Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A heartbreakingly beautiful little collection, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jeremiad Boy: and other stories (Kindle Edition)
This collection of stories is a short read - and likely you will want to devour it all in one sitting - but the ideas and images will stay with you long after that. They are stories to keep and revisit, written with a powerful punch that will tear your world asunder.

The author deftly chooses each word with surgical precision to unravel your heart. Some leading authors, including the screenwriter Robert McKee's advice to aspiring authors' is to "put your characters through hell". Jay Aibee does just that, confidently launching his characters into hell and then serving up more doses of hell just when you think things can't get any worse. Yet, there is much beauty in this darkness, too. Together these stories explore the fragility of human nature in a very poignant way. Aibee is not going to give the reader a happy ending. Yet for all the pain, the endurance of hope continues, even when the odds are ridiculously stacked against the protagonists. These stories, for all their darkness, are actually a triumph of the human spirit to still believe in hope. Aibee will put you through hell too, but it'll be worth it.

The last tale of all, The Tragic Muses of BÍte Noire, is a much lighter touch amidst the darkness, and a fun and inventive way to end the collection. There were a couple of moments during reading where I broke out in goosebumps - a direct reaction to the powerful storytelling.

Fans of Neil Gaiman and Clive Barker will be more than happy to find this collection. I hope to see more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 5 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jeremiad Boy: and other stories (Kindle Edition)
Aibee's latest release is a collection of 7 stories. The stories are all in familiar territory and all of them revolve around incidents occurring in ordinary lives. That is not their limitation but their strength. The simplicity in the telling belies the complexity of the experience . Each story carries a certain quality about them which is unique and distinct about it leaving a lasting impression long after its been finished. I highly recommend this to all book lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your search for a compelling new voice in short fiction ends here., 3 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Jeremiad Boy: and other stories (Kindle Edition)
Do yourself a favor and download this book. Aibee has a level of narrative skill and style that is generally only found in writers of short fiction with several decades of experience. The internal worlds described in these stories are the work of a truly original voice, but will make you think of great writers like Harlan Ellison and Phillip K. Dick. Let's hope we see more by this author, and soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jeremiad Boy: and other stories (Kindle Edition)
Loved this, would recommend to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews