Customer Review

121 of 123 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visor Voice; an excellent product., 15 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Supertooth Visor Voice Bluetooth Handsfree Kit (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I did the usual amount of Internet research that I do before I buy almost anything, and found that vast majority of comment was very positive although I was surprised that nobody mentioned the one failing in an otherwise excellent product.
That failing is that it can only be charged in-car via a 12v lead (supplied). Obviously, you need to use the unit when in the car, so charging it means that it can't be used on the visor, as there'd be a lead dangling in front of your eyes. The instructions say that the microphone should be directly in front of the mouth, because of this, it can't be mounted elsewhere. A mains charger would be a big improvement.
Apart from this relatively small gripe, it does exactly what it says on the tin, or rather it's plastic packaging.
The set-up is very easy; it automatically downloaded the handset (a Sony Ericsson K8ooi) phone book very quickly after following the spoken prompts. The speech is very clear during a call and the volume can be turned up very loud without any loss of clarity.
The text to speech conversion is amazing, it's so clear when announcing the caller that there's no mistaking who's on the line. It announces when the call has ended, when it has connected with the handset, and when it powers up and down. Because you don't need to look at the handset to see who's calling or to answer, you don't need to take your eyes off the road. This must mean that road safety is improved.
Summary: I would have given the Visor Voice five stars but for the lack of a mains charger, however, I thoroughly recommend it despite that.

Update March 2011. I've been using this for 3 years now and it's still going strong! The battery life is amazing, and I've had no problems whatsoever with it, that's why I'm changing my rating to 5 Stars!

Update December 2012. It's still in daily use and still working perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 3 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 10 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 30 Aug 2008 18:00:45 BDT
David Payne says:
i have a motorola v3b charger and that charges this product

Posted on 3 Nov 2008 18:49:44 GMT
Last edited by the author on 3 Nov 2008 18:50:04 GMT
You can purchase 3 pin plugs with cigarette lighter connection - much like plugs you get that conver the shaver. You can purchase these for a few pounds here
Power Inverter Supply UK 3 Pin Plug AC 230V / 240V to DC 12V Maximum Load 800mA for Universal Nokia, Sony Ericsson, LG, Samsung Mobile Phones, Apple iPod, Griffin iTrip FM Transmitter, Car Charger Cigar Cigarette Lighter into UK Wall Mains Charger Power Wall Adaptor Adapter Convertor Converter Inverter Invertor Socket (Black)

Posted on 3 Nov 2008 18:51:48 GMT
[Deleted by the author on 3 Nov 2008 18:52:12 GMT]

In reply to an earlier post on 23 Jan 2009 09:09:55 GMT
Del says:
Hi,
Just seen your posting. Thanks for the info. I followed the link, but they're out of stock, so I'll look for it elsewhere.
Cheers,
Derrick

In reply to an earlier post on 23 Jan 2009 09:11:12 GMT
Del says:
Thanks for the info David.
Cheers,
Derrick

Posted on 13 Jan 2010 16:16:36 GMT
gag-halfrunt says:
The manufacturers website says it will charge via any USB charger, so you could go for something like this presumably:
LUPO IGO GREEN USB Mains Charger Power Adapter for Apple iPhone 5S 5G 4S 4G 3GS iPad 1 2 3 4 Air Mini Retina, Samsung Galaxy S4 S5, HTC One, Sony Experia, Nokia Lumia, + Tablets
... you will still need a standard to mini USB lead, but it seems to be something I always have hanging around the house. You can also charge other devices with non-standard plugs; I use mine to charge my Sony MP3 player, and also sometimes power portable speakers. Hope this helps
Chris

Posted on 28 Mar 2010 18:46:37 BDT
hay there, you can charge it using a mini usb cable up to your computer. So much easyier if you know your on a long joruny the next day, and take the charger with you just in case as well. Hope that helps!

Posted on 5 Mar 2011 18:31:51 GMT
gadget geek says:
My tomtom mains charger is good for this unit, use mine all the time !!

In reply to an earlier post on 27 Jan 2013 23:14:59 GMT
shockarunii says:
What kind of tomtom do you have as they may be different fittings. Thanks

In reply to an earlier post on 29 Jan 2013 10:48:05 GMT
Del says:
Hi, I use the charger for my sat nav as it has the correct sized mini USB for it. shopwiki.co.uk sell one for £4.99
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.2 out of 5 stars (138 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Larkfield, Kent. UK

Top Reviewer Ranking: 194,558