Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ruth Rendell but not quite as we know and expect her to be
Ruth Rendell has a long and distinguished career as a crime novelist, both of a series involving an ongoing inspector (Wexford) and as a crime writer of standalone books, without and ongoing investigator, And then there is her writing using another name, Barbara Vine. The Vine books (which generally prefer) are rather darker and rather more devoted to complex subterranean...
Published 8 months ago by Lady Fancifull

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this book and it did hold me to the ...
I enjoyed this book and it did hold me to the end, but it's not quite what you might expect from Ruth Rendell. It's not a 'whodunnit?' and so has none of the thrill of working out who the murderer is, or solving a mystery. You know from the start who the guilty party is, so you're left with a slightly curious tale about a group of ageing individuals thrown together, who...
Published 10 months ago by FM


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ruth Rendell but not quite as we know and expect her to be, 13 Nov. 2014
By 
Ruth Rendell has a long and distinguished career as a crime novelist, both of a series involving an ongoing inspector (Wexford) and as a crime writer of standalone books, without and ongoing investigator, And then there is her writing using another name, Barbara Vine. The Vine books (which generally prefer) are rather darker and rather more devoted to complex subterranean psychology. It could be said they are really psychological thrillers.

Curiously, Rendell's latest `Barbara Vine' did not quite `bite' with me the way she usually does.

This latest Rendell is also not quite expected Rendell. For those expecting a crime, and an investigation to unmask the perpetrator it will come as a bit of a surprise to find the crime, and the perpetrator, and indeed the motive, are all explained in the blurb.

In the 40s, a man murders his wife and her lover, does a bit of dismemberment and buries their hands in a biscuit tin. (he saw them holding hands, when he came home unexpectedly, which alerted him to what was going on). Local children, including his son, play in the tunnels in semi-rural Loughton (as it was then) The tunnels will serve as a hiding place for the hands

Jumping forward more than 60 years the community of children have gone their ways, though some have kept in contact. Their lives begin to connect again when building development work uncovers the hands and the tin, and a half-hearted cold cases enquiry begins. Half-hearted as it is pretty obvious that whoever did the deed, and on whom, is most likely to be dead. The children who played in the tunnels are either themselves dead or in their seventies and more.

What the `crime hook' does to is to reunite a group of very different elderly people, and `the hands' are what connects their lives together again, whether they directly affected some of the major players at the time (for example the murderer's son) or later, as the various at the time mysteries begin to be remembered and picked over.

What the book is really about is the passage of time, and, particularly, a look at the loves, lives and losses of a group of elderly people.

There are some things which are clearly `devices' and don't quite work - for example, the very burial of those hands, and the comparative ease with which the murderer got away with his murders, but I did get interested in the lives of the elderly group.

The exploration of the long uncoupling of marriages, and the enduring potency of first love, and, yes, the existence of sexuality and passionate feelings in a group of people whom most of us might think are `past it' proved more absorbing than I might have supposed.

I received this as a review copy from the publishers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where shall Wisdom be found?, 29 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Next Door (Hardcover)
Not among those old enough to have accumulated some.
It is very daring to begin a novel with an unlikeable protagonist. We are lead to believe that this terrible person is to be the main character, and most readers prefer to be able to identify to some extent with the protagonist.
Luckily this psychopatic person leaves the scene, and keeps in the background from then on.
It is a geriatric novel, no doubt about it. All the characters from the first chapters are suddenly old, and in their twilight years.
As often is the case in crime fiction, the solving of a crime has more implications for a wider circle of people, and even between these old folks, feelings and emotions are stirred, and shaken.
After the unraveling of the crime which took place during ww||, the lives of the now very old group of people will not be the same again.
Ruth Rendell has done it again with the enthusiasm we have become used to expect from her.

People may look old on the outside, but the inside may still react in an unexpected and surprising way.

Bodil Marie - Keeping her Wits about Her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Girl Next Door, 15 Aug. 2014
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This novel, more literary than traditional crime fiction, veers between the present and the past. During the Second World War a group of children in Loughton, Essex, played together in some underground tunnels they found and renamed ‘the qanats.’ Nobody really remembers why, but time has passed and the group of children have grown up, grown old and, mostly, dispersed. However, the discovery of a pair of severed hands, buried in a biscuit tin so long ago, now brings many of those who played there so long ago back together again. Daphne Jones, three times married and still glamorous, Michael Winwood, whose father chased them from the tunnels and Lewis Newman, both now widowed, childhood sweethearts Alan Norris and Rosemary Wharton and the Batchelors – of whom George, Stanley and Norman are still alive.

The police are asked to investigate the crime – of which the reader is already aware of both victims and murderer . However, this book is more about the impact of the discovery and of unearthing old memories on those involved. In many ways this is a poignant and touching read – of both how age limits and frees us. It reunites old lovers, wreaks huge changes and forces people to confront their loss and childhood traumas. Ruth Rendell manages to make all the characters sympathetic, so you really care about what happens to them. Despite the length of time between the crime and the investigation, making even the police involved cynical about finding a conclusion, there is little doubt that confronting what happened at that time will help solve unanswered questions, make some characters doubt the way they are living their lives and, in some cases, make enormous changes. I really enjoyed this novel, even though it was not a traditional ‘whodunnit’ and it made me question why I have not read more of Ruth Rendell’s novels. Luckily, that is something I can, and do, intend to rectify. Lastly, I received a copy of this book from the publishers, via NetGalley, for review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ruth Rendell the Queen of Crime, 14 Aug. 2014
By 
C. Bannister (Jersey, CI) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
At the beginning of this book we meet the murderer, we know one of the victims and we also know why the murder was committed. I found the character of the murderer and his victim the sketchiest of all, he seemed a little one dimensional but the story soon flips to the discovery of the hands in a biscuit tin found seventy years later.

The story almost appears to change genre with the discovery as we meet the now elderly characters who at the time of the murder were young children living in the area. These children had played in foundations of an unbuilt house inventing games under the ground. The story then concentrates on these characters as some of them meet after many years apart to help the police investigating (unwillingly) the provenance of the hands. These meetings have consequences that couldn’t have been foreseen as in the last years of their lives each of the characters have different challenges to face.

Ruth Rendell does what she does best, she examines the motives of these people making the subtle point that even in old age, people make mistakes, they still learn things about themselves and they can change the way they behave. There are some lovely people including the dear Mrs Moss who used to clean for the murderer as well as the misguided and the downright rotten.

The descriptions of Loughton bought the place to life and the plot was well executed although I found that in parts the looking back at how people said things a little repetitive at times but it did underline the enormous changes that someone in their late seventies would have seen over their lifetime.

I enjoyed this book although it wasn’t quite what I expected but it was less entertaining for that.
I’d like to thank the publishers, Random House, who gave me a copy of this book to review ahead of the publication date of 14 August 2014
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Girl Next Door, 17 Aug. 2014
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The reader knows who has committed the murder from the start of this well written crime novel so it isn't a traditional 'who done it' and there is very little input from the police investigating the crime at a later date. The book primarily concerns a group of friends who were children at the time of the murder - near the end of World War II - and how the discovery of two severed hands in a biscuit tin sixty years later affects them.

It is fairly obvious who one of the hands belongs to but the reader must wait until almost the end of the book to find out who is the other victim. I thought the characters were well developed and the author paints a vivid picture of their lives as adults. I thought it was interesting how the dynamics between the group changed and developed as the discovery of the hands leads to them talking about what happened that Summer when the murders probably took place.

If you're looking for a conventional crime novel then this may not be for you but if you're looking for an excellent novel about how people change - and don't change - during their lifetime then this may be of interest to you. Whether or not you enjoy crime novels this is worth reading for its development of character and the way small events can have huge repercussions at the time as well as many years later. I received a free copy of this book for review purposes from NetGalley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and satisfying, 18 Aug. 2014
By 
J. H. Bretts "jerard1" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Girl Next Door (Hardcover)
A horrific find in modern-day Essex:the remains of two severed hands dating back from the 1940s...

This is the first book I have read by Ruth Rendall and I am very impressed on a number of fronts. Firstly, although you know who the murderer is right from the start, plus their motivation, Rendall has created such an interesting group of characters and situations that you have to keep reading to the end. Secondly, the focus of the story is largely on old people and their struggles, and Rendall seems to understand them so well, which is rare in modern English fiction. Thirdly, although you know a lot right from the beginning, there are still plenty of surprises to build to a very satisfying denouement in the final chapters. When I finished it I went straight onto an earlier novel by Rendall, the classic Kissing the Gunner's Daughter. This is just as good in its own way. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 65 and going strong, 16 Aug. 2014
By 
This review is from: The Girl Next Door (Hardcover)
SOME of us have spent the best part of 50 years working on that one great novel that will make us a mint and buy us a Marbella apartment. In that time, crime queen Ruth Rendell has knocked out 65 – and this latest one is every bit as good as her first, the highly collectable From Doon With Death, way back in 1964.

She’s famous for her Sussex-based Inspector Wexford stories, which started her career, but this book’s set in Essex, close to her actual childhood stomping ground.

It kicks off in wartime with kids larking about in tunnels under a house. These are important. It’s where a complete and utter psycho places a biscuit tin containing the hands of his wife and her fancy man after he’s topped them. He sets about burning all the rest of the evidence but he’s spotted by one of the kids – who keeps what she’s seen to herself for 70-odd years.

Here in the present day builders come across the tin with its grim contents and call in the rozzers. The news brings together the bunch of now OAPs who played there as kids and could now help the probe. Through them we learn a whole lot more than whodunnit. We get to know what time does to memories, to relationships, to the world around us, to our minds.
That’s because Rendell’s always been damn good at getting us inside the heads of her characters – how they think despite the way they act and look – and by extention, ourselves, if we cared to probe harder.

Given she’s in her ninth decade she’d be forgiven for churning out a bog standard mystery, yet The Girl Next Door comes across as insightful, fresh, new and terrifying as anything else around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Octogenarian soap opera, 5 Nov. 2014
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This can only be described as a crime novel in the very loosest sense: in the opening chapter set in the early 1940s a man murders two people before burying their hands in a spot where children played. Now 60-70 years later, those children are all in their 70s and 80s - and it's their stories that we follow.

As other reviewers have said, Rendell seems torn about how to portray her octogenarian cast: sometimes they're made out to be lost in the past, barely understanding what email is, fretting about young people 'living in sin' and insisting on running up new clothes on a sewing machine... yet at other times they're romping in and out of each others' beds, walking out of marriages and forming new romantic alliances. The girl who was a femme fatale in her teens is, apparently, still one in her 80s.

There is barely any tension in the story and it's difficult at first to separate the characters as they don't have much, um, character. And yet, for all the niggles, I found this oddly compelling as a read. If you come to this expecting a crime novel you might well be disappointed. Better, perhaps, to treat this as a soap opera filled with over-70s: easy reading that somehow still seems to grip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this book and it did hold me to the ..., 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book and it did hold me to the end, but it's not quite what you might expect from Ruth Rendell. It's not a 'whodunnit?' and so has none of the thrill of working out who the murderer is, or solving a mystery. You know from the start who the guilty party is, so you're left with a slightly curious tale about a group of ageing individuals thrown together, who have not been in much contact with each other since childhood. The characterisation is good, as you might expect, it is both sad and funny in places, and there's enough 'what will happen?' to keep you reading to the end. But it's more a tale of various personalities interacting, reflecting on what they want in life and in some cases acting in ways no-one expects, rather than being one of the mysteries for which Ruth Rendell is famous. I hoped for a classic mystery, so while I enjoyed it, I was left feeling slightly disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Girl Next Door, 14 Aug. 2014
By 
Susie B - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Girl Next Door (Hardcover)
No Spoilers.

We know right from the outset of Ruth Rendell's latest novel who the murderer is, and we also know who one of his victims is, so this story is not a 'whodunnit' and, interestingly, it's not really an investigation into why the deed was committed either. In 1944, John Winwood, a very attractive man, was married to the equally attractive red-haired Anita. When he discovered his wife was having an affair, John killed her and her lover and severed one of each of his victim's hands. He secreted the hands in a biscuit tin and hid the tin in the foundations of a house not yet built, then managed to dispose of the bodies without, it first appears, any witnesses to the disposal. (No spoilers, we learn all of this and more in the first chapter of the novel). Before John Winwood buried the tin in the foundations of the building, the tunnels of earth which made up the foundations had been discovered by his son, Michael, and by Daphne, the girl next door, and a group of their friends, who had been playing in the tunnels and using them as a secret den.

Almost seventy years later, developers excavating the area find the tin box containing the two skeletal hands, and when the police officer on the case is contacted by one of the children - now in their seventies - the group is brought together in an unconventional reunion, where they discuss the gruesome discovery and wonder who the victims are. At this reunion are widower Michael Winwood (whose father, John, at almost 100 years old is still alive and living in a very expensive rest home); George Batchelor and his wife Maureen; George's two brothers; attractive divorcee Daphne; and Alan, who has been married for fifty years to the rather dull and homely Rosemary. When Alan meets Daphne, whom he has not seen for decades, and with whom he once had a passionate affair, a whole chain of events is set in motion - but what about the murders? Do the police and our group of septuagenarians finally discover who committed the murders and placed the severed hands in the tin? Obviously I have to leave that for prospective readers to discover for themselves.

As commented previously, this novel is not a conventional 'whodunnit' and although John Winwood could be described as a psychopath, it's not really a Ruth Rendell/Barbara Vine psychological suspense thriller either. After a stark description of the calculated murders, the author focuses on the members of the group and how the discovery affects them; the story also examines how the relentless march of time has encroached upon the 'children' of the tunnels - there is constant mention of how things have changed for our group of seventy-somethings, how they struggle to be politically correct, how many of the expressions they use are now out-dated, how society and morals have changed and - particularly in one character's case - how time is running out and whether one should grasp at a chance of happiness before it is too late. It's also about being careful what you wish for. And then there is Michael, a true victim of his father's neglect, who was brought up by his aunt Zoe, and who when he visits his father in his rest home (where John has a copy of Durer's 'Praying Hands' in his room) is told: "I never liked you. I never liked your mother either." But it is Daphne's history that is the most shocking - and the author has delivered a rather bold twist in her tale, with a revelation that will surprise many of her readers. So, in summary, although this book was not quite what I was expecting, and a large amount of the narrative focused rather heavily on how the world had changed for her septuagenarian cast, I was pulled into this story from the first pages and despite it not being my favourite of the author's many excellent novels, I was certainly interested and involved enough to take time out to read the whole book in one sitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews