Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The nTarget committee or why the bomb was dropped on Hiroshima
This is a detailed account of how the decisions were made to drop the atom bombs on Hiroshima and Nagasaki. I was a young scientist at the time and can vividly remember the shock when we first heard the news. It is fairly clear that although scientists were on the committees they had very little say in these decisions. Looking at the decisions now one may well be very...
Published 9 months ago by D Barber

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and well written but too short
I even felt a little deceived when I reached the end of the book and was presented with an advert for another book that gives more history on the subject.
Published 9 months ago by Daniel Gibbons


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and well written but too short, 14 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Target Committee (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I even felt a little deceived when I reached the end of the book and was presented with an advert for another book that gives more history on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The nTarget committee or why the bomb was dropped on Hiroshima, 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Target Committee (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This is a detailed account of how the decisions were made to drop the atom bombs on Hiroshima and Nagasaki. I was a young scientist at the time and can vividly remember the shock when we first heard the news. It is fairly clear that although scientists were on the committees they had very little say in these decisions. Looking at the decisions now one may well be very critical of the decisions. However, I should emphasise at the time our attitudes were very different and coloured by fragmentary knowledge of how the Japanese were treating prisoners. Because I feel there might have been some comment on how attitudes were different in wartime, I give it only 4 stars. But it is certalnly well worth reading for anyone with an interest in politics and/or the use of nuclear weapons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So how did Hiroshima and Nagasaki get chosen as targets ..., 28 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Target Committee (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
So how did Hiroshima and Nagasaki get chosen as targets? This is a section of a longer book by Paul Ham, on the whold Manhattan Project (atomic bomb-development project), which situates the target selection process in a larger frame. If you haven't time to read the longer, certainly read the shorter. Grimly informative as to how these things are done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best but worth a read, 30 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Target Committee (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Clear and concise account of the events leading up to the dropping of the bomb. Although it only skims through the actual details it gives a flavor of the choices made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hiroshima & Nagasaki; the why and the how, 1 Sept. 2014
By 
Derek Pooley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Target Committee (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
It's easy to assume that Hiroshima and Nagasaki chose themselves as targets for the first atom bombs and that the decision to use these powerful new weapons to end WWII was a foregone conclusion. Paul Ham's excellent, easy-to-read little book (it is very short on detail) provides a glimpse of the arguments and agonies behind the decisions and the choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the full story., 19 Jan. 2015
By 
A. Murphy (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Target Committee (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
A very informative short book up to a point, but i felt a bit cheated when i got to the end of the book, and there was no conclusion, just a statement saying that if you want more information, you should buy the author's main book on the subject. Look elsewhere if you want a definitive book on the Hiroshima and Nagasaki bombs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Packed full of information and works perfectly as a draw ..., 30 Aug. 2014
By 
J. Timberlake "JT" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Target Committee (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Packed full of information and works perfectly as a draw for Paul Ham's other work, but far too expensive for such a short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars short and pithy with some interesting insights into the run ..., 15 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Target Committee (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
short and pithy with some interesting insights into the run up to the atom bomb drops
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 5 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Target Committee (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
A rather boring read and much shorter than expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Oct. 2014
By 
Dr S Goodwin (Wimbledon, London, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Target Committee (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent. Very clear description of the situation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews