to make a trip to a proper music shop for some proper advice (you can always see if Amazon do it cheaper, shh!) or ask any keyboard teacher worth their salt what to recommend. This is more of a kids toy than a serious keyboard for someone wanting to learn, don't be fooled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-7 of 7 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 23 Dec 2011 12:47:02 GMT
Last edited by the author on 23 Dec 2011 12:47:33 GMT
Andrew says:
Yes, if you want to learn piano, then touch-sensitive (velocity-sensitive) keys are a MINIMUM requirement.

However, if you only want to learn/practice ORGAN, which cannot have touch-sensitive keys, then this keyboard should be fine.

Posted on 4 Jul 2012 01:46:30 BDT
Orinoco says:
A little over 100 quid?

This is a lot under 100 quid and a Yamaha - a brand with a fabulous reputation.

Do you have a make / model number of a touch-sensitive keyboard we ought to ask our local music shop about?

Seems odd to award 3 stars to a product without giving us an example of what, in your mind, represents 5 stars.

I look forward to hearing your recommendations.

In reply to an earlier post on 10 Jul 2012 17:52:34 BDT
Hi Orinoco,

A quick search on Amazon revealed this Casio with touch sensitive keys for £118.99 CASIO CTK-3000 - Full Size Electronic Keyboard With Touch Response Keys - No Power Adapter, and this one for £124.99 Casio CTK-3200 61 Key Piano Style Touch Response Keyboard With No AC Adapter. Also note that at time of writing the original review this product was £99.99 so on that basis £20-25 more for touch sensitive has got to be worth at least looking at as an option.

Also at the time of writing the review I found a couple of High Street music retailers selling a Yamaha EZ200 which had touch sensitive keys for between £129.99 and £169.99.

On a note about the build quality Yamaha do indeed have a fabulous reputation though I don't think it should be a given that their entire range will be well built. Indeed the YPT220 shows its low budget level straight out of the box with cheap-feeling plastics and buttons. On the whole though it isn't a bad keyboard for £89.99 (the price drop certainly helps represent what you're actually getting) but then it's not a great keyboard either hence only three stars. There is plenty of competition in the sub £100 category but I would always recommend digging a bit deeper into your pocket and grabbing something which with a wider range of application.

In reply to an earlier post on 7 Nov 2013 21:27:46 GMT
Last edited by the author on 7 Nov 2013 21:38:21 GMT
AlkaSelzer says:
CASIO CTK-3000 - Electronic Keyboard With Touch Response Keys - No Power Adapter
Hi Daz. Read your reviews etc. ref Casio v Yamaha keyboards. I am looking for a good starter machine for my 13 year old daughter and found your review very informative. As a novice I admit I was blinded by the Yamaha name (have owned a few if their motor cycles in the past) but since reading your posts I have indeed dug a lot deeper. Many hours Google'ing! I think the Casio is looking good for her for Christmas but I don't understand what the AC adaptor thing is all about. Will I need one of these and if so what's the cost going to be? Sorry to appear ignorant and dim but I just like listening to music (Stevie Ray Vaughan on at the moment) not playing it. Thanks and best regards, Tim.

In reply to an earlier post on 28 Nov 2013 12:17:08 GMT
lilbec says:
The Ac adapter is necessary if you want to plug it in to the electric supply rather than using batteries. Many of the Casios come with adapter supplied but check to be sure.

In reply to an earlier post on 5 Jan 2014 18:34:07 GMT
Atomspheres says:
This keyboard is £74.99 and Yamaha. You should read up on a product before buying first so you know what it's got and not got.

In reply to an earlier post on 26 Feb 2014 19:29:47 GMT
AlkaSelzer, sorry you've probably already got this sorted now but lilbec answered that already.

Atomspheres, read my reply to Orinoco's comment. This was £99.98 at the time of the review. Yes read up on a product before buying but this was a gift and my review was to help others with their purchase. You should probably take your own advice and read other comments before posting your own.

Additional: This has been in use for some years now and still working fine, plastics still feel cheap as does key action but it's not been used to 'learn' on as intended as I bought a Yamaha EZ-220 Portable Keyboard with 61 Full-Size Lighted/Touch-Sensitive Keys/iPad Connectivity which though more money is much better all round. Better quality feel, touch-senstive, even lights up to show you where to play. Instead this has been relegated to being used as a midi-controller, which again for the same price (£60-£80 range) I could have found a basic midi-controller with touch-sensitivity.

I stand by my original comments, this isn't a bad keyboard but it's not for anyone serious either, it's a toy and the price represents that as does my three star review.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.6 out of 5 stars (160 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (118)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
£113.00 £89.00
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: UK

Top Reviewer Ranking: 3,564