Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nicely put together, but still rather episodic
The second book in Connie Suttle's Blood Destiny series sees 40-something housewife, turned 20-something appearing vampire, Lissa living in the English home of her surrogate sire Merrill and at the whims of the Vampire Council.

As the only female vampire turned in 700 years, Lissa's presence is causing a stir... and something of a dilemma, as there are an awful...
Published on 20 Oct. 2011 by Seren Ade

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars superior maies - she is frequently stripped naked to be ...
It's well written and entertaining, but I won't be reading any more in the series. The main character, a female, is constantly at the mercy of the clever, superior maies - she is frequently stripped naked to be washed by another character, is (to quote) "dry humped" by another character and reacts by being cross and sulking. There is only so much I can take of...
Published 5 months ago by bruges


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nicely put together, but still rather episodic, 20 Oct. 2011
By 
Seren Ade (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The second book in Connie Suttle's Blood Destiny series sees 40-something housewife, turned 20-something appearing vampire, Lissa living in the English home of her surrogate sire Merrill and at the whims of the Vampire Council.

As the only female vampire turned in 700 years, Lissa's presence is causing a stir... and something of a dilemma, as there are an awful lot of unattached male vampires who would like a long-term female partner. Requests to meet Lissa have been coming in thick and fast, so Merrill and Wlodek (the leader of the Council) determine that the only way to prevent all-out war amongst the vampires is if Lissa is effectively presented at a Ball, and required to choose a future husband from amongst the powerful vampires vying for her hand. Trouble is, Lissa doesn't know the majority of her suitors, and is terrified of those she has met. And then there's Gavin, the top flight Assassin she had believed to be her friend, only for him to betray her as a rogue, while holding her utterly helpless with his compulsion.

There are lots of repercussions, too, from the attempted coup against werewolf Grand Master, Weldon Harper in Book 1 and Lissa, in her role as the only vampire to have ever been named a member of the Pack plays a vital role in vampire-were relations. This, despite her relative youth as a vampire and the fact she's still in the early days of her training.

Again, the story is told mainly from Lissa's perspective in the first person, with regular, short, third-person scenes filling the reader in on action that's taking place outside of Lissa's knowledge. The action is, as in the previous book, a bit episodic and continues to feel a bit more like a series of related short stories than a novel.

Things become a good bit more graphic this time round - Lissa and her new fiance do sleep together, there's a scene where a clothed and rather offended Lissa is humped against by a werewolf in front of Vampire Council members who do nothing to intervene, and another where Lissa is subjected to a series of intrusive medical tests by a rogue werewolf while she is in her death sleep. Lissa's love-life is also definitely more complicated. There's the whole choosing a fiance thing. To say nothing of the array of men in her life: wealthy werewolf inventor Winkler, NSA director Tony Hancock, assassin Gavin (who she still can't bring herself to trust), and Lissa's growing attraction to her surrogate sire.

Even without the cliff-hanger closing scenes, there were plenty of threads and hints left hanging open for continuation in further books - not least surrounding Lissa's growing array of unusual talents, and the fact that she doesn't seem to be as susceptible to the compulsion of older vampires as she used to be.

4/5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars superior maies - she is frequently stripped naked to be ..., 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's well written and entertaining, but I won't be reading any more in the series. The main character, a female, is constantly at the mercy of the clever, superior maies - she is frequently stripped naked to be washed by another character, is (to quote) "dry humped" by another character and reacts by being cross and sulking. There is only so much I can take of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love all of Connie Suttle's books. Characters and plot are well crafted. God Wars series is my next read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very good item and its great value for the money and I would recommend this item to everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blood passage, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great installment of this extremely exiting series .full of fun and tragic lives also ecstasy.look forward to reading the next book. Mathematics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blood passage, 24 May 2013
By 
Kay (redditch uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This a great follow-up book full of ups and downs I had to read quick first then went back to read it again more slowly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Avid reader, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This like all the books I have so far read is .Great but once again the use of the f word is needless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab book, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again a well written book that was hard to put down. Love the character, Lissa and her determination. Can't wait to read the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guilty Secret, 16 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must admit to really enjoying reading this series of books. I have now read the first three and I find them an easy non challenging and relaxing read and they are all the more refreshing for that. If I have any criticism of them they are a bit samey and I am hoping the next ones move on a little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still loving Lissa, 4 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great read, just my type of paranormal book, lots action, interaction between the species, a little mystery and romance. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews