Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Had me hooked from the start
The first season of 'Bates Motel' had me glued to the screen, and the second set of 13 episodes have had the same effect. Just it case you aren't aware, it is a television prequel to Alfred Hitchcock's classic movie 'Psycho'.

Picking up immediately where the last season left off, life for the Bates family is certainly never dull. The episodes now seem to run at...
Published 5 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bates motel
Season two suffers from a case of stagnation. It doesn't feel like it moves on at all focussing on similar story threads to the first season rather than trying to break new ground. The novelty of being set in the famous Bates Motel is starting to wain and the characters are losing their appeal.

Having said all that there are still moments to enjoy here. Vera...
Published 9 months ago by T. Cosens


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Had me hooked from the start, 11 Oct. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bates Motel: Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The first season of 'Bates Motel' had me glued to the screen, and the second set of 13 episodes have had the same effect. Just it case you aren't aware, it is a television prequel to Alfred Hitchcock's classic movie 'Psycho'.

Picking up immediately where the last season left off, life for the Bates family is certainly never dull. The episodes now seem to run at a more quicker pace as we discover and understand how young Norman Bates turned into a murderer. The lad now begins to experience blackouts and believes he's actually his mother when faced with confrontation. There's a new girl in his life, and Mrs. Norma Bates is finally accepted into the community and looks set to find some romance of her own. Meanwhile, there is a great deal of background created and character development for Norman's older brother Dylan, who has gone from one of the more reviled characters, to someone we can really sympathise with.

'Bates Motel' is simply great modern television, the acting is outstanding, and I can't wait for season three. To me, this is the definitive story of how Norman came to be, meaning that I can finally ignore the dreadful 'Psycho 4', which was also made for TV. Compulsive television is right here.

The DVD set includes deleted scenes and featurettes, including the 'Origins of a Psycho', and interviews with the cast and crew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fabulous, 3 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Bates Motel: Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Ever since I saw the advertisement for this TV show I thought it looked amazing. I haven't actually seen the film psycho but you don't need to as it is very loosely based. I thought the first season DVD without knowing anything about it and just hope for the best. I think the first series was a bit slow as it was about half way through before it started getting good but the second season has always kept you on its toes. I think the writers of this programme are very cleaver in how they plot the storyline as it goes at the right pace. There's always a good build up and the plot doesn't go on too long or too short. Vera especially who plays the mother Norma Bates is fabulous. Her and Freddie Highmore present and create the weird and wonderful mother and son bonding. This programme keeps getting better and better as it goes along. So glad I stuck with watching it because season 2 was amazing and I can't wait to see what happens in season 3.

If you like drama I would definitely recommend it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved both seasons, 14 May 2014
Great second season getting a more in-depth view of Norman/Norma Bates. With great interpretations of the characters portrayed by Freddie Highmore and Vera Farmiga. It does psycho justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why do crazy people keep gravitating towards me?, 16 Mar. 2015
By 
Willy Eckerslike (France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bates Motel: Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Season two picks up four months after the conclusion of season one. The motel is now thriving although the threat of the town bypass is still looming. The sheriff is investigating the murder of Miss. Watson and Norman is still obsessed, visiting her grave and treasuring her necklace and a press cutting. The unfortunate Bradley is going off the rails and the feuding drug families are still feuding.

The character development and plot groundwork so carefully set out during season one have really borne fruit. Norma and Norman continue to shine in their lead roles while we learn more of Dylan’s past and a new girl from the wrong side of the tracks befriends Norman. There is a lot going on in this season; death, gang wars, a bit of police procedural stuff, blackouts, shifting allegiances, revelations and more death.

It is all very dark, charting Norman’s gradual descent into full-blown psychosis and Norma’s increasingly tenuous grasp upon reality, but it never loses pace and somehow manages to maintain a witty lightness of touch. There are some lovely and thoroughly fitting homage to Hitchcock’s masterpiece without being overly reverential and, as with season one, the quality of writing and performance is outstanding. Knowing the ultimate fate of Norma and Norman does not dull the experience one little bit; Bates Motel is a marvellous bit of drama and I think Hitchcock would have approved. Excellent stuff. Season three premiered in March 2015 and will be on our wish list as soon as it becomes available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mother, 6 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bates Motel: Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I love his mother. I like especially how she is comic relief! I just enjoy watching her expressions, her slumps and scowls and the awkward way she goes about life. At times she reminded me of Meryl Streep in Death Becomes Her - a strong, opinionated, attractive blond who is fabulous, but faulty! She lacks the elegance and poise of someone glamorous, because of where and what she comes from and cannot escape, but in spite of her being 'real' she is innately glam and convincing as a confusingly seductive mother (even for Dylan, thinking of the scene where she's changing in front of the mirror and there's the same sense of attraction that Norman feels).
Norman is well cast, I don't think anybody hasn't said this... Dylan, I think the brotherly love is a nice addition. I'm just cringing waiting for him to die, though!
Good stuff, looking forward to the third!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bates Motel Series 2, 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bates Motel: Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Loved it! Series 1 was great, but series 2 is absolutely brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bates Motel: Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
a very good story from a classic film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mother, 16 Feb. 2015
By 
Victor Preston "gvb" (birmingham, west mids United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
i own all of the psycho films including the 2002 remake
that one is worth watching before the tv series
because it brings the story up to the modern era
then go back 20 years or so to when norman was a teenager
see how his psychosis developed with a lot of help from his mother
a nightmare of a show for adults only
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars psycho goes back in time to BATES MOTEL, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bates Motel: Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
fantastic series love it, saw series 1 on television but missed 2 so bought it dvd. if youve seen the psycho movies youll love this, it tells the story of norman bates when a teenager and how his relatioship with his mother made him the murderer he became.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Presumed Innocent
Presumed Innocent by Roxann Dawson
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews