Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it
I hadn't read any comics that Sean Murphy had been involved with before, but I picked this up on its premise. And what a premise! Jesus Christ is cloned and reborn on a reality tv program, and turns out to be an atheist!
The comic doesn't disappoint. It tackles the themes of religion, religious fundamentalism, mass media and teenage angst full on, but never goes so...
Published 20 months ago by Marion Cromb

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bit pointless and pretentious
the art work is beautiful and the world he has created is stunning. i just thought the story was a bit linear and i didn't really connect with any of the characters.
Published 15 months ago by James ( i like shiney new things)


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 10 April 2013
By 
Marion Cromb (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Punk Rock Jesus TP (Paperback)
I hadn't read any comics that Sean Murphy had been involved with before, but I picked this up on its premise. And what a premise! Jesus Christ is cloned and reborn on a reality tv program, and turns out to be an atheist!
The comic doesn't disappoint. It tackles the themes of religion, religious fundamentalism, mass media and teenage angst full on, but never goes so far as to be preachy.
Sean Murphy's art is stunning. sketchy and gritty, yet expressive and delicate when it needs to be. The black and white lines give it a real punk vibe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bit pointless and pretentious, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk Rock Jesus TP (Paperback)
the art work is beautiful and the world he has created is stunning. i just thought the story was a bit linear and i didn't really connect with any of the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shawn Murphy rocks with Jesus, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk Rock Jesus TP (Paperback)
This book is definetly worth a try, the storyline is great, very enjoyable, the characters are likable and funny when needed, the art is fantastic, it’s good to look at. I recommend this book to anyone who loves comics or just interested in getting to know the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant concept, somewhat fractured execution, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk Rock Jesus TP (Paperback)
I loved this comic. It's great: the artwork is at once beautiful and gritty, the concept is brutal, challenging and original, and Murphy doesn't shy away from representing the grim extent of our society's dark sides. It's a brave and successful piece of work. I'd recommend it without hesitation to anyone.

However, I've rated it only four stars because there are places I feel let it down. On a very practical level, there were places where the continuity of the panels threw me. Most of Murphy's panels are very clear about when leaps forward in time take place, but there were a few very clunky segways where dialogue seemed to end abruptly and leap forward a few minutes (days?) at a time, and these places disrupted the flow of narrative.

I also found the culmination of the plot a little awkward, and this was for me what let it down. Not the end results, which weren't unexpected, but the execution. Chris's character is built up throughout the chapters but in the end it felt as if he didn't emerge as the man we'd been led to expect. In the end he seemed more headstrong reactionary teenager than a charismatic revolutionary whose decisions were informed by his experiences. Perhaps this was a more accurate portrayal of the product of his awful upbringing, but it lacked the 'larger than life' quality that brings about a really satisfying resolution. In the end he felt more like a sad, screwed up kid who hadn't been able to win against the system. Like I said, perhaps this is what Murphy had been aiming for all along, but it felt to me like just as it was all really going to get started the whole thing was over. Sometimes plots are described as mountains - there's an incline up to a high point and then a drop down the other side - PRJ felt like there was a plummet on the other side. A lot of action with not quite enough resolution.

However, don't let this out you off. Really. The story is brilliant, fast paced and inventive, and it's shortcomings don't detract from its power as a whole. It'll be a joy to see what else Murphy creates in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great read., 11 May 2013
This review is from: Punk Rock Jesus TP (Paperback)
Really enjoyed this.
In the same vein as Brian Wood's channel zero.
Suffers from what I call bad scifi ending.
Great read otherwise.
Very nice artwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stick with it, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk Rock Jesus (Kindle Edition)
A bit of a slow start but some really interesting ideas but some of the main characters took time to flesh out. By the second half of the book I was hooked and it all came together. This book is really something quite special, the art work is also amazing. Go read this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Punk Rock Jesus Deluxe Edition
£10.33
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews