Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The 'Amazing' Era of Spider-Man Continues
Spider-Man is back!

In 2012, 'The Amazing Spider-Man' became an 'amazing' success. Everybody warmed to this new version of Spider-Man, even though it wasn't Tobey Maguire. It was an inevitable that a sequel would come after the success of 'The Amazing Spider-Man' and how right I was.

'The Amazing Spider-Man 2' was released in 2014. The film stars...
Published 8 months ago by Tim Bradley

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Passable Blockbuster Which Fails to Captivate
Andrew Garfield plays the eponymous Spider-Man, a superhero who keeps the folks of New York City safe from an assortment of genetically mutated anti-heroes. His everyday alter-ego is Peter Parker, a struggling photographer.
Jamie Foxx plays Max Bryan, a research technician and uber-nerd who works for Oscorp. Oscorp lead the way with research into electro-magnetic...
Published 1 month ago by Bill


‹ Previous | 1 273 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The 'Amazing' Era of Spider-Man Continues, 30 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Spider-Man is back!

In 2012, 'The Amazing Spider-Man' became an 'amazing' success. Everybody warmed to this new version of Spider-Man, even though it wasn't Tobey Maguire. It was an inevitable that a sequel would come after the success of 'The Amazing Spider-Man' and how right I was.

'The Amazing Spider-Man 2' was released in 2014. The film stars Andrew Garfield as Peter Parker/Spider-Man with Emma Stone as Gwen and Sally Field as Aunt May. It also stars Jamie Foxx as Electro/Max Dillon and Dane DeHann as Harry Osborn/The Green Goblin.

I enjoyed watching this second film of the Andrew Garfield era in the cinemas with my best friend from school and then with my parents. I wouldn't claim it to be the best Spidey film I've seen and I have mixed feelings about it and feel that it could have been better.

Like the first film, 'The Amazing Spider-Man 2' derives from the modern day comics. There were changes made to characters. The story became more about OsCorp and its mysteries and Peter discovering more about his family history than focusing on his ordinary life.

Peter Parker is currently enjoying his life as Spider-Man and has managed to find a balance in his two lives. Pretty soon, Peter has a lot to contend with. As well as his relationship with Gwen; he has a new foe called Electro and dealing with his old friend Harry Osborn.

Spidey's costume has changed since last time. He matches exactly how he looks in the comics and in the original 'Spider-Man' films with white eye-patches and blue and red spandex suit. This pleased me as I love the original costume and wasn't keen on the previous look.

Andrew Garfield returns as Peter Parker/Spider-Man. I enjoyed watching Andrew with his sense of humour and his serious side. I like how he interacts with Gwen; Aunt May; Harry and Max Dillon, and the action sequences he does as Spider-Man are truly spectacular.

Emma Stone returns as Gwen Stacey. Both Peter and Gwen form a romantic relationship and seem blissfully unaware of the dangers surrounding them. Peter keeps seeing Gwen's father (Denis Leary) as a ghost reminding him of the danger he's putting Gwen in.

The villain is Jamie Foxx as Electro/Max Dillon. Max is an electrical engineer who works at OsCorp Industries before transforming into Electro an electrical accident. I like Electro's look in the movie, and how he is a living conductor of electricity and causing havoc in the city.

Dane DeHaan plays Harry Osborn. I found Dane's interpretation of Harry interesting as he does a completely different version of the character making him bitter. An interesting twist is made here, as Harry becomes the Green Goblin in this movie instead of his father.

Sally Field returns as Aunt May. Aunt May constantly dotes on Peter whenever he's home and shows concern for him. I found the scene funny when he's hiding under the bed clothes and she notices how filthy his face is; and also when they're fighting over the laundry.

Campbell Scott and Embeth Davidtz return as Richard and Mary Parker, Peter's parents. The film opens with a prologue that is similar to first film, although it's taken from Richard and Mary's point of view instead of Peter's and what happened to them with their plane crash.

J. Jonah Jameson still doesn't appear in these Spider-Man movies, which is a shame. But we do get Peter receiving e-mails from Jameson when sending photos of Spidey to him at the Bugle.

Marc Webb returns to direct 'The Amazing Spider-Man 2'. Marc does a fantastic job capturing the action of Spider-Man in this movie as he did with the previous film.

The set design and location work is equally good as we get to see more of OsCorp and the city of New York is used well for Spidey swinging action scenes.

The visual effects are really impressive and I'm immensely pleased with how they've done Electro with his make-up and CGI effects.

Without giving too much away, the movie ends on a rather sad note. I was wondering how the story would continue and the movie ends on a conclusion that looks to the future and the continuation of the series, as there were hints of things to come like the Sinister Six.

Sadly, I've discovered recently that 'The Amazing Spider-Man' series has been cancelled and that there aren't going to be any more movies with Andrew Garfield. This is a real shame I've enjoyed Andrew Garfield's era of 'Spider-Man' and feel that it's been short-lived.

I enjoyed watching 'The Amazing Spider-Man 2'. It's not the greatest 'Spider-Man' film I've seen but it was good to watch. There are things about which I felt could have been better such as Peter's life as a person; the villains and the film ending on a sad note.

The DVD special features are as follows. There's a special short advertising video of 'Worldwide Orphans' that features Andrew Garfield visiting a class of school-kids. There's also a trailer for 'The Amazing Spider-Man'.

There's a filmmakers commentary; deleted and extended scenes; a music video of 'It's On Again' by Alicia Keys from 'The Amazing Spider-Man 2' CD. There are also previews of other movies on this DVD. For more DVD extras, see the Blu-ray version of this movie.

I wish there is 'The Amazing Spider-Man 3'. But we can all imagine it in our hopes and dreams...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I HAD A FRIEND ONCE. IT DIDN'T WORK OUT, 2 May 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Every super hero needs a super villain. This episode introduces us to Electro (Jamie Foxx) and the Green Goblin (Dane DeHaan). If that wasn't enough Peter (Andrew Garfield) must deal with his on again/off again relationship with Gwen Stacy (Emma Stone) and he discovers the truth about his father (Campbell Scott) and Oscorp.

I love these modern superhero blockbuster updates. Rest assure, that is not how Pu-238 is transported...but it makes good cinema.

I will also say I disapprove of the ending, but I'll get over it. The film contains drama and heart as well as good action scenes. In fact if anything, Spiderman was able to take care of his foes a little too easy.

The film sets up for a crazy action sequel. Break out the popcorn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Passable Blockbuster Which Fails to Captivate, 23 May 2015
By 
Bill (England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Andrew Garfield plays the eponymous Spider-Man, a superhero who keeps the folks of New York City safe from an assortment of genetically mutated anti-heroes. His everyday alter-ego is Peter Parker, a struggling photographer.
Jamie Foxx plays Max Bryan, a research technician and uber-nerd who works for Oscorp. Oscorp lead the way with research into electro-magnetic power. Max gets involved in an industrial accident, ending up in a tank of electric eels, who bite him countless times. He transmogrifies into Electro, a creature who can use electro-magnetic power to devastating effect.
Emma Stone plays Gwen Stacey, Spidey's on off girlfriend, in a rather understated role.
Dane Dehann, in the standout performance of the movie, plays Harry Osborne, the twenty year old sole beneficiary of his late father's business Oscorp, a two hundred billion dollar organisation. Due to genetic mutation he's also the Green Goblin, another arch-villain bent on bringing Manhattan to its knees.
The film starts with a thrilling opening ten minute sequence on a plunging aircraft. It then goes straight into an equally thrilling ten minute segment through the streets of lower Manhattan, as Spider-Man tries to halt a robbery of plutonium. I haven't seen so many cars destroyed since The Blues Brothers, nor a truck cause so much damage since the opening scene in Beverly Hills Cop - The Blues Brothers [Blu-ray] [Region Free], Beverly Hills Cop: Triple Feature [Blu-ray].
Unfortunately, having provided the viewer with this visceral excitement in the first twenty minutes, the film then has a soporific effect for the next hour or so, as the focus turns to Spidey's will he won't he romance with Gwen. It doesn't really work, because Peter Parker's character is quite anodyne, and he doesn't have any convincing chemistry with Gwen. Tobey Maguire and Kirsten Dunst had a far more engaging and credible chemistry in the previous franchise of Spidey movies.
The film also suffers badly from the lack of a comedic element. In the Maguire/Dunst films, the wit was provided by Peter Parker's riotous newspaper boss J. Jonah Jameson, a larger than life workplace bully played with great gusto by J. K. Simmons, who lit up the screen every time he appeared. In this movie, there's not much respite from the vaguely dreary romantic meanderings of Peter and Gwen - the film really needed a clownish figure to raise a chuckle or two.
Electro is a bland super-villain. Jamie Foxx is a great actor, but he's largely wasted in this role. Alfred Molina's Dr Octopus in the earlier Spider-Man 2 was vastly more charismatic and interesting. Here, Electro is a poor man's version of Julian McMahon's Dr Doom in the Fantastic Four movies - Fantastic Four / Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer Double Pack [Blu-ray].
Harry Osborne was potentially the most interesting character in the film, excellently portrayed by Dane Dehann, but he's badly underused.
If you're going to have a romance as a central element of a super-hero movie, the key is to make sure that the couple sizzle on screen - Maguire and Dunst managed it in the earlier Spider-Man movies, so too did Christopher Reeve and Margot Kidder in Superman - The Superman 5 Film Collection 1978-2006 [Blu-ray] [1978] [Region Free]. Sadly, Garfield and Stone fail to ignite. They'd have been more believable as a brother and sister.
I don't think that this blockbuster pic is a good buy on Blu-Ray. The 90 minute middle section is a bit like wading through treacle and it wouldn't bear repeat viewings. The original Spider-Man trilogy is significantly more engaging and enjoyable - Spider-Man Trilogy [Blu-ray] [Region Free]. The film does liven up in the last half hour, but it was quite a struggle for me to stick with it for that long.
If you haven't already seen Kick-Ass and Kick-Ass 2, I recommend that you do so - those two movies are vastly more effective than this tepid reboot of the wonderful Spider-Man - Kick-Ass/Kick-Ass 2 [Blu-ray] [Region Free].
Thank you for taking the time to read this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'GREAT VISUAL TREAT', 1 Sept. 2014
By 
rbmusicman/and/movie-fan' (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This 'Marvel' adventure has certainly generated mixed opinions from reviewers and critic's alike,
myself, i love the visual technology this type of movie brings to the screen.
'New York's' citizens are going to need protection from the villains that are soon to threaten the
city.
'Peter Parker' - 'Spider-man' (Andrew Garfield) finds it difficult being both Hero and giving family
and Girlfriend 'Gwen' (Emma Stone) the time and attention they deserve.
As Spider-man, Peter is soon to face perhaps his most formidable enemy to date, an enemy that
is far more powerful that himself.
Old Friend 'Harry Osborn'(Dane Dehaan) has returned taking over the Osborn Empire 'Oscorp' in
the wake of his fathers death.
'Spider-man's' biggest fan 'Max Dillon' (Jamie Foxx) an electric-wiz has suffered an accident whilst
trying to repair a fault at 'Oscorp' which has given him electronic power he's yet to harness...he has
become 'Electro' 'Spider-Man' tries to help.
Meanwhile 'Harry' who is dying believes blood from Spider-Man could save him, this he is telling to
old friend 'Peter' who promises to try and ask Spider-Man for his help.
Meanwhile at the secret 'Ravencourt' site, owned by 'Oscorp' the operatives are trying to turn 'Max'
into a Weapon to control to do their bidding.
'Harry' hasn't got the control of his fathers company he believes he has, there are those within the
company who have their own agenda of which 'Harry' has no part.
A electronic tablet 'Harry's' father had given him before dying shows secrets of the underground complex,
which will give him access to a serum that had been worked upon.
'Harry' finding himself where 'Max' is being processed releases 'Electro' to catch Spider-Man.
When a total blackout across New York occurs, Spider-Man has to do battle with 'Electro' who is now on
the loose........trouble is, solve one problem another one is sure to follow in the shape of 'The Goblin'
After a promising start with the incident on the Plane, there is a sequence of unnecessary chatter which was meant to be
amusing i guess, from our Hero whilst he deals with a gang who are stealing Nitro, the action, on, the streets of New York.
The story-line and dialogue are is a little thin on the ground the story doesn't flow as easily as the first in the new series
The films saving grace for me is indeed the spectacular Special-Effects throughout the film which are indeed impressive.
There are several good action sequences, wish the scrip had been better.
Worth a viewing on 3-D and in fact 2-D Superb picture and Sound quality throughout.
Features -
* The wages of Heroism : Making of the Amazing Spider-Man 2 - Over 100 minutes of immersive featurettes
detailing the heroic efforts to bring The Amazing Spider-Man 2 to life.
Blu-ray Exclusives -
9 additional deleted scenes with commentary by Director 'Marc Webb' including 'Peter' meets his father.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Peter Parker and His Relationship Issues, 14 Dec. 2014
By 
Mr. Oh Hamlyn "Mr Wilde" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Despite featuring a comical character aimed primarily at younger audiences, The Amazing Spider-Man 2 almost entirely fails to include the whole purpose of Spider-Man: namely fun and humour. The majority of the film is a bland, uninspired series of events centred almost exclusively on a miserable Peter Parker and his uninteresting relationship issues. Quite frankly the film is a bore, the characters (particularly the unnecessary inclusion of three villains) are all underdeveloped, and the action sequences themselves are little more than colourful CGI creations ejaculated onto the screen.
Although leads Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone share excellent on-screen chemistry, Peter and Gwen are separated for almost the entirety of the movie, rendering the relationship between the characters a waste of potential. Andrew Garfield is a great Spider-Man, and the actor manages to embody the character in the most accurate depiction we've seen on-screen, but sadly Spider-Man himself is absent for almost the whole of the film, not unlike the non-existent plot.
The Amazing Spider-Man 2 is a frustrating mess, and above all, a pointless cash-grab. I'd loosely recommend the original 'Amazing Spider-Man' as an enjoyable and appealing movie in its own right, but the sequel sadly follows the typical 'bigger, bolder' approach followed by many Hollywood sequels, resulting in an insipid movie that feels stuck in the past along with other awful 1990's superhero flicks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much CGI, 1 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy superhero movies but this one was a disappointment -- just as if one is watching a video game, there's so much CGI, it gets in the way of any chance at characterisation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars He was all excited when it arrived but then when he'd watched it he said it was crap! Talk about ungrateful, 15 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ordered this for my husband as he was wanting to see it. He was all excited when it arrived but then when he'd watched it he said it was crap! Talk about ungrateful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Very Good., 28 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A distinctly average movie. Can't decide if it wants to be a kids movie or a darker, more serious movie. The actors portraying the villains are particularly sub pat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely dreadful, 16 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (DVD)
The first 'Amazing Spider-Man' was a refreshing re-boot of the story, so I had high hopes of this sequel. It's quite rare to find a film that is so incredibly bad that you can't watch at least half an hour, but this is one such film. It is a mish-mash of schmaltz interlaced with action sequences that struggle to hang together as a coherent story. Sadly, it's all been done before, and it's all been done so much better than this. The CGI action scenes are admittedly well done, but we've all seen so much of that sort of thing that we expect something more. Don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ... surround sound on Blu-Ray was up there with the best I've heard, 10 Jan. 2015
By 
Le Blaireau (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Three stars because the surround sound on Blu-Ray was up there with the best I've heard. Unfortunately the movie didn't live up to the sound, really lazy film-making,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 273 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews