Customer Review

20 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 10 July 2007
This review is from: Twilight: Twilight, Book 1 (Twilight Saga) (Paperback)
I can only assume that this book has recieved such positive reviews due to their not having read other, far superior, books on the subject of teenage vampires. If you read all of L.J.Smith's Night World series you would understand. This book simply fails to live up to a high standard. Whilst the book was intially very promising, the more you learn about Edward the less likable and believable he becomes. At first I was intrigued by his mystery but his gushing theatrical speeches soon showed what a flawed character he was.
The main female character was a very unlikable Mary Sue - meaning practically all the males were in love with her. It was more than that - she actually appeared scornful about all those who cared for and was repeatedly described as not really listening to what her friends were saying. I can't think of any single admirable qualities about her at all....
I guess I am judging this book harshly. If you thought all the Buffy episodes were amazing and enjoy light hearted vampire related reads without looking into to much detail at the characters then this book may be for you. Otherwise, I would warn you to stay clear. Particularly if you are a hard to please reader over the age of 16.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 23 Mar 2008 18:02:40 GMT
Rin says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on 15 Apr 2008 22:06:18 BDT
I have read all of L.J Smith's Night World series and agree that they are far superior books on this subject. I also agree with what you said about the book starting off as promising - the first half was pretty much okay, with Bella settling into her new surroundings and making friends/meeting Edward etc. But after a while I got so tired of the repetitive way that the author informs the reader of how 'beautiful' Edward is, or how his eyes were looking or how he is telling Bella she shouldn't really want to be with him for her own safety etc etc. I would definitely recommend that people read L.J Smith's Night World series (or perhaps even Vampire Diaries) to see how forbidden vampire love is really done!

Posted on 21 Apr 2008 16:37:02 BDT
Natasha says:
I have read all of L.J.Smiths book and really liked them yet I still though this book was well done and I personally like both series in different ways. First Edward's personality (which I think is similar of that to Stefan Salvatore from Vampire Diaries as they have similar worries).
Inspiration for Edward's personality mainly came form Jane Austin books (and the dream the author had which made her write this book) so that is why he has a flowery way of speaking which is a huge compliment to most females because it'slike he cares about what he;s saying instead of talk nonsese giberish that a majority of male seem to speak now. Edward is flawed that is one of the things that makes him believeable. Everyone has a flaw iot's like your saying "he;s a FVampire so he can't have a flaw of any kind". Bella may be a Mary-sue to you but Bella is susposed to be very plain looking the human that girls of a similar age can relate to or feel intrigued by. The males were only in 'love' (cough*crush*cough) with her because she was new to look at. I happens all the time, teenagers have short attention spans (no offence) so they would get bored of the girls that most of them have pratically grown up with (just like the way the boys at Bella's old school saw her) and felt like they had something new to play with. She does listen to her friend Angela because she is the only reletivly nice person there the others on the other hand are just takling to her cuase they want to be talking about themselves./ And she had just arrived in Forks the day before and as homesick a perfectly normal reaction to anyone. She is used to busiling city streets not small nature filled town with a school population of 300 when she's used to much more than that. Also this book was writen FOR the characters. That was why Stephenie Meyer wrote the book for the characters that she loves.
And another fact you might find intresting is that there is a WHOLE website dedicated to Mothers who have read the book and love it.
Yes you are intitled to your own opinon but first at least make vaild points and don't go dissing everyone who reads it!
Just because someone likes book that you personaly don't like doesn't mean there anymore literally challagened than you.

In reply to an earlier post on 23 Apr 2008 12:20:54 BDT
[Deleted by the author on 23 Apr 2008 20:37:25 BDT]

Posted on 17 May 2008 17:57:14 BDT
Kim says:
Sorry, I know that other people have mentioned this, but the fact of all the boys fancying her to begin with was normal. Trust me, I went to a small town school once, new people coming to the school always got loads of attention because they were new and different in a place where everyone had know eachother since they were in nursery, so that aspect of the book was very realistic. It's understandable that people wouldn't know this if they haven't acctually experienced it though. Also, if you read on the authors website, she writes that this particular aspect of the novel was somthing she herself experienced,
Qoute:" In this particular case, I modeled Bella's move to Forks after my real life move from high school to college. (Personal story alert!) I mentioned in my bio that I went to a high school in Scottsdale, AZ, which is Arizona's version of Beverly Hills (picture the high school in the movie Clueless). In high school, I was a mousy, A-track wall-flower. I had a lot of incredible girlfriends, but I wasn't much sought after by the Y chromosomes, if you know what I mean. Then I went to college in Provo, Utah. Let me tell you, my stock went through the roof. See, beauty is a lot more subjective than you might think. In Scottsdale, surrounded by barbies, I was about a five. In Provo, surrounded by normal people, I was more like an eight. I had dates every weekend with lots of really pretty and intelligent boys (some of whose names end up in my books). It was quite confusing at first, because I knew there was nothing different about me." end quote

Posted on 5 Jun 2008 11:01:39 BDT
Jane Dudeney says:
I'm over 16 and hard to please - I liked it.

However, I'm usually not a fan of 'vampire' stories, so maybe the fact that this is so different from the others you have cited has meant I found something I enjoyed

In reply to an earlier post on 18 Jul 2008 11:13:59 BDT
Kim says:
I agree...
I used to really dislike vampire novels, so I was rather reluctant to read Twilight at first. Stephenie Meyer herself actually sais that Twilight was a Vampire novel for people who don't actually like Vampire novels generally...

Posted on 11 Feb 2009 11:33:12 GMT
H says:
As somebody who has read superior vampire novels and enjoyed them... doesn't mean I didn't enjoy this one for what it is. It's not well written and its flaws are manifest, but as a fluff piece I found it very readable.

As for that suggestion that Twilight is on par with Buffy - I resent that, the writing on Buffy was top notch!! Even it's crappier episodes were still miles better than most shows...
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.4 out of 5 stars (1,804 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (1,339)
4 star:
 (164)
3 star:
 (93)
2 star:
 (66)
1 star:
 (142)
 
 
 
£8.99 £6.29
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: UK

Top Reviewer Ranking: 294,803