Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars104
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Consisting of 55 chronologically ordered tracks across three CDs and a fourth disc featuring a 60 minute mix by Grandmaster Flash, this collection represents excellent value for money and it's more or less a definitive history of hip-hop. Given that it's aimed at the mass market there are loads of mainstream crowd pleasers but there are also a lot of lesser known gems. The first disc is full of old school hip-hop classics (A Tribe Called Quest, N.W.A, Eric B & Rakim, etc.) and it's the best here - the beats and the clever use of samples are at times jaw-dropping. Grandmaster's mix is nothing particularly special but for the money, you can't complain too much. Clocking in at a few minutes short of a mammoth 5 hours, it’s housed in a neat triple gatefold digipak. Existing hip-hop fans and newcomers will find much to enjoy.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
Cracking hip-hop retrospective, from the legend that is. Covers each era but has a few artists I'd never heard of until now - but all makes for a great playlist!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
Bought this for my husband as most of the tracks remind him of his miss spent youth !
He loves it, plenty of classics and a few we didn't know but are just as good
Great for in the car and reminiscing :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
Fantastic collection of hip hop music, including some all time classics and some lesser known tracks. Perfect for someone who wants to get into hip-hop music and wants a way to get a taste for the genre.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
Listened to the album today, mix CD is really good and the 3 other CD's have all the great Hip Hop tracks and also some I've never heard off. Overall very good value for money and
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
It's grandmaster flash, what more do you want, yes you may have heard of the artists that are featured but not the tracks. This should be in your collection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
The original & still the best old skool music. Just wish there was more tracks from Grandmaster Flash
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
Awesome CD which has introduced me to some top tunes I've never even heard before!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2016
Reason I bought this, (having most of the tracks on it) was due to having the opportunity to meet the man himself. Purely for souvenir purposes, Grandmaster Flash signed it. It's currently going into a frame.
The mix CD is pretty good, and overall has a good selection of hip hop classics
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
Good but not enough old school hip hop or electro for me but did like the underground tunes that I had not heard before,
with a good DJ mix to finish it off! I hope he does a follow up!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.37
£4.99
£10.69

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)