Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid, better than any Greatest Hits Compilation
THIS IS NOT THE CANADIAN BOX SET THAT THE PREVIOUS REVIEWER STATES. That being the 1990 Ryko-disc set. Similar but not the same!!!!. This box set incorporates Bowie's work up to Buddah Of Suburbia and Black Tie White Noise. There are even Tin Machine songs on here!!!!!!!

It has strayed away from the well known hits, though there are still many here, such as...
Published on 13 Oct 2003 by Ward-Minter

versus
26 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What are box sets for?
Buying Sound and Vision does not mean I can dispense with the Singles Collection because it does not have classics such as Let's Dance, Fame and Absolute Beginners which I wouldn't otherwise have, nor does it contain other classics such as Jean Genie, Starman, Diamond Dogs, Golden Years and unforgivably Life On Mars - one of Bowie's greatest songs. I would have preferred...
Published on 29 Dec 2003 by D. Evans


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid, better than any Greatest Hits Compilation, 13 Oct 2003
By 
Ward-Minter (British Virgin Islands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound + Vision (Audio CD)
THIS IS NOT THE CANADIAN BOX SET THAT THE PREVIOUS REVIEWER STATES. That being the 1990 Ryko-disc set. Similar but not the same!!!!. This box set incorporates Bowie's work up to Buddah Of Suburbia and Black Tie White Noise. There are even Tin Machine songs on here!!!!!!!

It has strayed away from the well known hits, though there are still many here, such as "Ashes to Ashes", "Changes" and "Blue Jean". Instead it concentrates on the best album cuts from Bowie's phenomenal 70's 80's and early 90's work.

For CD completists, this is the only place you will find "After Today" "Baals Hymn", "The Drowned Girl" and "Modern Love" (live). There are also a handful of mixes and different out-takes of songs. The real highlights here is the original "The Prettiest Star". This is NOT the Aladdin Sane cut but the 1970 single with Marc Bolan on guitar. And "Pallas Athena". This is the live version performed by The Tao Jones Index, which was a secret gig Bowie did at The Phoenix Festival.

This is a must for any Bowie fan and an excellent starting point for any musical youth wishing to know what all the fuss was about when Bowie hit the scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something for everyone, 1 Oct 2014
By 
OMG! It's got a plug! - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound + Vision (Audio CD)
This is a very welcome reissue of this superb chronological overview of Bowie's career between 1969 and 1993. Hits, outtakes, live tracks, alternate versions, album tracks and Tin Machine too - there's something for everyone. It's also excellent value: 70 tracks across 4 CDs with a playback time of 4 hours and 58 minutes (and AutoRip if purchased direct from Amazon). The CDs are housed inside an old style double CD jewel case with a cardboard slipcase cover. There's also an accompanying 56 page booklet with very lengthy sleeve notes and archive photos. It also includes all of the recording dates, release dates and musicians involved for each track. It might not be as up to date as the forthcoming 'Nothing Has Changed' compilation but it represents amazing value for money and should appeal to existing Bowie fans and newcomers too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2014 Reissue..., 23 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound + Vision (Audio CD)
Great value for money compilation. Only let down is the booklet which contains Bowie's history as a recording artist up until 2003. Seems a bit cheap not to update the booklet to include information on recent releases. Comes in plastic double CD case in thin card sleeve.

Lots of familiar material, lots of rarities, B-Sides and Live tracks. Would have been nice to have no Tin Machine and more of the post 2003 material. It's on Parlophone too which was a surprise. Comes with Auto Rip which is added value.

Track Listings
Disc: 1
1. Space Oddity (Demo) [2003 Remastered Version]
2. Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud (Rare B Side Version) [2003 Remastered Version]
3. The Prettiest Star (Single Version) [2003 Remastered Version]
4. London, Bye, Ta-Ta
5. Black Country Rock (1999 Remastered Version)
6. The Man Who Sold The World (1999 Remastered Version)
7. The Bewlay Brothers (1999 Remastered Version)
8. Changes (1999 Remastered Version)
9. Round And Round (Alternate Vocal Take)
10. Moonage Daydream (2002 Remastered Version)
11. John, I'm Only Dancing (Sax Version) [2003 Remastered Version]
12. Drive In Saturday (2003 Remastered Version)
13. Panic In Detroit (2003 Remastered Version)
14. Ziggy Stardust (Live '73) [Stereo]
15. White Light/White Heat (Live '73) [Stereo]
16. Rock 'N' Roll Suicide (Live '73)
17. Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere? (1999 Remastered Version)
18. Sorrow (1999 Remastered Version)
19. Don't Bring Me Down (1999 Remastered Version)
Disc: 2
1. 1984/Dodo (2003 Remastered Version)
2. Big Brother (1999 Remastered Version)
3. Rebel Rebel (Us Single Version) [2002 Remastered Version]
4. Suffragette City (Live '74) [2003 Remastered Version]
5. Watch That Man (Live '74) [2003 Remastered Version]
6. Cracked Actor (Live '74) [2003 Remastered Version]
7. Young Americans (1999 Remastered Version)
8. Fascination (1999 Remastered Version)
9. After Today (2003 Remastered Version)
10. It's Hard To Be A Saint In The City
11. Tvc15 (1999 Remastered Version)
12. Wild Is The Wind (1999 Remastered Version)
13. Sound And Vision (1999 Remastered Version)
14. Be My Wife (1999 Remastered Version)
15. Speed Of Life (1999 Remastered Version)
16. 'Helden' (German Version 1989 Remix) [2002 Remastered Version]
17. Joe The Lion (1999 Remastered Version)
18. Sons Of The Silent Age (1999 Remastered Version)
Disc: 3
1. Station To Station (Live '78) [2003 Remastered Version]
2. Warszawa (Live '78) [2003 Remastered Version]
3. Breaking Glass (Live '78) [2003 Remastered Version]
4. Red Sails (1999 Remastered Version)
5. Look Back In Anger (1999 Remastered Version)
6. Boys Keep Swinging (1999 Remastered Version)
7. Up The Hill Backwards (1999 Remastered Version)
8. Kingdom Come (1999 Remastered Version)
9. Ashes To Ashes
10. Baal's Hymn
11. The Drowned Girl
12. Cat People (Putting Out Fire)
13. China Girl (1999 Remastered Version)
14. Ricochet (1999 Remastered Version)
15. Modern Love (Live; 2003 Remastered Version)
16. Loving The Alien (1999 Remastered Version)
17. Dancing With The Big Boys (1999 Remastered Version)
Disc: 4
1. Blue Jean (1999 Remastered Version)
2. Time Will Crawl (1999 Remastered Version)
3. Baby Can Dance (1999 Remastered Version) - Tin Machine
4. Amazing (1999 Remastered Version) - Tin Machine
5. I Can't Read (1999 Remastered Version) - Tin Machine
6. Shopping For Girls - Tin Machine
7. Goodbye Mr Ed - Tin Machine
8. Amlapura - Tin Machine
9. You've Been Around (2003 Remastered Version)
10. Nite Flights (Moodswings Back To Basics Remix) [Radio Edit]
11. Pallas Athena (Gone Midnight Mix) [2003 Remastered Version]
12. Jump They Say (2003 Remastered Version)
13. Buddha Of Suburbia (2003 Remastered Version)
14. Dead Against It (2003 Remastered Version)
15. South Horizon (2003 Remastered Version)
16. Pallas Athena (Live As 'Tao Jones Index')
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Incredible Shrinking Box Set..., 13 Oct 2014
By 
Og Oggilby "Og Oggilby" (North London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound + Vision (Audio CD)
Having been on the Bowie bus since 1972, and although not what I would call a 'nutty collector', I purchased this 2014 reissue of the Sound + Vision 4CD set because it is, frankly, a superb encapsulation of his nigh-on half a century of recording. As others have said, it's not a 'Greatest Hits', as other comps do that job more than adequately (and there's shortly to be yet another multi-format set, Nothing Has Changed), but rather a brave attempt to provide a panoramic sweep of his artistic achievements, beyond just the world of chart listings and platinum disc awards. It's essentially the EMI Sound + Vision box set of 2003, but reduced to the size of a CD. There are hits such as 'Sorrow', 'Boys Keep Swinging', 'Drive In Saturday', for example, but there are live tracks, outtakes and even some Tin Machine stuff for all you Bowie masochists out there, but even those tracks, taken in the context of a still-unfolding career (at something much slower than the glory years, of course) enrich and add more contrast to the fine musical fare within. retailing at just over fifteen pounds, it's a good investment for those who'd like to dig deeper in the Bowieverse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb, but be careful about the edition if buying, 31 Aug 2013
By 
Neil Wilkes (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sound & Vision (Audio CD)
First up, this is a superb collection by anybody's standards & is well worth the 5 stars.
The biggest worry with this is the old chestnut "Caveat Emptor" because there are at least 4 different editions of this set.
First up, we have the original Ryko edition on 3 regular CD's plus an additional CDV with 3 live tracks & the "Ashes to Ashes" video. This was packaged in a 12" x 12" box and included a nice booklet (sadly mine is missing & if anyone has a mint or near mint copy of this set please contact me). NB - the images on this page are from that edition.
Then there was a very limted edition of this in a nice wood case, 500 copies, individually signed (these are almost never found for sale). Third up was the Ryko reissue edition in a slipcase box with just 3 CD's, missing off the 3 live tracks from Boston Music Hall in 1972 (and oh, how I would love the full recording of that to surface) and a well done 72-page booklet.
Finally, we have the 4th edition, which is a re-issue from EMI, featuring 4 CD's, a different running order and on some tracks different versions (and I mean different mixes as opposed to remastered) - although if truth be told, this set does have the 1999 EMI remasters and they are frankly not that great - over limited for volume, as are nearly all the EMI editions esxcept for the first set they released which used the Ryko masters - confused? Yep. Me too.

Whatever edition you have this makes a nice change to the obvious singles rehash - and the Gods only know that has been done often enough already.
If you are looking for the S&V box, get the early Ryko edition for sound quality & the EMI edition for tracks you will not find anywhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what's not to like. First 3 cd's are the same as the ..., 30 Sep 2014
By 
K. Packard "koktrash" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound + Vision (Audio CD)
It's a David Bowie collection, what's not to like.
First 3 cd's are the same as the 1989 S+V imported boxset without the CDVideo single.
But with extra tracks on the 4th cd making it a better buy. Original S+V boxset £60 in 1989.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ziggy Played Guitar, 14 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound + Vision (Audio CD)
Superb 4 CD overview of Mr Bowie's career up until the early 90's.

Great sound quality and very interesting choice of rare tracks, demos and alternative versions.

A must buy, highly recommended and at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What are box sets for?, 29 Dec 2003
This review is from: Sound + Vision (Audio CD)
Buying Sound and Vision does not mean I can dispense with the Singles Collection because it does not have classics such as Let's Dance, Fame and Absolute Beginners which I wouldn't otherwise have, nor does it contain other classics such as Jean Genie, Starman, Diamond Dogs, Golden Years and unforgivably Life On Mars - one of Bowie's greatest songs. I would have preferred the full length album version of 'Heroes' too rather than the German 'Helden' if we were going to get that classic in something other than it's single format.
I suppose what I really purchased this set for was for the last disc and a half which rounds up much of Bowie's stuff that I have never had the inclination to seek out. Unfortunately, having listened to this I can understand why I never bothered with it. I'm afraid, Cat People, Buddha of Suburbia and Loving The Alien apart, most of it's fairly forgettable. Tin Machine were reviled in their time, then have undergone a partial critical renaissance, but hearing the six tracks included here from their two albums, it's true they really weren't anything special at all.
And why include two versions of the instrumental Pallas Athena? The second one, and the last track on the box set is simply a dreadful noise and it goes on too long. I would have preferred to hear Bowie's version of All The Young Dudes, Amsterdam or My Death, or even the brilliant Width of A Circle from Man Who Sold The World, even though I already have these songs in one form or another.
What of the rarities? Well the demo version of Space Oddity is excellent and different enough to the regular version to be worthy of inclusion as is 1984/Dodo. It's Hard to Be A Saint In The City is one of my favourite Springsteen songs and is always worth hearing, tho I prefer Bruce's own version from his first album.
David's two seventies live albums 'David Live' and 'Stage' are presently unavailable, so unless you already have them (and I don't), this is the only place you can presently hear samples of them. Doubtless they will certainly be re-issued at some point though. They were criticised at the time, but I was pleasantly suprised at what I heard on here. Again the live versions are sufficiently different, although not superior, from the studio versions to make them worthwhile, and they are strong enough songs to survive rearrangement.
Finally, the packaging is a bit bizarre and not particularly engaging. Why not go for the common fold out book which would be easier to access than all the crappy plastic stuff? The book is attractive but didn't reveal anything new. While I could have done without the poster and the postcards, which might have reduced the price a bit. What's to bet this will be reissued in a different format in a couple of years?
So all in all, this is worth getting if you're a fan, but if you've got the singles or best of collections and/or a few of the major albums, far from essential.
And as we know David had produced work since that puts disc four of this set to shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive compilation with interesting versions and some rarities, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound And Vision (MP3 Download)
Recommend to anyone who wants a compilation that covers main periods of career or for long term fans who will be interested in some of the versions included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound & Vision MK2, 10 Dec 2003
By 
This review is from: Sound + Vision (Audio CD)
Great package , but you may want to know whats missing and whats new
What's new to this MK2 box set is from CD3 track 10 Baal's Hymn (and about time too)
Everything past this track is new compared to the Old MK1 4 Disc set
What's missing the whole of Disc 4 from MK1
As Follows
John I'm only Dancing
Changes
The Supermen
All recorded live at Boston 10/01/72
Also the Video to Ashes to Ashes
But the extra content of 4 post cards and 1 great Bio is worth your pennies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sound + Vision
Sound + Vision by David Bowie (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews