Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!!! Superb performance by Hugh Jackman
As an American, I grew up listening to the music of Rogers and Hammerstein, but my experiences of their work has been limited to the film versions of the great musicals. On a recent trip to London, I found this video, which a British friend had recommended to me. I was completely enthralled! It was an absolutely marvelous production. Although I have seen the film...
Published on 18 April 2002 by K. Chelsen

versus
52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so Special Edition
Beware, this is a disappointment. Expectations were high that this would be a definitive TODD-AO version of the film, which was the preferred version of Rodgers & Hammerstein. Indeed, they were persuaded to film it on the evidence of the superlative picture/sound quality available in the system. Sadly, the print quality is the worst I have seen in a DVD. Fox do prepare...
Published on 21 Mar 2006


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!!! Superb performance by Hugh Jackman, 18 April 2002
This review is from: Oklahoma! [VHS] (VHS Tape)
As an American, I grew up listening to the music of Rogers and Hammerstein, but my experiences of their work has been limited to the film versions of the great musicals. On a recent trip to London, I found this video, which a British friend had recommended to me. I was completely enthralled! It was an absolutely marvelous production. Although I have seen the film version several times over the years, watching this production, I felt like I was seeing a brand new show. The cast was simply marvelous. I enjoyed Josefina Gabrielle's interpretation of Laurey as a tomboy, something not revealed before; Shuler Hensley, as Jud Fry, brought a new, in-depth menace to the character that was very chilling to see. Jimmy Johnston as Will Parker was funny and charming, and he did a great job with that lariat. But it was Hugh Jackman's performance as Curly that really clicked with me. I'd read a little about this actor, and something I read mentioned he was an accomplished singer. But nothing prepared me for the wonderful quality of his voice as he started singing the first song off stage. I enjoy listening to a good male singing voice, and his is one of the best I've heard in the last couple of years. I hope that despite his growing film career he will someday do more Rogers and Hammerstein musicals... I think he'd be a perfect Billy Bigalow! (Carousel)
This is a production that should NOT be missed. If you love Rogers and Hammerstein's musicals, you will DEFINITELY love this video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Package, 9 Oct 2006
By 
A. Nettleingham "Filmlover" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a superb package, two Oklahomas for the price of one, it`s quite enjoyable if you are a film buff to compare the cinemascope version to the Todd AO as they were shot separately not simultaneously.

The extras are top notch with voiceover commentaries over each film available, from which you can learn a lot.

There is a singalong option and I thought it was a nice touch to include an option whereby you can just play all the musical numbers.

Its true that the Todd AO version lacks some quality but I found this only a minor thing, it is so nice to see the new version.

All in all you could not ask for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An ultimately fantastic film, 15 Dec 2004
This review is from: Oklahoma! [VHS] [1955] (VHS Tape)
It's a Rodgers and Hammerstein production so obviously it seems to go on forever but in this case it doesn't seem to matter.
Gordon MacRae and Shirley Jones are highly watchable as the two leads while the subplot involving the love triangle between Ado Annie, the peddler and Will Parker also provides entertainment.
The dances are wonderfully choreographed, in particular Gene Nelson's superb solo dance for 'Kansas City' which has me bouncing up and down in time with the music.
Songs are tuned to perfection as is expected from these writers but for me the standouts are the well-known 'People Will Say We're In Love', 'Oklahoma' and 'Many A New Day' which is my personal favourite simply because of the high notes that Jones reaches that seem impossible to the untrained.
As for the story, a simple enough love story which still seems to add something new to the genre.
If there was one thing I was annoyed about when I first watched the film it was the length. However the songs and suspense of the last hour made it less of a trial.
Ultimately, I would recommend to anyone at all interested in musicals or to anyone just wanting an enjoyable experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so Special Edition, 21 Mar 2006
By A Customer
Beware, this is a disappointment. Expectations were high that this would be a definitive TODD-AO version of the film, which was the preferred version of Rodgers & Hammerstein. Indeed, they were persuaded to film it on the evidence of the superlative picture/sound quality available in the system. Sadly, the print quality is the worst I have seen in a DVD. Fox do prepare you for this with a screen apology before the titles and I suspect that the original 70mm version has suffered from poor film preservation over the half century of its existence.

Many younger viewers will never have seen the original TODD-AO Road Show version and I'm afraid will not be impressed with this offering.The CinemaScope version (to be found on Disc 1 of this 2 Disc issue) is excellent for its age and the DVD is worth having for this alone as previous issues were dreadful pan and scan versions.

The music however is a delight and the narration from Shirley Jones is a welcome extra. If you have or are about to order the new Special Edition of 'SOUTH PACIFIC', which also contains the TODD-AO version, you will see the quality that made TODD-AO so exciting - it is excellent. What a pity this print of OKLAHOMA doesn't come near to the same quality.

Update: Having now lived with the TODD-AO version since its Region 2 issue in March, I have to admit I prefer it to the CinemaScope version. Tweak your TV a little and its completely enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class entertainment, 28 Jun 2003
By 
This review is from: Oklahoma! [VHS] (VHS Tape)
It is easy to see why the Rodgers and Hammerstein estate wanted this stage production to be recorded for posterity - it is hard to imagine that anyone could do it better. While it can be difficult to do justice to a stage show on video, this one has been beautifully filmed. The cast, choreography and staging are all excellent. Hugh Jackman makes a wonderful Curly, and Shuler Hensley is impressive as Judd Fry. The fact that they used the leads to do the ballet sequence instead of the usual dancing lookalikes adds significantly to the show. The behind the scenes documentary and interviews with the cast and crew are a nice bonus. This version of "Oklahoma!" is a must for any fan of classic musicals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning three hour performance that leaves you breathless, 12 Oct 2000
By 
Iris Haas "Whatsup" (Kiel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oklahoma! [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Oklahoma is the most stunning and intense video adaptation of a musical I have ever seen. Never in the three hours it lasts it gets boring. The enthusiansm and thrill the audiance must have felt watching it live is easily tansported via the screen. The songs and characters are so full of live and passion that it leaves the viewer breathless. I would especially want to point out Hugh jackman who plays Curly, he is a stunning actor, singer and dancer. Especially the fighting scenes are incredebly realistic even though this normally only can be reached in films. All the tension between the lovers and the enemies, but also the happyness is transfered into the livingroom and makes it part of the theatre. Its an experience that makes you want to stand up and give the actor a standing ovation and it leaves behinde the feeling of regret not having been there life to participate in something so extraordenary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Information for prospective buyers, 8 Dec 2014
By 
Phillip Arnold "Phillip A" (Longdon, Staffs, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oklahoma [Blu-ray] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
If you are thinking of purchasing this Blu-Ray release of Oklahoma, here is some further information about it. I have just received it myself and:

Disc 1 is the Blu-Ray of the Todd-AO version
Disc 2 is the Blu-Ray of the Cinemascope version
Disc 3 is the DVD of the Cinemascope version
Disc 4 is the DVD of the Todd-AO version

(2 different versions of the movie were filmed).

The 2 Blu-Ray discs are marked as Region A (USA) only, but play on both my Region B (European) Panasonic players.
The 2 DVDs are marked as Region 1 (USA) only and do NOT play on Region 2 (European) players.

... a bit bizarre, that!

The Blu-Ray of the Todd-AO version DOES look stunning! - whereas the previous DVD version didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oklahoma [ 4Disc Set] [2 Region Free Blu-ray's plus 2 Region 1 DVD's], 30 Nov 2014
By 
David Welford (Essex England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oklahoma [Blu-ray] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Oklahoma [Blu-Ray plus DVD] This four disc set consists of two Blu-ray discs that are REGION FREE and two DVD's that are Region 1 and will only play on a Region Free player. Disc One is the Todd AO Blu-ray version is by far the best and up there with some of the best for sixty year old film restorations. Not too far behind quality wise is the CinemaScope version Blu-ray. Disc 3&4 are DVD versions of both films, which though superior to the previous DVD versions are not really worth bothering about. The film was made in two versions, filmed at the same time and there are slight differences. Overall this is a worthwhile purchase if you enjoyed the film and its catchy music. I did feel it had dated and was perhaps slightly overlong and needed shortening to about two hours, but that's interfering with history and how the Studio wanted the audiences of sixty years ago to enjoy their film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Blu Ray!, 28 Oct 2014
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oklahoma [Blu-ray] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
A fabulous Todd-AO ( the preferred version) 30 fps restoration of the classic musical that was also shot in CinemaScope 2.55 : 1 (a solid but not as spectacular transfer). The four disc set - playable on UK machines is good value for money and the film shines and sounds the best you will probably ever see it! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... bought the earlier Special Edition disc I was very disappointed with the quality, 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oklahoma [Blu-ray] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Having bought the earlier Special Edition disc I was very disappointed with the quality, but this new Blu ray transfer cannot be compared with it for quality. Both ToddAO and Cinemascope prints are immaculate and all the Special Edition extras are included.
This is a case of a studio making amends for a below par previous disc set and producing a near cinema experience.
I wish they would all do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oklahoma [Blu-ray] [US Import]
£16.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews