Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reggie rolls again!
Having previously read Andrew's "Crossing Europe on a Bike Called Reggie" and being inspired to do a small cycle/camping tour myself as a result, I was eagerly waiting for the follow up. I wasn't disappointed and thoroughly enjoyed reading about his exploits across southern Europe. It was made all the more interesting for me by passing through many places that I...
Published 7 months ago by Bluebarnabus

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Enjoyable tale of a very determined person.
Published 4 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reggie rolls again!, 9 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Along The Med on a Bike Called Reggie (Kindle Edition)
Having previously read Andrew's "Crossing Europe on a Bike Called Reggie" and being inspired to do a small cycle/camping tour myself as a result, I was eagerly waiting for the follow up. I wasn't disappointed and thoroughly enjoyed reading about his exploits across southern Europe. It was made all the more interesting for me by passing through many places that I was familiar with from various holidays, so I could imagine exactly where he was on his travels. One place didn't need much imagination as I was on holiday in Nice at the time and found I was staying across the road from the hotel used by Andrew and Reggie (didn't spot the launderette though).

Andrew's style is easy going, and I think he has the balance between the details of his journey and the background history and information about the places he passes through just right. He puts his own spin on the factual information so you don't feel he is simply quoting a guide book at you. I don't think you need to be a keen cyclist to find the book interesting and a good read as anyone can appreciate the effort required for a journey of this distance and enjoy Andrew's observations of the people and countries he encounters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and awe inspiring, 26 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Along The Med on a Bike Called Reggie (Kindle Edition)
Andrew P Sykes once again delivers a wryly amusing and inspirational account of his travels on Reggie from Athens to Cape St Vincent. As with the first book, Andrew assumes the role of tour guide, cycling enthusiast and casual observer of the minutiae of Mediterranean life, and by the end of the epic journey, the author feels like an old friend. I love the way Andrew's personality is conveyed through his humorous descriptions and anecdotes. By the time he and Reggie reach the end of their trip, the exhaustion, relief and sense of achievement are palpable. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and although I have never cycled further than the local shop, I have been to several of the places he visits, so the descriptions provided some nostalgia as well as ideas for future holiday destinations. His writing style is informative without being didactic, unpretentious and self-deprecating - a must-read for any non-expert considering a similar journey. And even if you have no intention of getting on your own bike and literally riding off into the sunset, this is a hugely entertaining and awe-inspiring read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have a holiday in your living room., 22 Nov. 2014
By 
Howler (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Along The Med on a Bike Called Reggie (Kindle Edition)
I like the fact that there is enough detail in the book regarding the route, cities, towns, villages, camp-sites and hotels that you can get into Google maps and street-view and follow his progress (except in Albania where the Google camera car might have got lost or stolen). See how easy it was for me to lapse into a Top-Gear-style stereotype of Albania there? It's good that Andrew doesn't allow himself to do that.
Did he really go all the way from Athens to Fossano in Italy without pumping Reggie’s tyres up because of his Presta valve phobia?

A ballsy ride:-
- not missing out Albania
- cycling on busy roads
- meeting up with complete strangers to spend the night
- covering long distances in one day
- making the route up as he goes along

What gives the book it’s edge is the arranged meetings along the way with Warm Showers and blog followers.
Being a self-confessed “small-time eco warrior” he doesn’t pull any punches when criticising the daftness of the cycle unfriendly road systems.
Nice colourful cover art. Makes a big difference to sales.
Is there a Josie Dew style equipment list at the back of the book? No, but it is on the web site here http://cyclingeurope.org/blog/about/the-equipment/
Does he take a camping stove and cook? Does he eat from a £30 titanium mug using a spork? No, and I don't blame him.
Great advert for Booking.com (is he on their payroll? :-))
Looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANDREW'S AND REGGIE'S SECOND ADVENTURE, 13 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Along The Med on a Bike Called Reggie (Kindle Edition)
After reading and thoroughly enjoying Crossing Europe on a bike called Reggie I immediately ordered Along the Med on a bike called Reggie. These books are self published with beautiful artwork on the covers and clearly printed text.
A ride from Greece to Portugal is pretty epic by most standards and Andrew's breezy writing style will whisk you though the many countries and cultures as he and his trusty steed travel 6000 kilometers towards their journey's end. Always entertaining and informative with a good eye for detail I found both of his books to be among the best of the cycling/travel genre. This is not "the difficult second album" and I look forward to the next adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The true joy of life is in the journey., 27 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Along The Med on a Bike Called Reggie (Kindle Edition)
This is the second of Andrew and Reggie's journeys. Their first, "Crossing Europe..." ( still available) came in at 320 pages, this one is a whopping 775 as befits a longer journey and is just as down to earth, amusing, informative and inspiring to the ordinary aspirational, long-distance cyclist as the first one. The value of Andrew's adventures to the reader lies in the fact that he's modest enough to make you believe that you could follow in his tire treads. If this book (and it's companion volume) doesn't make you Google the routes and start planning, nothing else will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Having thoroughly enjoyed Reggie and Andrew's first trip from Reading to the ..., 6 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Along The Med on a Bike Called Reggie (Kindle Edition)
Having thoroughly enjoyed Reggie and Andrew's first trip from Reading to the foot of Italy, I was looking forward to reading the next instalment...I enjoyed it so much I had to ration myself to a chapter at a time to make it last longer. I was in the fortunate position to read it whilst having a chilled week on the Med, albeit the Aegean. There is nothing more indulgent about having all day to read whilst on holiday!
The combination of the different countries they travelled through illuminates how varied Europe is but how familiar it all can be at the same time. Albania was fascinating, the misinformation we have been drip fed over the years bore no resemblance to most of Reggie's adventures there.
The highs and the lows and the frustrations of long distance cycling in a different culture are so familiar, the challenge of making yourself understood, the road conditions, also the effect of the heat during the middle of the day combined with the prospect of making your planned destination ring so true. It made me want to get the bike out straight away for my next adventure; I believe that is what travel writing is all about. Thank you Andrew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best cycling book I have read this year! (And I've read quite a lot!), 23 Aug. 2014
By 
D I Rayner (York, North Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Along The Med on a Bike Called Reggie (Kindle Edition)
A very well written account of a fellow Yorkshireman's two month odyssey through southern Europe, travelling from the far south east of Greece to the furthest south west of the continent in Portugal. The book made me laugh (and at times wince) along with our hero as he crosses well known areas and little known (and at times extremely secretive) parts of the land mass that many of us call home.

If this doesn't inspire you to get your bike out and go exploring areas near and far, I don't know what will!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Improvement over Previous Book, 30 Dec. 2014
By 
Andy (Lerwick, Shetland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Along The Med on a Bike Called Reggie (Kindle Edition)
Along the Med on a bike called Reggie

I bought Sykes' first book, Crossing Europe on a Bike Called Reggie, and was underwhelmed with it. Had I not bought this book in the same transaction I don't think that I would have bothered after my experience with the first book, which would have been a shame as this book is much better. The author seems to be less cutting in his comments about his fellow members of the human race and his prose has got more interesting. Perhaps someone has had a word. Sykes is a funny man, but needs to work on when to stop milking a joke - Guardian readers/kaftans went on long past it's best before date. The trip itself was about as heroic an adventure that you can have on a bike without needing a visa, with massive average and maximum daily mileages well past my capabilities.

With teachers getting holidays every 7 weeks or so, cycle touring writing could become a very profitable venture. Enough to buy some spare spokes perhaps?

More effort needed with the spell checker, otherwise 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, witty description of an impressive achievement, 7 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Along The Med on a Bike Called Reggie (Kindle Edition)
Mr Sykes has an impressive range of talents. Clearly he has physical determination which you require if you embark on such an extraordinary journey. If you drink to much red wine and have a paunch as I do his achievement id oubly impressive. He also clearly has a mental strength which is required to cycle day after day with only your own thoughts to keep you company. Last but not least he has considerable talent as writer. He style is relaxed often witty and ocassionally opiniated partricularly with regard to the matter of tyre valves a prejudice which I share. I am also impressed by the background research which has obviously been invested in the book. You dont get a list of places visited but snippets of additional information which adds to the joy.

Travel writing is not easy. Many is the volume I have laid aside because of the tedium of lists. Not with this book. I took it on holiday and it happily occupied many a hour. I have no hesitation in recommending it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars freewheels through the mind, 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Andrew and Reggie strike out again, this time keeping the Med to the left and the land to the right from Greece to Portugal. Andrew's writing is concise and flowing and the book wheels along beautifully. There's no tales of gruelling battles against nature, even Mt Ventoux is ticked off as the miles (KMs) pass, but it's the little things you notice that pull you in - the low mood following the triumphant ascent and the slow realisation that he likes to be alone and watch the world as he passes through. There is a sprinking of history as Andrew discovers the world he visits and some tourist tips for small places that you'll probaly never visit, but would like to after reading this.
It was with a heavy heart i read the final day's voyage, but (hopefully) the affable biking duo will be back with more tales from the road, you never know, Reggie might even get to contribute a chapter.
Chapeau, Andrew & Reggie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Along The Med on a Bike Called Reggie
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews