Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funk Funk Funk
Gut wrenching, mind-twisting, this music will make your ears bleed! Such a Visceral Experience! This will take you to edge and threaten to push you off. FANTASTIC! Expand your horizons, and BUY THIS!!!!!
Published 9 months ago by Laura J Harris

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Far from Jacks best work
A fan of Jack White since first White Stripes album. in my opinion there are only a couple of great tracks on here the rest of the album seems to be fillers with little substance.

Love the Kills & the Stripes. I think they should stick to what they do best, its not working for me
Published on 9 Aug 2010 by A. Hockley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funk Funk Funk, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Of Cowards (Audio CD)
Gut wrenching, mind-twisting, this music will make your ears bleed! Such a Visceral Experience! This will take you to edge and threaten to push you off. FANTASTIC! Expand your horizons, and BUY THIS!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swimming In A Sea Of Cowards..., 21 Aug 2010
This review is from: Sea Of Cowards (Audio CD)
In banding together to create the Dead Weather, Jack White and Alison Mosshart, of the White Stripes and the Kills fame, have struck gold. Having never heard much of either of thier former bands work, I bought this second offering from rock's biggest supergroup based solely on thier first album 'Horehound' which was never going to be an easy act to follow. But let me tell you, Sea of Cowards easily surpasses it's predecessor by a mile. It grows on the sound they explored in Horehound but cranks the bluesey funk-o-metre up to 11.

It's near impossible to pick one single highlight or standout track with each offering a convincing case. Blue Blood Blues is an excellent opener which flows effortlessly into Hustle and Cuss, a track that sounds like Horehounds "Hang You Up From The Heavens" direct descendant. Third track "The Differnece Between Us" is a synth and guitar infused popfest with Mosshart's vocals soaring in a terribly catchy chorus.

I'm Mad and Die By The Drop are both intensely haunting and gothic. I Can't Hear You slows the tempo right down but this isn't a bad thing as the bluesy feel keeps you hooked. Gasoline and No Horse are two of my favourite tracks with the former being a short burst of shrieking Mosshart vocals and squealing guitar riffs.

Looking at The Invisible Man is a strange track which failed to grow on me which is a shame as for me it is the only low-point of the 35 minute run time. Luckily Jawbreaker is a track made in the same mould as Gasoline and it rocks so hard it might just live up to it's namesake.

Lastly Old Mary is a return to some of The Dead Weather's first album with the tempo being slowed right down and the spooky eerie feeling returning. It's an odd way to finish, but it feels like it fits.

To sum up this album hits the high notes that Horehound failed to and is definetly my favouraite album this year. It fails to grow old on you and I hope this awesome band continue to rock as hard as this in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars music, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Of Cowards (Audio CD)
The Album is brilliant ' heard one track, now i cant stop singing, or playing it. Seen them live too, Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album !!, 14 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Of Cowards (Audio CD)
Well I'm a big Jack White fan, This is not as good as the second Racounteurs album, but its still a good album, if you like The white Stripes and the Raconteurs you have to get this album too !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jack White at his most abrasive, 11 Mar 2013
By 
KalteStern (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Of Cowards (Audio CD)
Jack White has so many bands and side projects, that arguably if you don't like one of them, there will be another one along in a minute - anyone who thought his most recent solo album was a little bit twee, and perhaps prefers the Raconteurs, should check this out. The aim of this supergroup seems to be to explore the concept of 'noise as music' fairly fully, and for the aforementioned Mr White to give an extensive work out to a couple of particularly dissonant guitar effect pedals. Add in the excellent vocal support of Alison Mosshart, who to my mind has some rather stronger songs to deliver here than on recent releases by her main band The Kills, and overall this is an impressive blend of post-punk and blues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jack White, 23 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Of Cowards (Audio CD)
Although Jack has many little projects onat one time, without a dpubt this is a must have for all fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Rock-Blues, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Of Cowards (MP3 Download)
Pared down rock blues, the way only Jack White knows how to do it. And he surrounds himself with equally talented musicians on this CD.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continued Ear-Bending Excellence, 7 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. P. Garland "Beamish" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sea Of Cowards (Audio CD)
I bought 'Sea of Cowards' through Amazon a few days before seeing The Dead Weather at The Roundhouse in their post-Glastonbury whistle-stop tour, having loved loved loved the first album 'Horehound'. I just had time to start absorbing the tracks before the live versions blew away any notion of listening to any other band for the following 3 weeks! In Alison Mosshart, Jack White has found his Muse, a perfect foil to fence and interchange with his own lyrical genius, blending and soaring with and above the excellent Fertita/Lawrence musicianship. Here is a band unfettered by the whim of self-important producers, unaffected by their own ego or the homogenous mass of same-sounding turpitude ushered in by 'r&b' factories for the less-discerning ears of the Cowell era. They are all excellent musicians who interchange effortlessly on stage, and therefore in the studio. They just love doing what they do! Alison Mosshart's stage presence when in this guise is jaw-dropping, the near-equal of JW himself. A no-nonsence approach to 'hit hard & then hit again' track sequences seen previously on Raconteurs' albums is again applied here. Sea of Cowards was continuously on play in my car, in the home and on my Creative Zen (accept no substitute)for at least 3 weeks, and I mean continuous. I even tried to get into other albums, I just could not do it - everything else (except Horehound) seemed just luke-warm for the best part of a month. Favourite tracks? All of them have been in turn (with the possible exclusion of Old Mary - but I still recognise its genius), however the enduring favourites now are 'Hustle & Cuss', 'The Difference Between Us', 'Gasoline' (both of which show Mosshart at her very best)and 'Jawbreaker'. Oh and play it loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 3 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Of Cowards (Audio CD)
Don't think about it too much. Just buy it. Brilliant brilliant brilliant album. It totally rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Album in a long time!, 8 May 2010
By 
Y. Jehan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sea Of Cowards (Audio CD)
Jack White knows how to deliver and with the Dead Weather's second studio creative explosion, the sea of cowards is one of the best sounding/performed/engineered/produced albums in the last decade.
Rarely does an album come where every song blows your mind sends orgasmic tones down your ears.
The bass and drums sound incredible!
Plenty of Moog Little Phatty synthesizer and of course wonderful hammond organ through the Leslie speaker.
This album is 2" 8 track Analog tape and is so phatt on every level. Third Man Studios is the best

Buy this album or the LP, drop the needle on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sea Of Cowards
Sea Of Cowards by The Dead Weather (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews