Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid, better than any Greatest Hits Compilation
THIS IS NOT THE CANADIAN BOX SET THAT THE PREVIOUS REVIEWER STATES. That being the 1990 Ryko-disc set. Similar but not the same!!!!. This box set incorporates Bowie's work up to Buddah Of Suburbia and Black Tie White Noise. There are even Tin Machine songs on here!!!!!!!

It has strayed away from the well known hits, though there are still many here, such as...
Published on 13 Oct 2003 by Ward-Minter

versus
26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What are box sets for?
Buying Sound and Vision does not mean I can dispense with the Singles Collection because it does not have classics such as Let's Dance, Fame and Absolute Beginners which I wouldn't otherwise have, nor does it contain other classics such as Jean Genie, Starman, Diamond Dogs, Golden Years and unforgivably Life On Mars - one of Bowie's greatest songs. I would have preferred...
Published on 29 Dec 2003 by D. Evans


Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid, better than any Greatest Hits Compilation, 13 Oct 2003
By 
Ward-Minter (British Virgin Islands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound + Vision (Audio CD)
THIS IS NOT THE CANADIAN BOX SET THAT THE PREVIOUS REVIEWER STATES. That being the 1990 Ryko-disc set. Similar but not the same!!!!. This box set incorporates Bowie's work up to Buddah Of Suburbia and Black Tie White Noise. There are even Tin Machine songs on here!!!!!!!

It has strayed away from the well known hits, though there are still many here, such as "Ashes to Ashes", "Changes" and "Blue Jean". Instead it concentrates on the best album cuts from Bowie's phenomenal 70's 80's and early 90's work.

For CD completists, this is the only place you will find "After Today" "Baals Hymn", "The Drowned Girl" and "Modern Love" (live). There are also a handful of mixes and different out-takes of songs. The real highlights here is the original "The Prettiest Star". This is NOT the Aladdin Sane cut but the 1970 single with Marc Bolan on guitar. And "Pallas Athena". This is the live version performed by The Tao Jones Index, which was a secret gig Bowie did at The Phoenix Festival.

This is a must for any Bowie fan and an excellent starting point for any musical youth wishing to know what all the fuss was about when Bowie hit the scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb, but be careful about the edition if buying, 31 Aug 2013
By 
Neil Wilkes (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sound & Vision (Audio CD)
First up, this is a superb collection by anybody's standards & is well worth the 5 stars.
The biggest worry with this is the old chestnut "Caveat Emptor" because there are at least 4 different editions of this set.
First up, we have the original Ryko edition on 3 regular CD's plus an additional CDV with 3 live tracks & the "Ashes to Ashes" video. This was packaged in a 12" x 12" box and included a nice booklet (sadly mine is missing & if anyone has a mint or near mint copy of this set please contact me). NB - the images on this page are from that edition.
Then there was a very limted edition of this in a nice wood case, 500 copies, individually signed (these are almost never found for sale). Third up was the Ryko reissue edition in a slipcase box with just 3 CD's, missing off the 3 live tracks from Boston Music Hall in 1972 (and oh, how I would love the full recording of that to surface) and a well done 72-page booklet.
Finally, we have the 4th edition, which is a re-issue from EMI, featuring 4 CD's, a different running order and on some tracks different versions (and I mean different mixes as opposed to remastered) - although if truth be told, this set does have the 1999 EMI remasters and they are frankly not that great - over limited for volume, as are nearly all the EMI editions esxcept for the first set they released which used the Ryko masters - confused? Yep. Me too.

Whatever edition you have this makes a nice change to the obvious singles rehash - and the Gods only know that has been done often enough already.
If you are looking for the S&V box, get the early Ryko edition for sound quality & the EMI edition for tracks you will not find anywhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What are box sets for?, 29 Dec 2003
This review is from: Sound + Vision (Audio CD)
Buying Sound and Vision does not mean I can dispense with the Singles Collection because it does not have classics such as Let's Dance, Fame and Absolute Beginners which I wouldn't otherwise have, nor does it contain other classics such as Jean Genie, Starman, Diamond Dogs, Golden Years and unforgivably Life On Mars - one of Bowie's greatest songs. I would have preferred the full length album version of 'Heroes' too rather than the German 'Helden' if we were going to get that classic in something other than it's single format.
I suppose what I really purchased this set for was for the last disc and a half which rounds up much of Bowie's stuff that I have never had the inclination to seek out. Unfortunately, having listened to this I can understand why I never bothered with it. I'm afraid, Cat People, Buddha of Suburbia and Loving The Alien apart, most of it's fairly forgettable. Tin Machine were reviled in their time, then have undergone a partial critical renaissance, but hearing the six tracks included here from their two albums, it's true they really weren't anything special at all.
And why include two versions of the instrumental Pallas Athena? The second one, and the last track on the box set is simply a dreadful noise and it goes on too long. I would have preferred to hear Bowie's version of All The Young Dudes, Amsterdam or My Death, or even the brilliant Width of A Circle from Man Who Sold The World, even though I already have these songs in one form or another.
What of the rarities? Well the demo version of Space Oddity is excellent and different enough to the regular version to be worthy of inclusion as is 1984/Dodo. It's Hard to Be A Saint In The City is one of my favourite Springsteen songs and is always worth hearing, tho I prefer Bruce's own version from his first album.
David's two seventies live albums 'David Live' and 'Stage' are presently unavailable, so unless you already have them (and I don't), this is the only place you can presently hear samples of them. Doubtless they will certainly be re-issued at some point though. They were criticised at the time, but I was pleasantly suprised at what I heard on here. Again the live versions are sufficiently different, although not superior, from the studio versions to make them worthwhile, and they are strong enough songs to survive rearrangement.
Finally, the packaging is a bit bizarre and not particularly engaging. Why not go for the common fold out book which would be easier to access than all the crappy plastic stuff? The book is attractive but didn't reveal anything new. While I could have done without the poster and the postcards, which might have reduced the price a bit. What's to bet this will be reissued in a different format in a couple of years?
So all in all, this is worth getting if you're a fan, but if you've got the singles or best of collections and/or a few of the major albums, far from essential.
And as we know David had produced work since that puts disc four of this set to shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive compilation with interesting versions and some rarities, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound And Vision (MP3 Download)
Recommend to anyone who wants a compilation that covers main periods of career or for long term fans who will be interested in some of the versions included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound & Vision MK2, 10 Dec 2003
By 
This review is from: Sound + Vision (Audio CD)
Great package , but you may want to know whats missing and whats new
What's new to this MK2 box set is from CD3 track 10 Baal's Hymn (and about time too)
Everything past this track is new compared to the Old MK1 4 Disc set
What's missing the whole of Disc 4 from MK1
As Follows
John I'm only Dancing
Changes
The Supermen
All recorded live at Boston 10/01/72
Also the Video to Ashes to Ashes
But the extra content of 4 post cards and 1 great Bio is worth your pennies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only really for the big Bowie fans!, 24 Jan 2008
By 
P. B. Koeb (Aljezur, Portugal) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sound + Vision (Audio CD)
Really just wanted to concur with some of the previous comments. This IS a nice box set. Very attractive packaging and contents. But the track selection is really very bizarre. It doesn't replace a conventional "Best of", by any stretch of the imagination, because there are relatively few of Bowie's best-known songs. This is a box set which can only really be recommended to big Bowie fans, therefore. Besides, you really need pretty much all of the studio albums from "Hunky Dory" through "Let's Dance". (Of the two live albums from that period, "David Live" seems to be a bit more worthwhile than "Stage".)

There are a few oddities and rarities, but not really that many. However, the contents do provide an interesting complement to the regular albums and numerous DB compilations on the market. From a personal point of view, i was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the fourth cd. (Particularly as i don't have any of those studio albums.) However, a big disappointment that the excellent "I'm Deranged" from the "Lost Highway" soundtrack wasn't included in this set. Especially as there are two versions of "Pallas Athena" featured, as someone pointed out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Rare Collector's Item, 6 Oct 2003
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco, CA. (Hercules)) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sound + Vision (Audio CD)
This is the Canadian Box Set that is so rare and hard to find. Containing 49 songs from 1969 to 1980, there are great cuts, rare B-sides, live recordings, unreleased singles and previously unreleased material. The box itself is a 12” X 12” standard with a 3-D see-through cover and also contains a lengthy booklet with history, notes, and rare photographs. The fourth disc is a CD-ROM with a fun interactive version of “Ashes To Ashes” with a “make your own video” program for the song, “Black Tie White Noise”.
Disc 1 contains unreleased versions of, “Space Oddity (Demo)”, “London Bye Ta-Ta”, rare B-sides, “Wild Eye Boy From Freecloud”, “Round & Round” and cuts from “The Man Who Sold The World”, “Hunky Dory”, “Rise And Fall Of Ziggy Stardust”, “Aladdin Sane” and “Ziggy Stardust: The Movie”.
Disc 2 contains unreleased versions of, “1984/Dodo”, “After Today”, “It’s Hard To Be A Saint In The City”, cuts from “Pin-Ups”, “Diamond Dogs”, “David Live”, “Young Americans” and “Station To Station”.
Disc 3 contains the German version of “Heroes” (“Helden”-worth the set alone) and cuts from “Low”, “Heroes”, “Live From Stage”, “Lodger” and “Scary Monsters”.
The cuts are all some of Bowie’s best and some never made it to single status. This is a really great find for fans and collectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sound + Vision
Sound + Vision by David Bowie (Audio CD - 2014)
Click for more info
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews