Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 February 2015
The NEET B-BOX jnr is attractive, feels solid and well-built, and sounds better than you'd expect for its price; noticeably better than any laptops in the house. Not unreasonably, it failed to match our Roberts "Revival" radio, but that costs six times as much. It works perfectly with my Linux laptop (Kubuntu 14.04) using the bluetooth icon in the panel to pair it, then in KDE's System Settings -- Multimedia -- Audio and Video Settings -- Device Preferences making it the preferred option for whichever amongst "Notifications", "Music", "Video", "Communication", "Games" and "Accessibility" is desired. Thereafter, just turn on the NEET, boot up the laptop, connect through the panel's bluetooth icon, and sound will automagically come from the NEET rather than the laptop. I think it's highly likely that the NEET will also work with Unity and GNOME3 desktops under Ubuntu and other up-to-date, Debian-based Linux distributions. Older bluetooth clients, though, don't recognise bluetooth speakers; my wife's MATE desktop (a reboot of the discontinued GNOME2) uses the outdated "mate-bluetooth" which issues a pairing number to enter on the NEET (impossible). The MATE developers are hoping to replace their existing client with "blueman"; this may work better but isn't ready yet. I also tried pairing the NEET with my friend's Apple MacBook Pro running OS X "Mountain Lion" which refused to see it as anything other than mass storage and offered only to browse the device; it's possible that the NEET would work with more recent versions of OS X but I can't confirm this.

UPDATE: I've tried the NEET with two other Linux desktops, Linux Mint's "Cinnamon" and Ubuntu's "Unity", and it works flawlessly with both. It also works perfectly with Apple's mobile iOS platform (on a 2014 iPad Air)

UPDATE 2: The MATE desktop needs the latest "blueman" to pair with the NEET (and with other bluetooth speakers). There's a PPA that works for Ubuntu-MATE 14.04 and other Debian-based distributions:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:cschramm/blueman
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install blueman pulseaudio-module-bluetooth

Audio Sink (A2DP) can now be enabled.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2014
Amazing bit of kit. Build quality is really good, feels nice to hold. Really easy to connect to my iPhone and sounds awesome, much louder than expected. Just as good if not better than the Jawbone Jambox it replaces, but at less than a quarter of the price... You couldn't ask for more.
Highly recommended, going to order a few more for presents.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
This is a good cheap little Bluetooth speaker that does the job it's suposed to do, play your music wirelessly. For the price of this speaker you really can not complain - it is a lot cheaper than most of the other offerings that are available as an option. This one does not have a big name attached to it and would definitely fall behind when it comes to sound quality in comparison to some of the more expensive offerings, but if you simply want to hear things a little louder than this one is for you.

Setting things up is simple, all you do is turn the speaker on and it will then go in to 'pairing' mode. Then you simply find the device on your phone or tablet and connect to it, no password is required and you should be able to connect straight up and be able to play your audio files straight away. It's that simple of a process that I have actually since purchasing given this device to my parents, who are both retired and they are happy to use this device when they are out on walks and days out.

The build quality on this thing is outstanding for its price, and it really does just feel like a little rubber brick that you are using, basically it is solid. The rubber buttons on top also feel good although I left mine on constant full volume so this was not needed for me. It does seem to hold a good charge and I didnt have any situation where it ran out on me before I got a chance to charge it again.

As far as sound quality goes, it definitely not perfect, but it does the job! You are not going to buy a box for this price and expect it to sound as good as an expensive speaker system, it's very likely you need this for travelling etc, and for that it works just fine when you need it, recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
What can I say ? For £23.99 this thing is amazing ! I was kind of expecting it to be 'alright' for a bit of casual listening but it beats that by miles. Stunning value. Short of spending over £100 I doubt you can buy anything that sounds better. And even then, not by much.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
Awesome speaker for the price and size, sound is very clear and full.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2015
Great first impressions; light weight but sturdy, fits easily in your hand, premium feel and looks great. Perfect for traveling or a day at the beach! I found it easy to pair via Bluetooth with my Samsung S5 and PC but cables also included. Great quality sound with no distortion even at high levels, wireless reach brilliant for such a compact device and even reached from my kitchen to my lounge – bearing in mind there is a wall in-between. I would highly recommend this product, speedy delivery and great price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2015
Very impressed with this product and the price. It is identical to the Bolse bluetooth speaker which is being charged at £30.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
Excellent little speaker. For such a small unit, the 12 Watts output is impressive. I've run it off the Aux cable input and Bluetooth. Both work equally impressiveky. Gave it a full charge last week, ran it for around 1.5 hours, havent touched it all week, but on again for the same time period with no issues. Havent had it long, or used it a huge amount, but so far, very promising!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
Neet b box is possibly the best thing l have ever bought its is truley brilliant. The sound quality is fantastic. The versatility of being so portable means you can use it all around the house. No wires. I listen to YouTube quiet alot that's why l bought on the recommendation of a friend. I would recommend it to anyone. Delivered next day via prime time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
Great sound and volume from such a compact, well built little speaker. Bargain price, extremely easy to set up, and I have had no issues with it to date. Don't be fooled into buying the top selling 'Bolse' branded version of this speaker for an extra £9, since the two are identical in every way including the tech spec.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)