Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars32
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2001
This is a great album with a brilliant blend of Hip-Hop & Rock. The Hip-Hop side of things, The Skulls disc, isn't as good as Black Sunday or Cypress Hill but the Bones disc is unbeatable. Although the raps are still good, the beats aren't at their best. "Cuban Necktie" and "We Live This Shit" are the best on the Skulls disc and "Stank Ass Hoe" is amusing but the others aren't as good as previous records. The Bones disc makes it a 5 star album though. The 6 rock/metal tracks are brilliant B-Real & Sen Dog make very convincing metallers with each having a solo track, B-Real's "Get Out Of My Head" and Sen Dog's "A Man", Sen Dogs other band SX-10 provide excellent guitars with a guest appearance by Rage Against The Machine's Brad Wilk on drums for "Can't Get The Best Of Me". "(Rock)Superstar" probably beats "(Rap)Superstar" with Sen Dog getting a turn on this version. This is a must buy for any Hip-Hop or Rock fan and especially for any Cypress Hill fan. If you like this try out any Rage Against The Machine album and Cypress Hill - Live At The Fillmore.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2006
right then a double album where the two discs reflect the different styles that the guys want to play. good idea but does it work? well um yes very well you dont get the mixture and variety vibe like you did on iv but instead you get to shake your ass to top drawer hip hop on the skull disc and bang your head to metal on the bones disc. the best bit is the sheer fact that it seems like the boys are showing off by doing hip hop thats as good as ever and then teaching the nu-metal boys a lesson by writing hip hop/metal songs that easily outstrip the childish fumblings of limp bizkit and linkin park. bizkit and park wish they had a song half as good as rock superstar and the sister song rap superstar leaves the gangsta competition looking like chumps too. mission achieved guys you rock in every sense of the word.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2001
This is a good double album with some amazing tracks. The rap CD is good old Hill at its best a little bit older a little bit wiser and adding a new fresh sound to the hills beats. The Rock/Metal album just blows you away with proper hardcore rock music that will satisfy any metal head Even my mate Chris likes it and he hats all rap music. So buy it and then buy black sunday the pair cover the hill perfectly
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2012
This was the album that Cypress Hill needed, after a couple of poor albums and only a few hit singles ('Dr Greenthumb') they needed to go back to what made them so good on Cypress Hill and Black Sunday. Skull & Bones does this perfectly, the album kick starts with 'Another Victory' and '(Rap) Superstar' both show-casing B-Real's highly intelligent and pure rapping abilites, the album continues on with fantastic production from DJ Muggs (see 'Certified Bomb') and solid and precise rapping from Sen-Dog as well. After this they stepped their game up to show that they are still a force to be reckoned with in the world of Hip Hop. The only downside is disc 2 Bones, Hill attempt Nu-metal and make a hell of a track with '(Rock) Superstar' but it just doesn't fit their style. They are rap superstars not rock superstars. Apart from that I would highly recommend this to any Cypress Hill fan, but if you are just starting out with this to this band check out their first and second album, both essentials of Hip Hop.
Best Track: (Rap) Superstar
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2000
This CD is a classic! From the first track, 'Another Victory' it is easy to see my point. The beats are sharp edged, and the rhyming is fast and clever making this one of the best tracks on the first CD. The inclusion of another CD in this album gives a different direction to Cypress Hill's music. The 2nd CD features heavily with guitars, taking the band into the area of the Rap/Rock combo. The songs on this CD are again, sharp, mixing classic hip hop riffs with distorted guitars. Although there are only 7 tracks on this CD, opposed to the 11 on the first CD, it is still a worthy addition to Cypress Hill's music, and their collection of albums, and will surely make their ever growing fan base grow even larger. This CD rocks, go buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2001
k, so i don't exactly have the hugest knowledge of rap music in hte world.. but this album is excellent!!... i'd completely reccommend it to both rap and metal fans... The skull disc of the album is probably the best thing that the band have done since 'Black Sunday'.. featuring guest rappers such as Eminem... stand out tracks on this disc are '(Rap) Superstar', 'Highlife' and 'Can i get a hit'... the bones disc of this album sucessfully combines rap and metal in a hardcore kinda way.. there is no stand out tracks on this cd.. all the tracks are completely amazing! this album features guest apperances from Fear Factory guitarists and DJ Mugg's Soul Assassins and also the vocals of Chino...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2000
The new rock rap that they did made me buy it and I am damn happy i did. The BONES CD is absoulutly brilliant. Tracks like A MAN and Dust and absolutly f*****g amazing. It's so aggressive and powerful these tracks can really blow u away. It sounds like they're jamming, but the lyrics flow so well. And with other songs like YOU CAN'T GET THE BEST OF ME and ROCK SUPERSTAR this CD would make a brilliant album on it's own. And the SKULL CD is worth buying purely for HIGHLIFE, it's such a chilled rap tune - it's a classic. Just but it, I've had 6 mates listen to it and then buy it. It really is amazing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2000
This ablum mixes a blend of hot hip hop tunes on the Skull disk with heavy rock beats on the Bones disk. The lyrics are smooth and new, and with the risk of sounding like a English teacher 'flowing'. Everything on the album sounds new and fresh. The top tracks are Rock/Rap Superstar and Cant get the best of me...the singles, but dont let that put that put you off, its still good for the music it is. The only fault would be that the MC's voice can become a little annoying but it still rocks. I'll give it a top 4 star.(Runti-Bunti)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2000
This album is truly amazing! It brings to life many aspects which other people manage to overlook, with fantastic lyrics and excellent sounds this album rules! My favourite tracks on the album are "Wanna Be A Rock Superstar" and "Certified Bomb." This album is da best you hear! If you haven't got it you don't know what you're missing! Buy it now, you get two cds with excellent tracks on each for the price of one! It is definitely worth it! I think it is one of the best rap albums in the world!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2000
A friend of mine recommended me to buy this album and wow! I have not regretted it! It is a superb mux of rap and metal. The Skull disc is full of the usual excellent Cypress hill rap, but switch over to the Bones CD and you get a blast of a fantastic switch of metal with the Cypress Hill rap! Fantastic! Worth is for the "Get out of my Head" track alone, but other tracks that stand out are "(Rap) Superstar" and "(Rock) Superstar" but all tracks rock! Great stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.