Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feelgood Southern American Rock, 20 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Southern American Rock. If you like the Black Crowes, Lynyrd Skynyrd you will enjoy this album. Cool DVD comes with it too which you either choose to watch the full concert or you can watch another version which is intercut with recordings of the band relaxing at home post tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There are stars in the southern sky., 22 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leave a Scar: Live in North Carolina (MP3 Download)
One of my favourite bands at the moment, saw the band earlier in the year and they were great .This is a super package, the DVD is well shot, good picture quality and good sound. Just click on concert only and you can watch the gig without having it interrupted by the interviews too. Charlie Starr is a great front man and the quality of the songs is impressive. Thoroughly enjoyable and great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great southern blues, 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great southern blues, rockin' along just so, an excellent band! Pity they didn't come to the Brighton area, would have gone down well in the Dome. This will suffice for now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic cd/dvd, I live in the Uk and no ..., 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
fantastic cd/dvd,I live in the Uk and no probs playing this set.. i love it. I got some free tracks and, had never heard of blackberry smoke before,. after i listened to the free tracks, six ways to sunday, one horse town i very soon got hooked. I bought there whipperpool cd and then this one leave a scar, its brill, if you like this band, you will wont regret buying this, take my word for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The South Is Rising, 26 Oct. 2014
By 
Mr. Simon P. Casson (Horsham, Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A great package and fully represents Blackberry Smoke live. Good production, well shot. You can hear where they draw influences from as in Skynyrd, Allmans, Tucker, Daniels but the blend is seamless. Musically they're terrific - all songs are strong and will grow on you. This'll do, 'til you get hold of your tickets to see them yourself. What pleases me most (as an ex artist manager) is they know their audience, care and are in sync. This band delivers. Great value. The next big thing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Southern Rock., 17 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Finally some really good southern rock with excellent musicians. I was beginning to think that the days of bands that l grew up with were over and that I was going to suffer rap crap and pretty boy and girl bands for the rest of my days. When I heard a track from Blackberry Smoke on the radio my immediate reaction was one of pure delight. The live double album and DVD is dare I say fab.... Can't wait to see them on the17th October in Manchester.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars album of the year?, 4 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant album,the band sounds as good live as they do in the studio. Really tight outfit, BlackBerry Smoke are a band well worth listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great concert by a great band, 4 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great concert by a great band,how these dudes are not a bigger name is beyond me! I hope they get to play somewhere near me the next time they are in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love southern rock and I love Blackberry Smoke, 1 Oct. 2014
I love southern rock and I love Blackberry Smoke. The DVD that is included is great as it includes interviews with the band members. The extra tracks are also much appreciated. The delivery was very fast and efficient and could not be faulted. I would happily but from this seller again and I can't wait to see the band live later this month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blackberry Smokin', 19 Dec. 2014
By 
R. Muir "fabricationsHQ" (Prestwick, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
With the success and song quality of Blackberry Smoke’s third studio album The Whippoorwill it’s no surprise that all thirteen Whippoorwill tracks feature on Leave a Scar – Live in North Carolina.

But the 2CD and DVD live package isn’t just a showcase for the band’s third album plus a Best Of their other songs – it also provides recorded proof of just how good this band are live.

The quintet are high-energy, airtight and produce vocals that match the studio recordings, whether that be the Georgia voiced leads of Charlie Starrs or the three-part harmonies and backing vocals.

Six songs from the first two Blackberry Smoke albums make an appearance including 'Sanctified Woman' (originally known as 'Sanctified' and re-recorded for Little Piece of Dixie) and 'Testify' from Bad Luck Ain’t No Crime.
The songs’ solid one-two rock punch follows a vibrant, swaggering version of The Whippoorwill’s 'Shakin’ Hands with the Holy Ghost.'

'Good One Comin’ On,' 'Up in Smoke,' 'Restless' and 'Shake Your Magnolia' from Little Piece of Dixie get an airing; all four work well (especially the punchy 'Up in Smoke' and raunchy roll of 'Shake Your Magnolia') but the non-Whippoorwill album highlights are two numbers from the band’s New Honky Tonk Bootleg E.P. and an outing for a brand new number.

The honky-tonk country fun of 'Son of the Bourbon' and the country blues of 'Lesson in a Bottle' are the double shot pours from the E.P. while the watch-your-back lyric and mid-tempo rock of 'Payback’s a Bitch' will feature on the band’s fourth studio album Holding all the Roses, scheduled for a February 2015 release.

Criticisms are limited to personal track listing or set-list choices.
Four tracks from Little Piece of Dixie provide a flavour of the band’s sophomore album but there should have been a place for their mini-epic 'Freedom Song' (proving you don’t need to write a ten minute number to produce a southern rock classic).
And a couple more tracks from Bad Luck Ain’t No Crime certainly wouldn’t have gone amiss, if only to help re-promote an album that deserved much more attention when first released.

Such song selection quandaries aside, Leave a Scar (which takes its name from the full throttle Whippoorwill number and its "I may not change the world but I’m gonna leave a scar!" Dixie chorus cry) highlights the quality of one of the best rock – southern or otherwise – bands currently performing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews