Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comparisons Between all Kill la Kill Releases and Prices
This review will not be about the anime itself. It is absolutely fantastic. No, this will be a comparison between the three Limited or Collectors Edition releases of Kill La Kill in North America, the UK and Australia as of October 27, 2014 or 27 October, 2014 for those of you not in North America. All prices and conversions are as of the aforementioned date.
THE...
Published 1 month ago by Mabiniss1

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't Lose Your Way... With Pricing
One of my favourite animes in recent years, but I won't be adding it to my collection. I don't want to support this price structure for anime. It's sad that we take one step forward and two steps back. The series is available to stream for free legally, which is a blow to pirates. Sadly when the physical release is so costly all that good work is undone.
Published 1 month ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comparisons Between all Kill la Kill Releases and Prices, 27 Oct 2014
By 
This review is from: Kill la Kill - Part 1 of 3 Collector's [Blu-Ray) (Blu-ray)
This review will not be about the anime itself. It is absolutely fantastic. No, this will be a comparison between the three Limited or Collectors Edition releases of Kill La Kill in North America, the UK and Australia as of October 27, 2014 or 27 October, 2014 for those of you not in North America. All prices and conversions are as of the aforementioned date.
THE NORTH AMERICAN RELEASE:
Kill la Kill volumes 1-4 are priced at $59.98 or £37.27 EACH. The limited editions are released with both BD and DVD.
The first volume contains episodes 1-4, each successive volume contains 5 episodes. Volume 2 contains episodes 5-9, volume 3 contains episodes 10-14 and volume 4 contains episodes 15-19 I'm ASSUMING volume 5 will be the last one containing episodes 20-24 with the extra episode 25 as the bonus.
Vol 1 comes with the episodes on BD and DVD, a bonus Rearrange/Remix CD, postcards, and a double sided poster.
Vol 2 comes with the episodes on BD and DVD, a bonus Making Of Documentary #1 DVD, postcards, a double sided poster and a collectible Weiss Schwarz trading card (limited).
Vol 3 will come with the episodes on BD and DVD, the second original soundtrack, postcards, a double sided poster.and a Weiss Schwarz trading card (limited).
Vol 4 will come with the episodes on BD and DVD, a second Making Of Documentary #2 DVD, postcards, a double sided poster and a Weiss Schwarz trading Card (limited).
Vol 5 hasn't been announced yet but I assume it will contain the 25th episode, the Making Of Documentary #3 DVD which was in the 9th vol Japanese release, and going with the previous ones, postcards and double sided poster and maybe a limited edition trading card.
UK RELEASE:
DVD version is priced at £36.00 or $57.94 USD
BD version is priced at £43.25 or $69.61 USD
Vol 1 comes with episodes 1-8 on BD or DVD, does not come with both like the NA release, and also comes with an artbook.
Vol 2 will I assume come with episodes 9-16 using the same disc formatting as the first volume.
Vol 3 will I assume come with episodes 17-24 with episode 25 as an extra and also using the same disc formatting as the first volume.
AUSTRALIAN RELEASE:
Vol 1 is priced at $39.95 AUD which comes to £21.86 or $35.18 USD
Vol 1 comes with episodes 1-4, similar to the NA release, on either BD or DVD, not both. Also comes with an artbox.
vol 2, I couldn't find the limited edition for vol 2, but I did find the regular version, so I can confirm that it does follow the NA release in terms of episodes per volume which in this case would be episodes 5-9.
volumes 3 and beyond have not been announced yet but I assume will be similar to both volumes 1 and 2 in that they will follow the NA release in terms of episodes per volume and when it comes to the limited edition version, will only have an artbox as the extra.

Compared to this UK release of Kill la Kill, the NA release is cheaper and with less episodes, but makes up for that with the extra goodies that were also found in the Japanese release like the soundtracks and Documentary dvds which this UK release lacks. Another difference being that the UK release comes with the artbook which was also in the Japanese release, which the NA release lacks. In the UK and Australian releases, you have to either choose BD or DVD you can't get both like the NA release. The Australian release severely lacks in extras compared to both the NA and UK releases, but is easily the cheapest out of all three regions even with the shipping cost and applicable taxes, it still ends up being cheaper. Of course on the other end of the scale is the original Japanese release which ends up being the most expensive out of all of them.

I know this doesn't really help when you live in another country with a different region code, but this was mainly aimed at anime collectors or huge Kill la Kill fans like me who can just get around that with region free blu-ray players and VLC Player.

I hope this comparison was informative and helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insanely good show, 7 Dec 2014
By 
D. P. Flanagan "ithuriel" (Leicester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill la Kill - Part 1 of 3 Collector's [Blu-Ray) (Blu-ray)
A very good show unfortunately priced and split up into parts due to licensing.
It sounds and looks good and even though it has hard white English subs over the Japanese subs when in English dubbed mode, they are not that intrusive.
From the peeps, if not the studio, that brought you Gurren Lagann comes a madcap 'MAGICAL GIRL' show about CLOTHING! that goes from a simple revenge story to fighting to save the Earth from destruction.
The OST is really well done, (a shame it was not included in this part of the release,) with some of the best character themes I have heard in an anime, though the art varies in quality from adequate to really good,
Some peeps have a problem with the nudity shown in the story but it is cleverly woven into the story and is often used to great comedic effect.
The only major flaw it seems is the episode numbering to discs are incorrect, having bought a fair few Anime Limited releases I've come to expect minor flaws as a part of the package, though they do try their hardest to bring quality releases and decent collectors editions instead of just doing the bare minimal that some companies do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A damn good start to an awesome series., 26 Oct 2014
This review is from: Kill la Kill - Part 1 of 3 Collector's [Blu-Ray) (Blu-ray)
The reason people originally put such a low rating was because of the original price listed (which almost always lower a great deal after the item has first been put on Amazon) This volume of Kill la Kill is absolutely worth the asking price, the show looks great on blu ray (I believe we have gotten the next handful of episodes dubbed a bit earlier than Aniplex) It also comes in a gorgeous chipboard box, a great looking digipack to hold the discs and a beautiful key frames art book.

Not as many goodies as the Aniplex version but its nowhere near as overpriced as Aniplex and their awful habit of asking for way too much for a blu ray. This new price I paid for mine I fell is worth every penny and is not over priced at all, definitely pick this up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great beginning for a great series, 25 Nov 2014
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
RyŻko Matoi is a violent young schoolgirl who has been traveling from school to school searching for information about the murder of her father, her only clue being half of the giant pair of scissors in the murder. When RyŻko arrives at Honnouji Academy she finds a fascist state ruled with an iron fist by the Student Council President Satsuki Kiryuin and the Elite Four of the Student Council. RyŻko soon discovers that Satsuki knows something about her father's death but she is outmatched by the superpower granting Goku Uniforms used by the high ranking members of Honnouji Academy and so, needing power of her own, she stumbles across something that her father left her that could change the balance of power.

This first of three sets of episodes for the brilliant 'Kill la Kill' anime contains the first nine episodes of the series across two discs taking the series from the beginning to the battle against GamagŰri during the Naturals Election. The series was something of a phenomenon when it was originally shown and while I am not one to buy into the massive hype that surrounded it, I would agree that it is probably one of the most entertaining anime of recent years. The series is made by the same people who created 'Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann' and, although I haven't seen that series, from what I have read 'Kill la Kill' is just as entertainingly insane.

Due to a relatively low budget, the animation of the series is a strange mix of basic and spectacular but for some reason this works brilliantly and adds great character to the show as it allows the animators to get very creative in places. The battles throughout the series are very entertaining however with a lot of weird and wonderful weapons and abilities granted by the Goku Uniforms and Kamui. Having aid this, the series also includes a lot of very good character moments alongside the action and slapstick comedy with all the main characters being very interesting people with unique personalities.

The set includes both subbed and dubbed versions of the series and while I do prefer the original Japanese much better, the English dub is reasonably good. Carrie Keranen as Satsuki Kiryuin, Kaiji Tang as Tsumugu Kinagase, Christine Marie Cabanos as Mako Mankanshoku and Steve Staley as Houka Inumuta are probably my favourite out of all the English cast but the entire cast does a very good job. The only voice dislike slightly is David Vincent as Senketsu who I feel is a little off but I will probably get used to it (I am also not quite sure about Laura Post as Ragyo Kiryuin but she only had a single short line in this volume so I will wait until next time to form a proper opinion).

The series does have quite a lot of fanservice throughout (something I know some people dislike) but it is quite egalitarian with it with both male and female characters getting in on it and in some cases the fanservice is actually important to the plot of the series.

For special features this first volume has clean versions of the brilliant opening and closing animations and a book containing production art for the series.

'Kill la Kill' is easily one of my favourite anime and I will definitely be buying it regardless of the price. The series is easily worth a full five stars and it is definitely one of the biggest must see anime of recent years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't Lose Your Way... With Pricing, 10 Nov 2014
This review is from: Kill la Kill - Part 1 of 3 Collector's [Blu-Ray) (Blu-ray)
One of my favourite animes in recent years, but I won't be adding it to my collection. I don't want to support this price structure for anime. It's sad that we take one step forward and two steps back. The series is available to stream for free legally, which is a blow to pirates. Sadly when the physical release is so costly all that good work is undone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Price..., 9 Aug 2014
This review is from: Kill la Kill - Part 1 of 3 Collector's [Blu-Ray) (Blu-ray)
In all likelyhood the price will drop before release, as it stands now the price is simply a reflection of licensing and distribution of an extremely popular and relatively recent show + they beat manga entertainment to pick this up, so its not suprising the price is high.

My advise, pre-order it, if the price doesn't drop just cancel your order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best anime series from best anime company., 15 Nov 2014
By 
Mr. Dale Hopkins "D" (South Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kill la Kill - Part 1 of 3 Collector's [Blu-Ray) (Blu-ray)
Anime limited release some of the ONLY good collectors editions in the UK and these titles come with much higher quality than what we get from other distributors and at higher price but rarely extortionate as there is always good prices hanging around on various sites.

Love anime limited and having watched all kill la kill on simulcast I am aware it's an absolutely amazing show. Can't wait to get it and it's coming from Anime Limited who I love because they don't give us bare bones releases and any mistakes are always rectified by them free of charge so I know I'll get great shows, great quality and I'll pay for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Show & Collectors Edition Set., 16 Aug 2014
Ignore the 1 star reviews, those are based on the pricing of the set NOT the contents.

Fantastic show! So fun and full of energy, its a bit mental but in a good way ;)
This is a collectors edition with gorgeous packaging that also includes a nice physical extra and extra on disk content too, so in my eyes the price is great for what's being purchased AND we're getting it for much MUCH cheaper then anyone else in the English speaking world. Win/Win.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Gurren Lagann? You'll Love This, Too!, 16 Aug 2014
By 
MoonStar (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kill la Kill - Part 1 of 3 Collector's [Blu-Ray) (Blu-ray)
This is the Collector's Edition (Blu-ray). As such it will include a multitude of additions unavailable in standard barebones amaray editions, making it more expensive to reflect that fact. If you want a cheaper version wait until the standard edition is available, as it will be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Great, 1 Nov 2014
This review is from: Kill la Kill - Part 1 of 3 Collector's [Blu-Ray) (Blu-ray)
Kill la Kill over all is an amazing anime,

If you're a massive fan of the show, i highly recommend picking this set up since it's heavy, nice packaging and comes with an amazing art/storyboard book.

It's better than what the Attack on Titan set will give you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kill la Kill - Part 1 of 3 Collector's [Blu-Ray)
Kill la Kill - Part 1 of 3 Collector's [Blu-Ray) by Hiroyuki Imaishi (Blu-ray - 2014)
£43.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews