Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful backdrop, a sensational score and a great cast!
I first saw this film at the cinema when it was released in 1982, and it hasn't aged at all.
The cast are fabulous. Peter Ustinov is witty as Hercule Poirot, Maggie Smith is great at the amateur sleuth, Roddy McDowell camps it up in sailor suits, Jane Birkin is the down-trodden wife and Diana Rigg adds the glamour and the bitchiness. The script is full of...
Published on 18 Jun. 2003 by Sarah

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars No Television Movie Can Hope to Match It
AGATHA CHRISTIE’S EVIL UNDER THE SUN, 1982. In this 116 minute, full color, all-star crime/drama/mystery, Christie’s famed Belgian sleuth Hercule Poirot is called in to investigate an important diamond that was purchased for wealthy arrogant actress Arlena Marshall. Unfortunately, she turns up dead while on honeymoon with her new husband and stepdaughter at...
Published 8 months ago by Stephanie De Pue


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful backdrop, a sensational score and a great cast!, 18 Jun. 2003
By 
Sarah (Didcot, Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
I first saw this film at the cinema when it was released in 1982, and it hasn't aged at all.
The cast are fabulous. Peter Ustinov is witty as Hercule Poirot, Maggie Smith is great at the amateur sleuth, Roddy McDowell camps it up in sailor suits, Jane Birkin is the down-trodden wife and Diana Rigg adds the glamour and the bitchiness. The script is full of one-liners which will make you chuckle, and the plot is full of detail. I don't think that you will be disappointed when Hercule Poirot finds his murderer!
The setting is the beautful Balearic island of Mallorca, and the views are stunning. It all looks so peaceful and tranquil - but we know better!!
For me, one of the highlights of the film is the brilliant Cole Porter score. It adds to the tension and the comedy, and really brings the film to life.
I recently saw the David Suchet version of this film on the television, and I was very disappointed. For any Agatha Christie fans, the Peter Ustinov version is the one to see - again and again and again. It will cheer you up on a rainy Sunday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hercule Poirot shows proper swimming techniques, 7 Sept. 2008
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Peter Ustinov as Hercule Poirot is challenged to locate a missing jewel. To do this he must go to a small island. Guess who has a tendency to get seasick? He requests his fee in guineas (a guinea is equivalent of 21 shillings.)

Naturally someone/s is unexplainably dispatched. Of course the island is loaded with the usual suspects. Everyone has a motive and an alibi. By this time you have completely forgotten how the movie started.

Speaking about the movie, they pulled out all the stops with expensive locations, costumes, and actors. And Cole Porter tossed in for ambiance. There was even an appearance of Roddy McDowall who played Alan "Mollymauk" Musgrave in "Lord Love A Duck".

Only Hercule Poirot can figure this out. Naturally Hercule Poirot is in the right place at the right time to hear everything and extract the truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VISUAL TREAT, 2 May 2008
By 
G. Stevens "filmfiend" (london, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I last saw this on a small black and white TV years ago, and this DVD looks stunning. The film quality is very high and the period detail is excellent. (Compare this to 'The mirror Cracke'd-which, though set in 1953, looks like a 1980 TV movie).
The costumes, hair, make-up and sets are superb, and the location shooting (in Majorca) is ravishing.
All of the characters are beautifully portrayed, and although caricatures, are so enjoyably played by excellent actors, and the sparring between Diana Rigg and Maggie Smith is a joy. A special mention to Sylvia Miles and Roddy McDowall. As with several other Agatha Christie stories, the outcome does hang precariously on several situations that could not have been engineered by the culprit with certainty, but just sit back and watch Peter Ustinov do a star turn with a cast ot pro's enjoying themselves immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hercule Poirot shows proper swimming techniques, 7 Sept. 2008
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Peter Ustinov as Hercule Poirot is challenged to locate a missing jewel. To do this he must go to a small island. Guess who has a tendency to get seasick? He requests his fee in guineas (a guinea is equivalent of 21 shillings.)

Naturally someone/s is unexplainably dispatched. Of course the island is loaded with the usual suspects. Everyone has a motive and an alibi. By this time you have completely forgotten how the movie started.

Speaking about the movie, they pulled out all the stops with expensive locations, costumes, and actors. And Cole Porter tossed in for ambiance. There was even an appearance of Roddy McDowall who played Alan "Mollymauk" Musgrave in "Lord Love A Duck".

Only Hercule Poirot can figure this out. Naturally Hercule Poirot is in the right place at the right time to hear everything and extract the truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best in the Poirot series, 16 July 2009
By 
Stefan Martin "Blue silver" (vilvoorde Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Evil under the sun is the best film in the line of Hercule poirot.
It has a specail atmosphere compared to other movies like Death on the Nile and murder on the orient express.There is some very strong acting by Sir Peter Ustinov and Jane Birkin.But it's not only these two actors but the rest of the cast is very very strong in my opinion.
It's a typical Agatha Christie story with a very smooth plot.
I can recomend this movie to everybody who is a fan of Agatha Christie's work and in special for those who like Poirot.
And remember, there is allways evil under the sun!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film that's 'of its time', but always good to watch on a rainy afternoon!, 25 Dec. 2013
By 
Jersey Customer (Jersey, Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The 70s and early 80s attempts to bring Miss Marple, and Poirot, to the big screen were somewhat hit and miss, but some of them were very enjoyable nonetheless, and I enjoy watching them when I have an afternoon to fill and there's nothing much on TV! Peter Ustinov is so different from David Suchet, of course, but very entertaining even if completely at odds with the more recent portrayals! The film is full of big names, it really is 'spot the star', and the stars to come. Angela Lansbury is doing her 'young, but playing much older' thing again here (as she did as Miss Marple in 'The Mirror Crack'd') and David Niven is wonderfully dapper. Yes, the film is long, and a great deal of it taken up with the 'alternative versions of events', but nonetheless it's an enjoyable addition to the series of films based on Agatha Christie's books which were made at the time, and sits well alongside 'The Mirror Crack'd', 'Evil Under the Sun' and 'Murder on the Orient Express'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Rigged in this Christie adaptation., 18 Nov. 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Evil Under the Sun is directed by Guy Hamilton and adapted to screenplay by Anthony Shaffer and Barry Sandler from the Agatha Christie novel of the same name. It stars Peter Ustinov, James Mason, Maggie Smith, Nicholas Clay, Jane Birkin, Colin Blakely, Sylvia Miles, Denis Quilley, Roddy McDowall, Diana Rigg and Emily Hone. Music is scored by Cole Porter and cinematography by Christopher Challis.

When a flighty lady is found murdered on a Mediterranean island, famous Belgian detective Hercule Poirot takes up the case...

Coming late in the day as part of the big star ensemble Christie adaptations to screen that were very popular in the 70s and 80s, Evil Under the Sun doesn't break the mould. Structure is exactly the same as the others, where first is character introductions and getting to know them, then the crime and the subsequent questioning and delving by the detective, and on to the finale where super sleuth assembles all the cast to finger the culprit. Hooray!

There's not much to dislike here, it's a splendid cast list headed by the wonderful Ustinov as the mercurial Poirot, visually it's pretty, almost as pretty as the rather delectable Diana Rigg in fact, and it's great fun to try and do your own bit of detective work; which morphs into annoyance when failing to see what Poirot did!

Minor irks are that it goes on for too long before the murder occurs, and there's an over reliance on humour, that whilst fun, tends to detract from the suspenseful mystery waiting to be unravelled in the latter stages of the piece.

Far from perfect but its faults are unassuming, it's safe and enjoyable entertainment for a rainy day. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous setting and ensembles!, 26 Oct. 2010
This was a favourite film of mine which I saw several times whilst growing up, and I decided to finally buy my own copy. Although the plot and lines are now far too well memorised, I still enjoy every watch. For me, the scenery is the main pull of this film. The locations they chose work wonderfully and the makers managed to pull them together well, despite them being spread across the island. Then, the costumes; Diana Rigg in particular has some stunning vintage gowns and beach-wear. A mention for the musical score is also necessary - as it helps to depict the era fabulously well - who can forget the orchestral climax at the end, as the accused descend the stairway in style!?! And then my favourite line 'your ensemble does absolutely nothing for you'. TRULLY FAB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding adaptation, 28 Aug. 2011
Departing in a number of respects from Christie's script, this adaptation is outstanding. The film has translocated the setting from Devon to the Mediterranean, providing a context that is exotic, and deceptively idyllic. Compared with the book, the annoying attributes of the characters are exaggerated, but on the whole, the casting maintains a succesful balance between entertainment and gravity.

The strongest performance is no doubt from Ustinov himself. Whilst maintaining humour and charm throughout the film, his deduction is delivered with such suspense and masterful timing that it's almost possible to overlook its heavily reliance on conjecture and coincidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evil Under the sun with Peter Ustinov, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great version of Evil under the Sun! The music, fashion, actors and the story all goes to make one of my favourite versions of the Agatha Christie story. Its set in the Mediterranean, in 1920/30's so probably in the true period the story was written.

Its got a big cast with Poirot played by Peter Ustinov and then other great actors like Diana Rigg, Maggie Smith and many more......

This is what I'd class as wet weather watching, where you just fancy drifting off in to easy watching, but a great story with a good twist at the end, as per all Agatha Christie stories! If you're an Agatha Christie fan.... you'd love this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evil Under the Sun
Evil Under the Sun by Guy Hamilton
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews