Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen of Hearts
This is the eighth in this series (which started with Her Royal Spyness) and follows on directly from the previous story, Heirs and Graces. Lady Georgiana Rannoch, 35th in line to the British throne is still at Kingsdown Place, seat of the dukes of Eynsford, but the only other people there with her now are "a dowager duchess, her two half-dotty sisters and several dozen...
Published 8 months ago by Keen Reader

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Review: Queen of Hearts by Rhys Bowen
Drama is hard to come by in the entire first half of the novel. I was a good five hours into the audiobook before the murder happened, which meant that the drama rather relied on the sexcapades of various characters, including Charlie Chaplin, who was not portrayed in a very positive light!

To go with that was a cast of absolutely vapid characters. Even our...
Published 6 months ago by Liberty Gilmore


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen of Hearts, 30 Sept. 2014
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This is the eighth in this series (which started with Her Royal Spyness) and follows on directly from the previous story, Heirs and Graces. Lady Georgiana Rannoch, 35th in line to the British throne is still at Kingsdown Place, seat of the dukes of Eynsford, but the only other people there with her now are "a dowager duchess, her two half-dotty sisters and several dozen servants". Bored, but not willing to go back to no home, with no prospects other than a `suitable' marriage, Georgiana is delighted but surprised when her mother arrives. Whisked off to America, Georgie is in for a lot of new experiences, not least of which is getting chatted up by Charlie Chaplin.

Georgie has an unfortunate habit of finding herself in the middle of murder mysteries, and this story is no different. But there's a lot of action that takes place before any unforeseen deaths, and Georgie meets up with old friends and acquaintances along the way. As with all these stories, this is an easy and thoroughly enjoyable read, of a young lady making her own independent way in the world of the 1930s. Georgie is a delightful character, and together with her lovely young man Darcy, her best friend Belinda, her rags to riches mother, and her gormless maid Queenie make for a wonderful cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood Royalty, 20 Aug. 2014
By 
Mark Baker - Carstairs Considers (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Lady Georgiana is surprised when her mother, the actress Claire Daniels, sweeps back into her life offering a trip to America. It seems that Claire’s boyfriend Max wants to marry her, and to do that, Claire needs to head to Reno, Nevada, to get a quickie divorce. She’s looking for company on the long boat and train ride, and wants Georgie to join her. Since Georgie has never had the opportunity to go, she readily agrees.

However, danger starts on the ship crossing the Atlantic. Georgie thinks she sees someone fall overboard. Then a jewel is stolen. However, Claire is offered a part in a movie, so the duo head from Reno to Hollywood only to find the intrigue has followed them. Can Georgie make sense of what is happening?

I was wondering just how author Rhys Bowen was going to give us a good story with the book taking place partially at sea and partially in Hollywood. I need not have worried. The plot works well spanning all those miles and kept me turning the pages to find out what would happen next. Even with the change of scenery, we still get many of the series regulars, and they are always fun. The cast of new characters were great as well, and I enjoyed the cameos by some of the real celebrities from the time.

This was a nice change of pace for the series, really letting us see Georgie in a new light. I’m already looking forward to reading her next adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Review: Queen of Hearts by Rhys Bowen, 24 Nov. 2014
By 
Drama is hard to come by in the entire first half of the novel. I was a good five hours into the audiobook before the murder happened, which meant that the drama rather relied on the sexcapades of various characters, including Charlie Chaplin, who was not portrayed in a very positive light!

To go with that was a cast of absolutely vapid characters. Even our heroine and hero were pretty boring, petty and driven by money. They can’t get married because Darcy wants to keep Georgie ‘the way she deserves’ – an excuse so ridiculous it has to be a forced reason to keep them apart. Because there really isn’t a good reason to keep them apart, except for perpetuation of the ‘romantic tension’ in later episodes of the series. Quote marks because there wasn’t really any romantic tension – Darcy was only in the book for about five minutes, and he didn’t do a great deal in that time.

There was some good intrigue with the story of the jewel thief, and a couple of mildly entertaining moments, but they were overshadowed by the fact that the characters were at best unmemorable, at worst unpleasant. If this is the eighth book of the series, I really don’t know how any reader has lasted this long with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of the best in this series, 29 Dec. 2014
By 
Mr. G. Moss - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not one of the best in this series, I think that the Author is now into just turning out the next book for the sake of it , The story is thin and the characters are a bit feeble in this one , A disappointment as I have really enjoyed the earlier books , Not sure if I would bother with any more from this series .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book as always by Rhys Bowen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Aug. 2014
By 
J Thomas (clackmannanshire, scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read all these books nice light reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews